Forum Support

Shape 5
January 20, 2022, 11:46:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How could i make it work with ie5?  (Read 610 times)
lefteris
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« on: October 23, 2010, 09:37:59 AM »

Hi mates,

this is my first time posting after i became a member of the club in here Smiley
I have a small issue here and i would like your help. I use this theme as the default theme for my college's website. Unfortunately my tutors want to make it run on ie5(don't ask why ... they just don't want to update the ie on the computers there...)

The problem comes up on the right column as probably due to the "float:left" doesn't have the appropriate free space to apply and it comes right down below the main content box.

I attach a screenshot to show you what i mean.
I run through most of the files but can't seem to find which div or class i should change in order to make this work.
Any ideas?

Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2010, 12:23:46 PM »

I'm sorry but we don't support that browser it is more than 10 years old, actually we never have, we've only went back to ie6. 
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
lefteris
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 02:31:31 PM »

Nothing to be sorry about jonahh i do understand that. I wish my college could understand it as well   Grin

I don't want you to make it compatible with ie5 by wasting your time working on that, but i would really appreciate thought any kind of suggestions or a pattern which i could follow to fix that by myself.

I tried to but i tend to loose the track due to the way that the index is coded as it's combined with the xml and the css Tongue

I'm sorry but we don't support that browser it is more than 10 years old, actually we never have, we've only went back to ie6. 
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2010, 01:28:39 PM »

There is a width set on the left and right columns by php in the index.php file, look for the id of s5_rightcolumn and try setting the width manually there.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
lefteris
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2010, 02:00:46 PM »

Ok thx jonahh i will try that.

There is a width set on the left and right columns by php in the index.php file, look for the id of s5_rightcolumn and try setting the width manually there.
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2010, 04:31:59 PM »

Yeah just try putting a real low number in there like 50px or so and see if the column comes up.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
lefteris
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2010, 05:01:37 PM »

Ok i will give it a try, thx!  Smiley
Yeah just try putting a real low number in there like 50px or so and see if the column comes up.
Logged
lefteris
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2010, 12:37:09 PM »

Hi guys ,

i managed to fix that problem. If anyone wants to make the template compatible with ie5.5 here is the fix:

on the index.php
after the

Code:
$s5_right_width = $this->params->get ("xml_s5_right_width");

add this line :

Code:
$s5_right_ie5 = "240";

nearly the line 130 you will find the

Code:
"if(ereg("msie 6", $br)) {" before that add the following code

Add above it the code listed below
Code:
$br = strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']); // what browser.
 if(ereg("msie 5.5", $br)) {
$is_ie5 = "yes";
}
else {
$is_ie5 = "no";
}

Last step , search and replace the
Code:
<div id="s5_rightcolumn" style="width:<?php echo ($s5_right_width) + 1;?>px;<?php if ($s5_position == "left") { ?>margin-top:-56px;<?php ?>">

with this

Code:
<div id="s5_rightcolumn" style="width:<?php if($is_ie5 == "yes") {echo ($s5_right_ie5);} elseif($is_ie5 != "yes") {echo ($s5_right_width) + 1;}?>px;<?php if ($s5_position == "left") { ?>margin-top:-56px;<?php ?>">

just a small contribution back to the community Smiley
Cheers
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.