Forum Support

Shape 5
March 28, 2024, 08:28:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Problems with manual instructions on installing style  (Read 329 times)
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« on: December 27, 2010, 08:41:37 AM »

It seems that I'm the only one that has tried this this template because I'm the only one that has posted on this thread and will be documenting the list of problems this template has on a manual install of the style.

First, I have followed the instructions to the documentation, which by the way the link was lagging the whole day. It kept on "translation.googleapi.com" on my browser status.

Documentation on Manual Install of S5 Controls:

The S5 Control download is still on version 1.1.7. The Site Shaper is already on 1.2.5. This being the case, the S5 controller on  phpbb acp was very buggy and very confusing.

Step 3:My database prefix does not use phpbb_ but bb_ so this became a problem.

Even after all this my forum was impossible to configure with S5 Control and I ended up going another route. This is what I did that produced better results:

1. Upgraded my current forum from phpbb 3.06 -3.08

2. Followed step4 - step 8 on the instructions. The front-end still looked like crap but at least now the dbase was structured correctly with the correct S5 tables

3. I did a fresh install using Site Shaper to a new directory and  created a new set of dbase with phpbb_ prefix

4. Verified installation/functions were working on a new install from the front-end

5. Then once the new raw install worked, I modified the config.php to point to my old dbase host.

6. Lastly, I renamed all the tables name from bb_ prefix to phpbb_

This produced much better results but still had some problems:

1. None of the blocks would display even though they are enabled (text or images)
2. User always gets logged out when they click on the Home (Back home) Menu button
3. "Birthday" only comes up once then none are listed after you navigate; and wont let me place it on the left block
4. Can not find "Drop Down" Menu configuration in S5 Control or any documentations
5. Traditionally there should be a "New Post" with phpbb styles, would be nice to have it under the "Action Menu"
6. Profile button links doesn't work and just refreshes the page (New Post,  Self Post, Private Messages)

These are the initial problems I have found so far since this is just running on a dev test host and havent really gone live with it.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and hope you guys had a good xmas.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2010, 08:53:39 AM by nerdz » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 02:16:27 PM »

Hello,

I just wanted to let you know I am having our lead PhpBB3 developer reply to you shortly regarding these issues. He will work with you in getting these resolved. Thank you for your patience.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2010, 03:05:58 PM »

Sounds good...thanks
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2010, 09:05:04 PM »

Hi im the developer of the phpbb3 styles and i will look over you post fully tomorrow as is 2am where i am.  Im sorry your having dificulty with the software and i hope i can help you resolve the issues you are having.

Thanks
Dave
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2010, 10:39:36 PM »

Thanks  Dave
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2010, 05:43:39 AM »

OK ive got the manual install sorted here are the steps for Game Crusade

I will have the install PDF updated shortly.

Step 1: download this zip file.
Shape5_GameCrusade_PBB3.zip

Step 2: extract the files into the root of your install.

Step 3: run this sql query
Remember to replace all phpbb_ with your table prefix
Code:
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `phpbb_s5controls` (
  `config_name` varchar(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
  `config_value` varchar(5000) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
  `is_dynamic` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
  PRIMARY KEY (`config_name`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1;


CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `phpbb_s5draft` (
  `bbblock_draft` text COLLATE utf8_bin NOT NULL,
  `bbblock_draft_bbcode_uid` varchar(8) COLLATE utf8_bin NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
  `bbblock_draft_bbcode_bitfield` varchar(255) COLLATE utf8_bin NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
  `bbblock_draft_bbcode_options` int(10) NOT NULL DEFAULT '7'
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8 COLLATE=utf8_bin;

INSERT INTO `phpbb_s5draft` (`bbblock_draft`, `bbblock_draft_bbcode_uid`, `bbblock_draft_bbcode_bitfield`, `bbblock_draft_bbcode_options`) VALUES('', '', '', 7);

INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(980, 'u_view_s5_block1', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(981, 'u_view_s5_block2', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(982, 'u_view_s5_block3', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(983, 'u_view_s5_block4', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(984, 'u_view_s5_block5', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(985, 'u_view_s5_block6', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(986, 'u_view_s5_block7', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(987, 'u_view_s5_block8', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(988, 'u_view_s5_block9', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(989, 'u_view_s5_block10', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(990, 'u_view_s5_block11', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(991, 'u_view_s5_block12', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(992, 'u_view_s5_block13', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(993, 'u_view_s5_block14', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(994, 'u_view_s5_block15', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(995, 'u_view_s5_block16', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(996, 'u_view_s5_block17', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(997, 'u_view_s5_block18', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(998, 'u_view_s5_block19', 1, 0, 0);
INSERT INTO `phpbb_acl_options` (`auth_option_id`, `auth_option`, `is_global`, `is_local`, `founder_only`) VALUES(999, 'u_view_s5_block20', 1, 0, 0);

or use this sql file it has bb_ as its prefix
nerdz.sql

File edits
Edit 1: open includes/constants.php

Find
Code:
// Additional tables

Add after
Code:
include($phpbb_root_path . 's5controls/constants.' . $phpEx);

Close file

Edit 2: open includes/functions.php

Find (around line 4373)
Code:
// Which timezone?
$tz = ($user->data['user_id'] != ANONYMOUS) ? strval(doubleval($user->data['user_timezone'])) : strval(doubleval($config['board_timezone']));

Add after
Code:

//S5 Controls
include($phpbb_root_path . 's5controls/functions.' . $phpEx);
$scontrols_config = obtain_scontrols_config();
include($phpbb_root_path . 's5controls/html-block.' . $phpEx);
//S5 Controls

Close file as file edits are complete now

Enable: Allow php in templates
Enable: Recompile stale style components

I presume you have S5 Controls acp panel setup if so goto it and set a width the forum should display fine.

