Forum Support

Shape 5
March 06, 2021, 08:13:38 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Massive Problem  (Read 190 times)
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« on: June 06, 2011, 09:16:44 PM »

I was expecting a farily simple installation, however, I have found it rater difficult, and I am not new to php or web servers.

http://www.nonamegamer.ca/forums/

As you can see it does not seem to be parseing the CSS very well at all.  I cannot find out what the problem is and I need this fixed ASAP.

Thanks
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2011, 03:12:43 AM »

Hi could you tell me the procedure you took to get to that stage.

Thanks
Dave
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2011, 05:37:34 AM »

Upload Game Crusade to styles folder for phpbb.  Upload s5controls and follow the installation instructions in the PDF.  Alter the settings for s5controls in the ACP and activate the Game Crusade style.
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2011, 10:59:55 AM »

hi the game crusade style does not use the first version of the framework that was called S5 Controls the style was updated and now uses the Vertex Framework

The files for Vertex are located here

http://www.shape5.com/component/option,com_docman/Itemid,96/task,cat_view/gid,113/

Quick Guide:

Upload vertex_framework.zip
Unzip
Goto: yoursite.com/install
Follow instructions
Remove install directory from root of site
In admin panel goto autoMOD
Install Shape5 - Vertex Framework
Upload style to style folder
Goto Styles Tab and set as default style

I think that will work Smiley

BTW the SiteShaper is alot easier to install

Thanks
Dave
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2011, 07:11:04 PM »

Your Game Crusade template downloads need to be fixed asap.  They are not up to date, there are no install instructions included with the style when it is downloaded manually.  Your Site Builder you claim that is easier, is missing quite a few files as well as it is not complete.  I had hoped that this would be a fairly simple installation as the theme has been out for phpbb since November-ish.  I would appreciate it if you would attempt to use the Vertex from your download location listed here as well as your Game Crusade template found here.  And attempt to install them without modifying any files and only following the instructions found inside the files.

You have also included AutoMod which is released from phpbb.com within your vertex file.  It should not be included as it can be out of date and cause problems.  Your Vertex installation should only include "Vertex" and you should advise people to install it, they also need to install AutoMod which is available from phpbb.com.

I am no simpleton and I know how to code php, but I honestly find your styles to be a gigantic mess.  Please fix the issues and provide a simple NON Site Builder set of files that are up to date.  I should not have to fish around the forums for an update to the files when I believe I have come across no less than 3 different versions of Game Crusades, one which required S5Controls, no longer available as it seems it was updated shortly after I made this topic.

Bottom line I am confused and annoyed, and I can actually analyze the code and fix a few problems.  Imagine how someone who is completely new to php would feel.

I emplore you to fix the problems sooner rather than later as I have had to "jimmy rig" my board to get it functional again with the game crusade theme.
Logged
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2011, 07:25:06 PM »

It would also be nice to have Vertex Framework to be modified in the ACP like I saw in one of the versions, didn't work to well but was at least compatible with Joomla phpbb bridge as it was in the ACP and not through vertexAdmin.php
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2011, 03:46:49 AM »

No1 You need to apologise before i help you anymore as i have no access to the downloads so its not my fault if the wrong file is linked there.

No2 If your using though a bridge and it dont allow custom phpBB3 pages its not really a bridge

No3 I will continue to include autoMOD with my work as alot of people dont know how to install it.

No4 I emplore you to fix the problems sooner rather than later as I have had to "jimmy rig" my board to get it functional again with the game crusade theme. If this is true then im sorry but you stated your not new to php so if that is the case you should now better and would of make a backup.

Thanks
I will take a look at install file now and post my results



OK i took a look at it seem there are a fer errors but you must remember its under heavy development thats why there are a few problems but on that note does this look working to you.

« Last Edit: June 08, 2011, 05:54:37 AM by Dave M » Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2011, 03:59:55 PM »

Quote
No1 You need to apologise before i help you anymore as i have no access to the downloads so its not my fault if the wrong file is linked there
I don't understand why I should apologize to you, I have not said or done anything offensive.  If you feel that what I have said is offensive, I apologize for your misinterpretation, but that is not my intent.  What I have posted may be emotional but it is meant to be as a warning to you that what you have on the forums and download links on your site are inaccurate and incorrect.  I do not understand why you would be angry at me for posting links on your site for the files, why would you not have access to correct the downloads to have the most up to date information ?

Quote
No2 If your using though a bridge and it dont allow custom phpBB3 pages its not really a bridge
The bridge works very well, I am unsure of why it is unable to access a third party file, it most likely needs to be modified to do so, but what I do not understand is why you are creating two areas on the site for administration.  It is confusing and pointless.  There is a reason there is an administration area, as I said one of the versions I have for vertek has the admin interface through the ACP, AWESOME, but on the most recent version of Vertex, its in the vertex2 folder and there is no link to it unless you create one, I don't understand why it is setup that way.

Quote
No3 I will continue to include automod with my work as alot of people dont know how to install it.
I do not see why you would do this, the easiest way to help out your customers is to point out a link to automod, there are very good instructions listed on the automod phpbb section of the website on how to install automod, it is very easy, as its pretty much automated, upload and go.
And then allow people to install vertex through automod, this way it gives the option for people like myself who do not want to use automod as the install instructions are legiable to both users and to automod for installation purposes.  This way you don't have to keep track of update to automod which will save yourself a problem right there.

