Forum Support

Shape 5
September 17, 2021, 08:16:29 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: False Alt Tag on Slider Image  (Read 21170 times)
mikegro
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 143



« on: October 21, 2012, 06:58:50 PM »

I am looking at this template and thinking about renewing my membership to get it... http://www.shape5.com/demo/corporate_response/
When you hover over the home page slider image... the Alt Tag is False... that isnt something that someone would want... how would we remove that alt tag or change the word.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2012, 08:31:11 AM »

Hello,

It will only occur on certain browsers, and it's really a browser related issue. The issue is that some browsers require a title attribute on hyperlinks, and when none are present it just shows "false" as the title, even if you don't want one. We can assist you with adding titles to each link once you signup if you'd like there to be one for every hyperlink in the module.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mikegro
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 143



« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2012, 08:36:27 AM »

Of the big 3 - Firefox and Chrome does it - which is about 60% of the market... I didnt test it on the mobile market... so its an issue that needs to be dealt with... so I gotta sign up and hope there is a solution? I was already a member for a year... and I like your templates but the solution to bugs or nuances was about a 50% fix rate... it sounds like you dont have a solution but hoping to sort it out...
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2012, 10:34:00 AM »

Hello,

Like I stated above, it's not a bug in our products. The browser is looking for a title, even if you don't specify one. That's not something the code of the module can control. As I stated above we can assist you with adding titles to each link if you need assistance with this. If there an issue with our product we have always provided solutions.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mikegro
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 143



« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2012, 10:45:24 AM »

It may not be a bug but its an oversight I think... or something left out... I realize what its doing but if most of the browsers are doing it... it's an issue... who wants to have "false" as the text showing up when hovering over an image... if 6 out of 10 people are seeing that - it's an issue. I dont know of other sliders who do that...

I can put title tags on regular images and nearly anything else... but dont know how on your module... so if your module cant control the title tags... what exactly are you going to show me in terms of putting titles to each link? You're talking about with your modules...

The other issues I had... and there werent many but there were a couple and 1/2 the time you guys worked it out... and the other time it was blamed on something else... like in this case... yeah, in this situation - its not a bug per se but its an oversight... I am not trying to hammer you guys as I like most of your work and considering renewing but just saying... not sure how you can debate it... the word "false" has many connotations - none of which are good - especially if you are trying to sell a product... if nothing else, it looks like an unfinished site.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2012, 11:56:43 AM »

Hello,

It is not an oversight. The only way around this it to add a title to every one of the hyperlinks. So if we add a title by default it would just say something like "Demo Image" on every slide in the tag instead of "false". There is no way to turn them off because the browser controls this. We cannot control or create code that would over-write how a browser behaves.

We can assist you with adding your own titles directly into the php of the module if you want custom titles on the links.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mikegro
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 143



« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2012, 06:20:01 PM »

Thanks for your response... here is an example of an issue that came up that was never answered... on your Salon N Spa template... Home page comes up fine... the background image and everything nice... click on a menu item for example, a top level item - no problem... the background image is there...  but if you click on a 2nd level menu items... ie. links you click from the drop down off the main menu - the background image disappears and its just the dark brown color... I never got a response on that and I saw others ask about it... its minor stuff like that which can be irksome... would love a response to that question as I have another project I may want to use that template which I bought while under my membership but had to put on hold due to this quirk. I used a standard install... didnt change the settings... the background image link is there...
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2012, 12:19:50 PM »

On line 186 of fader.js you can fix this by commenting out the line of code there.  Here is how it should look:

//linkTitle: el.getElement(options.linkSelector).title||false,
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mikegro
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 143



« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2012, 12:22:36 PM »

thanks... is that fader.js the fix for the title or the background image on the salon template?
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2012, 12:23:26 PM »

sure thing, for the title alt tag hover over issue

for the background just add in full site url and then it will work on sub pages.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 01:39:50 PM by jonahh » Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
osde

Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2013, 10:17:21 PM »

i don't get, "for the background just add in full site url", add what?
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2013, 10:48:50 PM »

In the Template Manager use a full path instead of the default path:

http://yoursiteurl.com/images/background.jpg

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
osde

Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2013, 11:24:57 PM »

i copied to /images  folder, no changes
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2013, 11:38:50 PM »

Hello,

I said to just simply change a path in the Template Manager of Joomla. You don't need to modify any folders.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
osde

Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2013, 11:52:29 PM »

what about other pages? forexample "About", background appears only on main page
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.