Final step clear your cache

I will look into the other errors now.

Thanks
Dave
« Last Edit: December 28, 2010, 05:57:21 AM by dmorton » Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2010, 06:07:07 AM »

1. None of the blocks would display even though they are enabled (text or images)
2. User always gets logged out when they click on the Home (Back home) Menu button
3. "Birthday" only comes up once then none are listed after you navigate; and wont let me place it on the left block
4. Can not find "Drop Down" Menu configuration in S5 Control or any documentations
5. Traditionally there should be a "New Post" with phpbb styles, would be nice to have it under the "Action Menu"
6. Profile button links doesn't work and just refreshes the page (New Post,  Self Post, Private Messages)

1. Did you give the permission to whatever user to view the block?
2. The home button is there so if your forum is intergrated you can go back to the main site Board Index is the home link to the forum
3. Birthdays only appear on index page.
4. The dropdown menu file is located at styles/S5_GameCrusade/template/s5_block_pos/top-menu.html
5. All phpbb3 styles after GameCrusade will be including a menu manager but i will make a note too add a feature like this Thanks.
6. I can not see any problems with the links they all work fine for me.
Please advise me on this if the problem is still there after following the above post.

Again im sorry for the poor instuctions i am very busy with it been chrismas and all that Smiley

Thanks
Dave
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2010, 01:53:52 PM »

1. I can not find the setting in enabling all users to see the S5 HTML Block. I have checked both phpbb ACP Forum Permission tab and the S5 Controls. Where specifically is this found?

2.On the Site Shaper installer clicking on Home does not log me out from the forum. Having it linked to the root removed the SID session of the user. The reason I went with this phpbb style was to eliminate the website, as the demo has mentioned.

3. Yes, but the data is lost (no user birthdays listed) when you return to the index page

4. Thanks I will start working on this file

5. Thats awesome news...thanks again

6. When you select Private Message or My Message, this should list all the messages on the page but it just displays the index page

Thanks again for your assisatnce.
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2010, 02:06:03 PM »

1. I can not find the setting in enabling all users to see the S5 HTML Block. I have checked both phpbb ACP Forum Permission tab and the S5 Controls. Where specifically is this found?
Thanks again for your assisatnce.

For the permissions you go to
Permissions >> Groups? permissions

Select the group you would like to add the permission for
Hit submit

Expand the advanced permissions and they should be there
ive attached an image to show you what i mean
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2010, 03:58:01 PM »

#1 Yes it works ! Might want to add that to the instructions since by default the block is set to Display : NO to all users, even the Admin.

Thanx

FYI: The CSS style for the Group name on the Game Crusade is in black. Hard to read using black bg
« Last Edit: December 28, 2010, 04:08:32 PM by nerdz » Logged
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2010, 02:51:42 PM »

Hey Dave. So finally found time to start from scratch and followed your instructions. I updated my forum successfully first to 3.08 then followed these steps from a fresh copy of my live phpbb forum. Same results were observed but at least now its using 1.2.5 S5 Controls so I can just copy every setting from the demo.. I was thinking if there was the template/file with the configuration that lays out the blocks as the Game Crusade demo had. It would save me a lot of time instead of doing all this settings manually to match it. Users would expect this when they use thephpBB style specific download. There were also a couple of things missing:

The S5 Controls tab was available BUT:

1. The left navigation from the S5 Controls (Game Crusade / Control Block) was missing


2. Group Permission was missing the S5 Control tab


Thanks again

« Last Edit: December 29, 2010, 04:27:11 PM by nerdz » Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2010, 04:43:42 PM »

Hi thanks for your great input.

But yes i do agree with you it would be alot easier im currently trying to solve this.

Also i thought you would like to know there will be an update soon for GameCrusade not just yet but soon the features getting added are

Unlimited blocks
Menu Manager

I can garuntee there will be very useful to you and here is what the blocks will feature

Show on certain pages
Show to certain groups not permission based like you have currently
and Block templates i.e User Menu/ Login Block etc

Thanks
« Last Edit: December 29, 2010, 04:47:01 PM by dmorton » Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2010, 06:22:44 PM »

Thats really good news. For now I just want this 2 issues working since I dont have much time left before we go live with the new forum lay-out.

for your usual supporrt.
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2010, 07:17:22 AM »

OK for the first issue when creating the modules you should create the first module then inside that module create another with same name then inside that add the modules that will give you the left hand links

Heres a video of what i mean
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xpGy3Ztl9Pc

For the second issue are you sure you have purged your cache if found it does not appear until this step is done if the tab does not appear after clearing your cache please check that a file named permissions_s5controls.php

exists in
language/en/acp/
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
nerdz
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 78



« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2010, 12:01:30 PM »

First Issue: Resolved
Yes my module were under the main S5 Controls. I have redone it and added a sub-module with the same name  within the module then attached the 2 S5 modules. That sounded confusing but yah ...it works  Smiley

Second Issue: Resolved
Im not sure what I was thinking but I was purging the S5 Game Crusade cache template. Permission tab was there after I purged forum cache.

Thanks again for your help 
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.