Forum Support

Shape 5
March 28, 2024, 08:35:13 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How I can add a separate page for Blog (posts)  (Read 1227 times)
pshark
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« on: August 16, 2011, 02:11:30 PM »

Hello,

How can I add a new page (Blog) and have all of the posts list in this newly created page instead of on the home page?

Thanks

Paul
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2011, 04:16:47 PM »

That ability is part of Wordpress core capabilities.  This link should provide the answer you're looking for:

https://codex.wordpress.org/Creating_a_Static_Front_Page
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
pshark
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 04:13:02 PM »

Thank You, those instructions worked just fine...

Now I have two home buttons, how can I remove the default home button on the nav. I did some searches and tried different things, but none of them worked. I only see home on the functions.php & post-template.php, tried to edit them one at a time, but to no avail.

Much Appreciated!
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 07:16:30 AM »

To remove the extra "Home" link from the menu, edit "s5_Political/TTS_func/TTS_WP_FUNC.php".

Find all cases of:

Code:
      'show_home'         =>   'yes',       //Do you want to display the "Home" link?     

And change them to:

Code:
      'show_home'         =>   'no',       //Do you want to display the "Home" link?   



You may also have to change

Code:
if ($tags['show_home'] == ('yes'||'true'||'1')){

to

Code:
if ($tags['show_home'] === 'yes' || $tags['show_home'] ===  'true'|| $tags['show_home'] === '1'){

this will allow you to enable/disable the home by just changing the 2 lines mentioned above.

« Last Edit: September 05, 2011, 10:35:27 AM by Tristan Rineer » Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
pshark
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2011, 01:12:02 PM »

I really appreciate you taking time out of your schedule today to help me out...

Thanks!

Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.