I have used and still have a few paid themes, they were very well put together.  I don't know why you have not incorporated a little bit of effort on the packaging of your products to make the lives easier for your customers.  Such as a Terms and Conditions text file, the removal of any OS specific files, such as "Thumbs.db", simple install instructions, change log, contrib folder for additional files.

I have looked around your site trying to find solutions, hence the different versions of Game Crusade and vertex I found, and each time I see, use the site builder.  To be honest, telling people who buy your theme that they have to start off with a fresh new install of phpbb in order to use it, is wrong.  You should be making it easy for the customers to add your themes to existing installations and not asking them to start over from scratch.

Quote
If this is true then im sorry but you stated your not new to php so if that is the case you should now better and would of make a backup.
I do have a backup, who doesn't keep backups.  I should not have to be spending days getting this to function, it really should be as simple as upload and go.

As well as the theme has been out for a while on your site.  The time for development should have been long since passed.

Your initial post on that screenshot was made on May 16th, it is not a new installation.  I do mean try this out on a brand new installation, ie new untouched phpbb3, new vertex install, new style install complete from scratch.  You will see what I mean by problems.

Please take what I have to say as constructive criticism, I love the theme Wink but its packaging and delivery needs work.  I just want this to be as simple as upload install and go.
Logged
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2011, 06:28:11 PM »

Quote
The files for Vertex are located here

http://www.shape5.com/component/option,com_docman/Itemid,96/task,cat_view/gid,113/

Quick Guide:

Upload vertex_framework.zip
Unzip
Goto: yoursite.com/install
Follow instructions
Remove install directory from root of site
In admin panel goto autoMOD
Install Shape5 - Vertex Framework
Upload style to style folder
Goto Styles Tab and set as default style

Just tried it on a clean board with these instructions, did not work again.  I don't know what you are doing differently, but you must have different files.

Please post the files you are using as that may solve my problem.  The ones I have access to on this site have to be out of date.
Logged
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2011, 07:10:17 PM »

I have gotten a little further.  I still believe there are a few problems.  I switched to a different bridge system, and I can access vertexAdmin.php  However the changes that I apply do not "stick" as well as the name of the template shows as Bridge of Hope which is another template you have.  I don't think the files I have are correct either.

If you are willing I can provide FTP and admin, and phpmyadmin access if you believe I am in error.
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2011, 05:19:59 AM »

I will not give constructive criticism im not like that.

The screenshot from the post above is not the version that you have its a new one i did yesterday ive just got to package it and run few more tests but apart from that its done.

The reason its like this is only because of development at first i was making new one from scrach so was very hard now that the framework is allmost done everything is dynamic so is alot easier and more powerful thats the only reason and as Game Crusade is one of the previous ones it has only been updated once.

Thanks
Dave

I will be finishing this new update today/tomorrow but will post file tomorrow.

Thanks
Dave
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2011, 06:42:32 AM »

OK here is vertex standalone so far

Instructions are:

Install phpBB3 or use current install as long as vertex has not been previosly installed
Upload contents of ZIP to root of forum
Navigate to yousite/install/
Follow Instuctions and ignore any errors if its a new install there will be none Smiley
When complete go to Admin Index
then delete install directory or rename it
Then in admin go to automod and install Vertex Framework
Vertex is installed Cheesy

VertexFramework_2_3_0.zip

I have allmost finished the style i have the bg fader to finish and a few more admin options it may be today or early tomorrow
you wont be able to admin it until a style is added if when you read this you want an uptodate version of style thats allmost finished i can do that just ask and ill upload it Smiley

Thanks
Dave
« Last Edit: June 10, 2011, 07:16:33 AM by Dave M » Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2011, 03:25:31 PM »

No that's great, I have no problem waiting till its done.  No point bothering you to upload it when I will most likely just be reuploading it when your all done.

Thanks for working on this, appreciate it Smiley
Logged
Dave M
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 296



WWW
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2011, 08:47:54 AM »

Here is the autoMOD for GameCrusade please report any problems as its only has 2 days of testing

AutoMOD_GameCrusade.zip

Thanks
Dave
Logged

Dave M (Drupal Club Developer)

Microsoft says to imagine a world without walls. I say without walls, who needs Windows!
------------
Shape 5 Team

Need some custom coding done on your site? Use our Shape 5 Hire a Coder program for free.  http://www.shape5.com/hire_a_coder/listauctions
0mni
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 30



« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2011, 05:50:07 PM »

Easy to install now Smiley  Upload and go without any issues.  There are a few things I noticed in the vertexadmin.php,  I'll be putting a list together.

The main issue I seem to be having is the "Login/Register" links on the menu bar at the top, just below search.

If you view the page in Firefox, they are off put, I guess the auto width is not taking into account both of them.  As well under Joomla, there is no way to make the register link go away when a user is logged in, unless I modify the code to do so, I left it intact so you can see what I mean.

Great work, I am really pleased with the updates and can't wait for more Cheesy

As you can see http://www.nonamegamer.ca/ and http://www.nonamegamer.ca/forums/ have become pretty much identical in terms of the header.  Would love to see the ability for the login/register modules work the same on phpbb as they are on the joomla side.  Since the bridge I use does not use phpbb's login or register, it would be awesome if they could just be a form that directs them to Joomla for login or registration.  I hope I explained myself in a way that makes sense.  I don't think it would be very difficult to do on my side, but would love to see it as a feature since both templates are available for Joomla and phpBB Cheesy
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.