Forum Support

Shape 5
December 05, 2021, 12:16:59 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Enabling SEF breaks Live Search  (Read 322 times)
hall
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 11



« on: March 21, 2010, 08:54:48 AM »

I have everything working as it should in this template which I love but, now that I'm ready to go live I enabled SEF in global config and Live Search stops working with error in status bar. I'm using SEF on several other sites on same server (diff templates) without issue, so I created a test site for Sportopolis to be sure it was SEF and not something else I modified breaking the live search module.

Enabling SEF only breaks IE, and FF is uneffected.

Anyway, it looks like I need to hard code a path to the 'tempdiv' folder in one of the jscripts to get SEF to work with friendly URL's? But where? The output breaks around line 730 with this code:
Quote
document.getElementById('search_tmpdiv').innerHTML = data ;

but it looks like a load url problem:

jx.load(url, function (data)

After the error, I can disable SEF, refresh my page, and live search works perfectly again. Obviously, the uri in the javascript is getting lost in the mod_rewrite. Is there a workaround?

Thanks.
Logged

"When the people fear the government you have tyranny. When the government fears the people you have liberty." --Thomas Jefferson
hall
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 11



« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2010, 06:39:26 PM »

I've been searching out an answer to this today and found another Ajax search module that does the same thing as the S5 Search as far as making ajax calls to com_search.

I still get a status bar error messagein IE 7-8 but it works and results are returned. The css is a mess but with default settings and an offset of -240 its operational but not presentable.

Perhaps this could be used to update the existing source but I'm unsure how...
Joomla PixSearch module
Logged

"When the people fear the government you have tyranny. When the government fears the people you have liberty." --Thomas Jefferson
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2010, 07:38:13 AM »

Hello, can you please post a url of where this is occurring?
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Daniel Goldman
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 16



« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2010, 01:29:40 PM »

Same problem here. My URL is http://playtampa.com

Help appreciated!
Logged
Daniel Goldman
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 16



« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2010, 01:42:06 PM »

And the Shape5 Module is much more beautiful than the other. No time to redo all the CSS!
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2010, 02:36:21 PM »

Hello, I just tested the live search module on your site and it loaded with no issues.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
billcz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2010, 02:43:29 PM »

same problem, when i use live search it change css style...

in IE works ok, but FF not

test page http://www.touch-it.cz/abanana/
Logged
billcz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2010, 03:12:35 PM »

change in templates/system/component.php

Code:
<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php echo $this->baseurl ?>/templates/<?php echo $this->template?>/css/template.css" type="text/css" />

to

Code:
<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php echo $this->baseurl ?>/templates/<?php echo $this->template?>/css/template_css.css" type="text/css" />
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.