Forum Support

Shape 5
December 08, 2021, 07:16:35 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Module Duplication  (Read 526 times)
Jess Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« on: February 27, 2010, 08:06:49 PM »

I am wondering if there is a way to use a module on a different page with different parameters. For example, on the home page the S5MAPIT module is being used to provide directions to the church, however, I also would like to use it on a Men's Fellowship page to provide directions to that event. Obviously, each location would have a different address. I tried copying the module on the mod page and it displayed properly on the home page. There was evidently a conflict when I tried to use the copied module because I was just returned to the home page. Would I need to copy the mod_S5MapIt.php and the mod_S5MapIt.xml files, renaming them and changing the xml files references to mod_S5MapIt.php file to the renamed file. Would that even work? Is there an easier way? If so is it permitted? Thanks so very much for your support. Jess
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2010, 01:59:22 PM »

Hello, as long as it's not on the same page you can do this. In the backend of Joomla just click New to create a new module and then select the module that you want to create and this will generate a copy.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Jess Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2010, 11:02:18 PM »

I guess my next question then is how to create a new page to apply the instance of the module to. I thought that joomla's method of creating a new page was via articles. If this is true how do you apply a module to an article? I really hate to be uninformed. I need to get a really good Joomla instruction guide. Got any suggestions? Thanks.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2010, 09:18:09 AM »

Hello, you would create a new article and then in the menu manager create a new menu link that points to that article. You can find documentation on joomla at:

http://docs.joomla.org/
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Jess Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2010, 05:58:05 PM »

I don't think I explained myself well either that or I am not understanding. Either could be correct since I am an old coot. Anyway, I have created new articles and menu items to point to the article. I was referring to your response to my original question regarding creating an instance of the S5_MapIt module and placing it on a different page. I am wondering how to apply the instance of the S5_MapIt module to the page wich houses the newly created article. Thanks again.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2010, 09:02:40 AM »

Hello, you would need to set the module's page assignment. Just click on the module's title in the module manager in the backend of Joomla and this will bring you to the edit screen. On this screen you can assign what menu items the module shows on.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Jess Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2010, 09:04:31 PM »

I'm still not with you... Let me start over from the beginning...

I created a COPY of the S5_MapIt module. (It is a stand alone module)

I am using the ORIGINAL S5_MapIt module on my index page to provide directions to the church.

I want to use the COPY of the S5_MapIt module to provide directions to our monthly Men's Fellowship meetings.

You said I cannot put the two modules on the same page.

I cannot determine how to create another page, that is not just an article being displayed on the index page, so that I can provide monthly info and use the COPY of the S5_MapIt module to provide directions to the fellowship.

I did find how I can include the module in an article via adding the tag {loadposition mens_map} but that still conflicts with the original module because it is still just an article being displayed on the index page.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2010, 06:52:11 AM by sfcusaoh » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2010, 08:47:43 AM »

Hello,

To create a copy of the module simply click the New button in the upper right hand corner of the mdoule manager page. On the next page select the S5 Map It radio button to create a copy. This will give you two copies of the module. In the backend of each module you can then assign them to specific pages. To do this click on their titles in the module manager and this will bring you to the edit screen. On the edit screen, on the left side you can assign what pages they appear on. Each copy of the module can have it's own unique parameter settings.

To create a new page you need to use the menu manager and create links to your different articles.

I would not recommend using the module in an article method, it has been know to be quite buggy with a lot of modules.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Jess Smith
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2010, 07:20:43 PM »

Hope you are having a wonderful weekend. I'm sure it is well deserved.

I attached a copy of the Module Manager Page. I do not see the ability to assign the module to specific pages just menus. Additionally, I created a new menu and it does not appear on the list of available menus.

Thanks,
Jess

 Grin *********** Thanks...I got it *************** Grin
« Last Edit: March 06, 2010, 03:20:45 PM by sfcusaoh » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 08, 2010, 08:31:05 AM »

Hello, it's on the left hand side where it says Menu Assignment.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.