Forum Support

Shape 5
April 13, 2021, 11:07:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wordpress login issue  (Read 993 times)
endrias
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« on: September 05, 2012, 03:01:17 PM »

I just installed WordPress Life Journey Shape5 package. Everything went well except the login page.

1 - http://selamchurch.org/wordpress/wp-login.php takes me a login but once I put my information, its a black page
2 - http://selamchurch.org/wordpress/wp-admin.php just spools and becomes blank.

Please help with this fix.

Thanks
Andy
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2012, 09:49:24 AM »

That URL goes to a 404.  Are you sure that's where your site is?
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
endrias
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2012, 04:31:14 PM »

Give it a try again.

Recreated the database and installed shape5 LifeJourney WordPress...

http://www.selamchurch.org/wordpress/wp-admin/  - FireFox gives me a black page and Chrome is an error page
http://www.selamchurch.org/wordpress/wp-login.php - takes me to a log-in screen but once I put in the login info, its black.

Will send you log-in info shortly.

Thank you!
« Last Edit: September 06, 2012, 04:35:48 PM by endrias » Logged
endrias
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2012, 07:45:01 PM »

I renamed the plugin folder, and I was able to login to dashboard - no more blank pages after putting my user name and password.

New issue: the renamed folder will not allow me to install the plugins

Solution: Once I'm in the dashboard I renamed it back to plugin and installed all the plugins

Issue: if I renamed it back, I get the black dashboard page

Thoughts?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2012, 07:49:48 PM by endrias » Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2012, 10:07:34 AM »

Rename the plugins folder again; but this time, put the plugins back 1 at a time and check to see which one causes the site to go blank.  Once you've figured out which plugin has the problem, remove it from the new plugins folder & continue the process until the one with the problem is the only one not installed.

When you know which plugin is having the problem, post back here so I can figure out a solution for you.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
endrias
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2012, 07:31:17 PM »

I can't figure it out. Not just the Site Shaper, but also the theme causes an issue. I feel like wasted my money because nothing seems to work.
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2012, 07:54:52 AM »

If you can provide login & FTP info, I'll take a look at it and see what the problem is.  If it's not a server problem, then I should be able to get it working for you quickly.

Since it is a fresh shaper install, I'll probably want to "reset" the shaper while troubleshooting, so your PM should include authorization to do that.

EDIT: I just remembered that you already sent login info.  I'll take a look at it right away.  I still need "reset authorization" though.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2012, 07:57:23 AM by Tristan Rineer » Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
endrias
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2012, 01:39:32 PM »

Authorized!!

Let me know if you need access to my database. My service is through Hostmonster.

- Some of the MINOR issues also related with renaming plug-in files is updating pages, widgets, etc... unless I go back and rename the file, though modifications I made takes into effect, I will not know unless I rename the file. I continue to get a black page and go back and front to fix it. 

- Every time I delete a page I created, I get an error message.

Please help.
Thank you!
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2012, 01:57:44 PM »

Can you PM me FTP info for the site?  (You can create a new FTP user with access limited to the folder WP is installed in if you prefer not to give access to the rest of your server)
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
endrias
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2012, 04:45:39 AM »

If anyone is having the same problem, the following are list of plug-ins that either cause a blank dashboard page at login or will not install:

catagory-shortcode-w-generator.zip
quick-contact.zip
wp-cleanup.zip

if anyone has fix, will be great.

Thanks,
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2012, 08:32:43 AM »

None of those plugins are actually necessary to site function.  I recommend just leaving them out.  Quick Contact is the only one of those 3 that is S5, so I will have to take a look at it and figure out what the issue is, but the other 2 are third party and may no longer be compatible with the latest version of Wordpress.

EDIT:  I just looked at your site again.  Category shortcode and quick contact are both activated and the site is working fine.  It must've just been WP-Cleanup that was the problem; and that wasn't even supposed to be included with the shaper - I use it to reduce the database size on my development site before exporting it to make the shaper.

EDIT2: You were still having permalink issues, but that was because you didn't have the .htaccess set up yet.  That issue is fixed now too.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, 08:37:51 AM by Tristan Rineer » Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
endrias
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2012, 11:59:52 AM »

None of those plugins are actually necessary to site function.  I recommend just leaving them out.  Quick Contact is the only one of those 3 that is S5, so I will have to take a look at it and figure out what the issue is, but the other 2 are third party and may no longer be compatible with the latest version of Wordpress.

EDIT:  I just looked at your site again.  Category shortcode and quick contact are both activated and the site is working fine.  It must've just been WP-Cleanup that was the problem; and that wasn't even supposed to be included with the shaper - I use it to reduce the database size on my development site before exporting it to make the shaper.

EDIT2: You were still having permalink issues, but that was because you didn't have the .htaccess set up yet.  That issue is fixed now too.

Ok. I will leave out the plug-in described above.

EDIT2: For my future knowledge, how to setup .htaccess?

Everything works perfect now.

Thank you bunch!!
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2012, 01:26:01 PM »

The .htaccess issue is solved by going to your permalink settings and hitting "save".  The demo/shaper needs "pretty" permalinks to display the demo content properly (instead of the standard "?post=1234" method), but that's only required by the sample content, so you can put permalinks back to default if you want.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.