Forum Support

Shape 5
May 11, 2021, 05:23:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Scrolling Body Content  (Read 593 times)
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« on: April 30, 2008, 01:39:04 PM »

Dear Shape5,
I received word from a customer today that claimed the body content on my home page was scrolling below the page when loading. When I had them on the phone and testing the template, the only way to stop the scrolling was to unpublish the 'Left' and 'Right' modules. I noticed this effect early this day when I published a picture in the 'Left' module position. At first I thought it was page scrolling because the picture exceeded the default width of this module position. But once I resized the picture to fit inside the default width, the page scrolling went away...on my end! Is there a patch to correct this that I missed? Currently I have unpublished all 'Left' and 'Right' module positions to prevent others from having to deal with this page scrolling issue. Any assistance you might be able to provide would be most welcomed.

The URL is; www.girh.com

In regards,
Ed H.

p.s. sorry for any typos...I'm writting this behind a computer that has never been introduced to a spell checker application!
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2008, 01:48:12 PM »

Hi, can you private message me super admin login information so I can see this happening?
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2008, 02:22:04 PM »

Mike,
I just sent you the log-in information.

Ed H.
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2008, 01:02:57 PM »

-Mike,

I just sent you a PM with new instructions. Please let me know if you received it and your findings...Thanks!

Ed H.
Logged
thesr
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 79



« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2008, 01:18:27 PM »

i beleive this is in IE only.
am i right ?

i am facing the same problem as well. Undecided

Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2008, 10:59:00 AM »

I am still having this problem with some of my IE6 customers. For now I have unpublished all left/right modules so my customers will be able to access the information on this site. It is not what I want but until I find a solution or a different template, it is what it is!

As best as I can figure out, this issue is only being generated from IE6. I do not have IE7 installed and there seems to be no problem with FF or Safari. It is the only template that I've attempted to use within Mambo/Joomla that has does this and I've been working and using this CMS for years and years.

Mike...what can be done to correct this. I really like this template and wish to build upon it but can't/won't until the problem is fixed.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2008, 12:27:22 PM »

kalasoft and thesr,

I made some updates to the javascript file for this template. Please overwrite your current s5_effect.js file in the js folder with the new one in the download section.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
thesr
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 79



« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2008, 01:32:40 PM »

Mikek

the scrolling problem solved,
but there is a error in IE6

Line: 296.
Error:Object Required

Debug show this line break:   document.getElementById("s5_left_inner").style.height = "auto";

thanks
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2008, 02:28:27 PM »

Mike,

Thanks for the .js update. Placed this file and I too am getting the same java error in IE6 as 'thesr'. I'll call one of my customers who was experiencing this scrolling problem to see if this patch works with their IE browser. I'll report back our findings. Once again, thanks!

Ed H.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2008, 03:31:32 PM »

Guys, sorry when I tested it I had both columns published and didn't think about just one column or no columns being published. Please used the attached .js file and let me know if clears the issue up. I've tested this with all column options in FF and IE6.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
thesr
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 79



« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2008, 08:10:39 PM »

Mikek.

Look like we have a solution. no IE error found.
well done!

« Last Edit: May 09, 2008, 06:35:42 AM by thesr » Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2008, 09:36:43 AM »

Mike,

I downloaded your revised .js file and uploaded it (via FTP) to my web server (../templates/edenrock/js). This revised .js stopped the page scrolling, it created something new within my IE6 and my customers. Below are two screen dumps from my IE6 browser (GIRH_EdsComputer.jpg) and my customer's (GIRH_JimsComputer.jpg). On my IE6 (ver. 6.0.29 - SP2) I'm getting a gray box across the module called 'Problems' and on my customer's IE6 (ver. 6.0.28 - SP1) he can't view past the home page title (Welcome to GIRH.com).

My Computer screen dump


My Customer's screen dump


I do hope there is a work-around for these issues...

Regards,
Ed
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2008, 02:37:22 PM »

Ed,

I viewed your site in IE6 and IE7 and I'm not seeing any large text like seen below. Can you please send me super admin login access so I can see how your module on the left is setup.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2008, 08:46:16 PM »

Mike,

I just sent you a PM with your log-in info.

Ed H.
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2008, 10:46:19 AM »

Mike,

I think I've solved the issue with my customer's browser problem (i.e. Customer's screen dump). I have access to a Windows Server 2000 that has the same IE6.0.28, SP1 and monitor size as they do and whenever I set the browser 'text size' to either Large or Largest, I am able to duplicate their issue(s) in viewing my web site. I've instructed them to change their browser's 'text size' to medium and let me know what their results are. I believe that this will fix their problem since I've been able to mirror their setup and find a resolution.

Regarding my computer screen dump, I'm still getting the 'gray box' across the mobule called, Problems. This is showing up on every IE6 version I tested (it does not act this way in FF).

Again, thanks for your assistance and please let me kow if there is anything I need to do on my end to resolve this problem.

Regards,
Ed H.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.