Forum Support

Shape 5
May 13, 2021, 06:39:20 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Multible page styles on site?  (Read 907 times)
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« on: October 27, 2007, 01:29:36 AM »

I need to use several different backgrounds throughout my site.  How do I do this?  PHP index? or do I need to set it up each time before i upload it and give each a unique name then use assign function in admin? I am trying to replace "replicant" with this template and the guy that writes the code aint so happy about it. Please help.
Logged

Busch
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2007, 10:19:22 AM »

buschmaster54,

Are you trying to:

1. Use differently backgrounds on specific pages? ex: Contact Us has one background, About Us another, FAQs another, etc. ?

or

2. A different background throughout the entire site depending on who is logged in?

Joomla isn't really setup to do either, but I can write you a pretty simple solution to number 1, number 2 I'd have to put some thought to.

Let me know.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2007, 10:18:25 PM »

1st of all why did I not get this in my email?  2nd I am hosting clan competitions, leagues and each game ( however it mat be) needs to have its own look.  The user profiles and the forums need to have their own looks as well.  Can this be done by setting the user options 1thru whatever or do I need to customize each page then upload it?  I am starting to wish I had never let them talk me into joomla even though I have learned alot from it. 10K and I still have squat after 3 months!
Logged

Busch
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2007, 11:23:52 PM »

buschmaster54,

I think I understand what you are trying to accomplish but unfortunately that's not something that Joomla can do. Joomla gives you the ability to assign different templates to different pages of the site but not different users. There's just simply not a way to customize looks of the site on a per user basis. I know that's not the answer you're looking for. But unfortunately, that's how Joomla is setup.

Regards,
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2007, 11:49:24 AM »

sorry I worded it wrong.  terminology changes from one thing to another.  I am not trying to give each user a different look just each page in the site a different look no matter who is on they should see the same thing.  Joomla realy would be magic if you could give each and every person a different look! For example I want to use a call of duty picture in the COD2, COD3, COD4 leagues sites each unique. front page to look different than any other page in the site and so on and son on.  I am aware of the assign function in the admin section but that does not change the background picture from the halo league to the call of duty league to the gears of war league.  I hope I have said it a little better this time I am having the this problem with web masters period. I speak texan you guys hear redneck! LOL.

Busch
Logged

Busch
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2007, 10:28:49 PM »

You can do that by assigning a different template to each page in the Template Manager section of Joomla. But what you will have to do first is install the template multiple times. But you'll have to do some editing of the template first otherwise it will keep installing the template in the same game_vision folder; you want multiple templates in multiple folders as your end result. To do that:

1. Unzip the the game_vision folder to your computer.
2. Open templateDetails.xml and change:

   <name>gamevision</name>

to:

   <name>gamevision2</name>

3. Then open index.php and do a find replace for gamevision and replace with gamevision2
4. Next create a folder in your templates folder on your server and call it gamevision2
5. Upload all the files and folders to the folder you just created through ftp

In the backend of Joomla you should now have two gamevision templates. The original gamevision and the new duplicated version gamevision2. If you click the radio button next to one of the templates and hit the assign button you can then pick which menu items you want that specific template assigned to. Make sure that one of them is set to unassigned, that will be the default template.

In the new gamevision2 just create a new background image and upload it to gamevision2/images/

I hope that all makes sense. It probably sounds more complicated than it really is.

You'll have to repeat this for as many backgrounds that you want to use.

Let us know if you run into any questions,
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2007, 07:35:29 AM »

now we are on the same page!  Just one question... can't I just do the editing on my pc then rename each and upload them that way so I do not have to keep going to the online folders. I f I just replace the logo and picture rename it then upload it with unique name it should work right? anyway until I hear different I started this morning doing just that. Now I am starting to get excited.  Now if I can just find the right database for the the leagues stats and challenging system.  3 months ago I did not even know what a PHP was! and had never even seen the admin section of a site before....this is fun stuff.  Not quite what the Infantry offered me but still fun.  when you stop learing your dead.
Logged

Busch
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2007, 07:44:06 AM »

Yes, you can work on the files on your pc and just upload the files through ftp....it will go much quicker that way. Just make sure you edit the xml file to point to the new folder name and do the find replace in the index.php file to the new folder name (or else it will look at the original folder)

Glad it's all working out for you!
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2007, 09:07:35 AM »

another problem has come up now that I worked the other one out (I think) it will not let me assign the template to a sub-menu item or better yet when I go to assign the template the submenues do not even show up.  what now?
Logged

Busch
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2007, 09:58:29 AM »

The submenus should show up for you. Are you sure you have them published? They won't appear with an indent in from of them just a larger gap after the name of the menu in the list.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #10 on: October 29, 2007, 11:17:53 AM »

I have them showing now after I put a # in the url field but now I can't get them to gp to the template I am trying to assign. can you give me an example of how to link them together. I don't know if url link is the right thing or not but if it is I need a path to plug in and the correct path of folders did not work. Undecided
Logged

Busch
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 29, 2007, 11:28:34 AM »

Can you post the url of the site and give me an example of the menu item you want to set?

As long as you have a menu item created for the main menu it will be an option in the assign template feature.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #12 on: October 29, 2007, 01:17:52 PM »

www.modernwarfighters.com  , I have a gamvision template I names GV-cod4 and I am trying to link the call of duty 4 menu option to it but it just reloads the main page. I know the template I made works because it uploaded and it will let me make it the default.
Logged

Busch
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2007, 01:27:35 PM »

The link you have for Call of Duty 4 is not an actual link. It needs to be linked to an actual file or component. What you have in there now is:

http://www.modernwarfighters.com/#2

What is the #2 link supposed to go?
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
buschmaster54
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #14 on: October 29, 2007, 05:14:01 PM »

hell I don't know I have search and search and tried many different paths. I just do not know how/where to find the item # or correct path to the template I wish to assign f/I i am staying away from it for a couple of days and firing some nasty grahms at my "webdesigner" If I had only known about Joomla I could have saved a ton of $. I wish I could get my money back and let them keep the crap it has taken 3 months to put together.   Angry
Logged

Busch
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.