Forum Support

Shape 5
October 20, 2021, 05:22:19 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to find things?  (Read 959 times)
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« on: January 10, 2011, 05:07:12 PM »

Hello all

I just downloaded the spotopolis june 2009.

I have had some joomla sites before, but this is pretty different.

Can anyone tell me a thing so simple as where I edit the menu? (The titles of the menu)

Another thing, in the top there are 4 pictures changing with articles, where can I change these pictures?

I really hope somene is able to help me!

Regards
Joachim
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2011, 10:23:16 PM »

Hello,

The menu its managed by Joomla itself in the Menu Manager in the backend of Joomla.

The images are part of the news display module. There are instructions in the backend of this module as well as a link to a full detailed tutorial for setting these images and articles up.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2011, 09:46:58 AM »

Thanks for the fast answer.

I tried to read the turotials, but I still have some questions:

About the image I uploaded a picture in the same fold (image) named norge.jpg  I tried to rename the html, but it doesn't work, what I insert is:

<span style="display: none" class="norge_image">images/norge.jpg</span> 

Do you see a mistake here? When I insert it, a red cross show up on the website.


I also read the tutorial for the menu manager, but I didn't managed to find where I can change the names of the menu topics?

Regards
Joachim
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2011, 06:59:46 PM »

Hello,

In the news display module tutorial there is specific code you must use at the top of each article. The code you have is:

<span style="display: none" class="norge_image">images/norge.jpg</span> 

What you need is:

<span style="display: none" class="s5_nd_image">http://www.yoursite.com/images/norge.jpg</span> 
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2011, 10:01:03 AM »

It works to a certain extent..

If you look at www.danish-matchrace.dk/Test2

3 problems:
1) Right of the news display thare are shown some small pictures (the same as in the news display), but they are a wrong size so there is a black area in the square, instead of full picture.

2) The pictures are very to big when I upload them, how is it possible to make the website reduce it to properly size by it self?

3) The 4th of the news display (article in bottom) just show a red cross.. I tried to check if the section was correct and if the picture source was ok, and it should be.

I appreciate the help thanks a lot.

Joachim
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2011, 05:32:24 PM »

Hello,

Images need to be resized and cropped before you upload them, the module does not adjust the size of an image it simply calls the url of the image. If a red X is shown then the url of that image is incorrect, paste the url of that image into a browser and try to load the image and it most likely will show file not found.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2011, 09:46:14 AM »

Now it is working:)

After working on it I got some new question:

1)  How to change the menu? I managed to find out how to add a new menu point, but where is the menu administraton? I need to change the name of the menus and delete some of them, but where?

2) I searched for how to change the copyrights and I see it is in the "footer.php" but where is it possible to find this footer.php?

3) The banners in the right side. Is there an easy and smart methode see the name of them for the Module manager, so they easily can be deleted/ changed?



Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2011, 11:29:30 PM »

Hello,

1. In the backend of Joomla you can control the menus from the Menu link. This is the menu administration area.

2. footer.php is in templates/sportopolis/

3. I am not sure what you mean, but you can find the current module published there in the module manager in the backend of Joomla.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2011, 09:48:24 AM »

1) I'm worried if I completely miss something:) I go to the administration site and log in as Super Administrator. Then I press: Menus->Menu Manager-> Main Menu .. But when I am in the "Main Menu" I only see I can change name of the Main Menu, but not any menus on the frontpage like the currently: Home, S5 No-MooMenu, Features, Joomla Stuff, Tutorials etc.....   

2) Worked perfectly Smiley

3) www. danish-matchrace.dk/Test2 in the right side. there are 2 pictures of of them with a phone and another showing some Tennis. Is there an easy way to see what the names of them are? So I can find them fastly in the module manager?

3.1) How to I actually create a module such like this? I create the module, but how do I add a picture?

Joachim

Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2011, 08:46:51 PM »

Hello,

1. They should be listed there. Sometimes they disappear because of an unknown Joomla error. Simply try renaming the main menu to a new name along with it's alias names.

2. The url you gave me is not a valid url when I open it:

http://www.danish-matchrace.dk/Test2

You can find each of these modules in the module manager. To create a new module click New on the module manager page and create a custom html module.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2011, 03:26:06 PM »

Hello

1) I need to delete the big "Sportopolis June 2009 Template" logo, but I have problems to find it? It is the one placed between the News Display and the top menu.

Where do I enable it, I tried almost all modules, but probably missed one? And what is the name of it?

2) When I hold my mouse over "Billeder" the menu scroll down behind the video, so it isn't possible to read whole the menu. Is it possilble to make it scroll over the video instead? Look at http://www.danish-matchrace.dk/Test


Regards
Joachim
« Last Edit: January 20, 2011, 03:38:16 PM by joachima » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2011, 07:19:55 PM »

Hello,

1. To create your own logo you need to create your own logo file, you can use the psd in the download section to help you. Once it's created save it as s5_logo.png and replace the current one at templates/sportopolis/images/

2. If you add the following to the bottom of s5_suckerfish.css it should fix this:

#s5_navv {
position:relative;
z-index:20;
}
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2011, 04:26:35 PM »

I tried to insert:

#s5_navv {
position:relative;
z-index:20;
}

It only seems to work in firefox, the problem stay in IE..?


2 other questions:

1) How do I delete the date in the top (left side)?

2) If I want to create a link to a facebook page, I tried to put in the XFBML code (script), but it doesn't appear? I both tried to insert it directly in the article and in the HTML-editor, any other ideas? (I tried to add this in a Custom module).

Thanks for help!
Logged
joachima
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 29



« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2011, 05:00:18 PM »

A problem appeared...

In the news display. When all space for text is used it stop automaticly, and write "Read Full Article" below. But now it is also writes "Read more" just after the text and also "Read Full Article" below..
I need to got the "Read more" away. My first thought was that I had pressed the "Read more" in the article, but I didn't.

You can check it on www.danish-matchrace.dk/Test

Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #14 on: January 24, 2011, 08:54:40 AM »

Hello,

In the backend of the module try reducing the number of characters shown but increments of 10 until the read more is gone. This usually corrects this issue.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.