Forum Support

Shape 5
October 25, 2021, 04:46:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mistake on page with ie6  (Read 1055 times)
tahrnberg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #15 on: October 25, 2007, 03:30:07 AM »

Hi
My recent solution does not solve this problem, I can see that now Undecided. This was i fix for a problem with right modules. I have set up another site and now I have the problem with my content being pushed down below the left modules. See www.bestfood.dk , any suggestions? I have tried to change the size in style1, with no result...

Regards Thomas
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #16 on: October 25, 2007, 08:13:12 AM »

Thomas,

Looking at it I think it might because of the width of the picture you have on the homepage. It appears to be larger than the allowed space in IE6, causing it to push down. Can you try unpublishing it temporarily to see if it pushes the body back up? If it does, then just resize the picture to fit the allowed space. Let me know if that works.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
gtgart
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53



« Reply #17 on: October 25, 2007, 06:26:57 PM »

Hi Jonah,

No I still have the problem.

You say my site was setup for 1024 x 768 but the only config was the 800, 1024, user choose options in the template. Have I missed something here and there is another setting or css?

I have the problem Win2K IE 6 for both 1024 and 800 res, the Product categories get cleared below the Products Menu and Tell a Friend.

I have tried modifying various id's and class but that doesn't seem to work.

Any clues?

thanks,

Greg
Logged
gtgart
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53



« Reply #18 on: October 25, 2007, 06:33:54 PM »

Hi,

Problem still exits.

Have tried modifying some styles but to no avail.

Still have this strange clearing.

Any clues?

Greg
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2007, 08:35:45 PM »

Hello Greg,

After some testing on your site I have found some very odd functions.  Even though you have "800" set as the user width both style1.css and style2.css are being called when I view the mainholder div in firebug.  Yet when I view the page source I don't see style1.css.

So what you can do to achieve the 800px width you desire is insert an inline style.  In your index.php file look for the following lines of code:

<div class="mainHolder">

Replace with:

<div class="mainHolder" style="width:800px;">

You may have to do this via FTP as the site template administration on your site also seemed to be causing some problems.

One more thing the logo you have on the site right now is a bit too wide and with the width set to 800px the image overlaps the top menu in Firefox and in IE it pushes the whole page down.  You will need to resize the logo to a width no larger than 187px to be safe.

Regards,
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
tahrnberg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #20 on: October 26, 2007, 05:51:35 AM »

 Cheesy Hallo again

Ive tried the suggested fix, in my case
<div class="mainHolder" style="width:1024px;">
and it fixed my problems.

Thanks a lot
Thomas
Logged
gtgart
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53



« Reply #21 on: October 26, 2007, 11:50:53 PM »

Hi Jonah,

I am targeting 800 x 600 but it still doesn't work correctly in Win2K on IE6.

I have checked on Browsercam and it is horizontal scrolling issue.

Can you have another look please?

Thanks,

Greg
Logged
gtgart
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 53



« Reply #22 on: October 26, 2007, 11:53:33 PM »

Hi Jonah,

will try what you suggested, sorry about the last post.

I didn't see the pagination to get to the next posts on page 2.

Will post back when fixed.

Thanks,

Greg.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.