Forum Support

Shape 5
June 19, 2021, 05:50:08 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Header File  (Read 537 times)
gbuzzi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 44



« on: February 22, 2010, 08:40:29 AM »

I would like to use a header file on this template that is 960 x 190.  I do not need the font resizer, login, register or seach modules.  How can I accomplish this?  Thank You!
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2010, 08:43:53 AM »

Hello, I am sorry but I do not know what you mean by a header file.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
gbuzzi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 44



« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2010, 09:58:16 AM »

here is the live site

http://www.vermontfallenfamilies.org/index.html

the top is the header.  Or it could be named the s5_logo.png if I could figure out how to make it fit all the way across the top instead of just the little box you are using.  Thanks.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2010, 11:53:46 AM »

Hello, it would require some custom programming to really do it right, but this might get what you are looking for.

1. Upload a blank s5_logo.png so nothing is shown in the file.

2. Unpublish search, login and register modules

3. Add the following to the bottom of your template.css file:

#s5_logo_search_wrap {
background:(../images/header.png) no-repeat top left;
}

4. uploading header.png to the template's images folder.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
gbuzzi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 44



« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2010, 04:59:36 PM »

Hi again Mike ... that did not work.  Here is the url to the site I am making

http://www.vermontfallenfamilies.org/joomla/

Your idea removed the "clipped off" header that was in there.  But it did not insert my header.  Do you have any other ideas for me?  Again, thanks!
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2010, 09:29:16 AM »

Hello, sorry there was a typo in the code I entered, please use:

#s5_logo_search_wrap {
background:url(../images/header.png) no-repeat top left;
}
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
gbuzzi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 44



« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2010, 09:29:49 PM »

Thank you so much.  That inserted the header.png into my site, but ... now I need to have that space made high enough to hold the image.  Please look:

http://www.vermontfallenfamilies.org/joomla/

My header.png file is 960 x 190.  Can you please help me change the code so that the whole header.png shows up?  Thanks.

I love this template!!

Gloria
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2010, 09:00:01 AM »

Hello, you can add:

height:204px;

to that same section of code but that will probably need to modify the background image of the site as well. That image is images/s5_header_bg.png
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
gbuzzi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 44



« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2010, 10:32:01 AM »

Mike .. I have this fixed.  thank you so much for your help!
Logged
gbuzzi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 44



« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2010, 10:45:28 AM »

Sorry ... I meant to put "SOLVED" in the subj line!
Logged
Jean Edwards
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2010, 03:41:28 AM »

I'm having the same problem: love the BASICS template- but HOW do I drop in my own company logo instead of the BASICS logo (header) and make it the FULL WIDTH of the page? (I've uploaded my own image replacement, but can't see how to make the size right...)?

Look forward to hearing from you Smiley
Cheers
JEAN in New Zealand (yes the Basics template gets everywhere!)
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2010, 09:10:02 AM »

Hello, to create your own logo use the psd file in the downloads area for the logo and save the file as s5_logo.png and upload it to templates/basics/images/ and make sure to over-write the existing one.

If I've misunderstood your question please post a url and mention specifically what you would like to modify.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
gbuzzi
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 44



« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2010, 10:27:02 AM »

Hi Mike ... I thought I had this solved, but I think there's one more thing to do.  Please look

http://www.vermontfallenfamilies.org/joomla/

My header.png image sits too far down on the page.  how can it fix it so it's up closer to the top?  We are trying to get more real estate for our content here.  Many thanks!
Gloria
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2010, 03:21:06 PM »

Hello, add the following to the bottom of template.css:

#s5_menu {
height:0px;
}
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Jean Edwards
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2010, 06:24:53 PM »

Hello Mike
Impressed with the speedy replies on this forum - thank you!
Re the header image: here's my site, where my uploaded gold image for "ThinkShop"945 x 189 pixels - but is obviously showing as much smaller:

http://www.thinkingskills.biz

- t's something to do with the image being incorporated into the area used by AAA (font size) and the HOME button. So where do I tweak the display sizing for the header image/logo please?  I'm sure other people too, want their logo (banner) to go right across the page... Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.