Forum Support

Shape 5
April 14, 2021, 08:49:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Login for Simplex  (Read 1162 times)
homelife
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« on: November 27, 2012, 04:11:10 PM »

Hello,

Quick question, does Simplex need to install the S5box extension for the Login to work?  I've tried making it work without S5box and also with S5box, it doesnt seem like the Login link goes anywhere.  Where or how would I go about setting it up?

(this is for making a customer sign in)

-homelife
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2012, 06:05:21 PM »

Hello,

If you don't use the S5 box you would need to set the link up as a URL redirect to a different page. This would be beneficial if you wanted to include a form of Captcha that isn't supported in the S5 Box. The way its coded is its designed to appear in the S5 box popup.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
homelife
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2012, 07:14:48 PM »

Thanks,

I just ran into another problem though, the vertex framework no longer saves anything i change : (....

-homelife
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 07:31:45 PM »

Make sure the vertex.json CHMOD settings on the server are set to 777 then try again.

Also, try a different browser such as Firefox to see if the issue still occurs.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
homelife
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2012, 11:09:07 AM »

i tried it on firefox and chrome, set file permissions to 777, but its not saving.  i had a server move over the weekend
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2012, 09:35:54 PM »

Hello,

I would contact your hosting company if you have already verified that the vertex.json is set to 777 and tried all other browsers. It might be a permissions setting on the server they have to fix. Just tell them that you are using the Joomla! CMS and it isn't saving any changes in the backend to the server.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
homelife
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2012, 02:35:33 PM »

Hi Mike,

I got in touch with our web hosting company (Midphase) and they turned on allow_url_fopen to attempt to solve the problem, but ultimately the fields still couldn't save.  So they said to contact you and further investigate the template. 

I've tried replacing the Vertex folder with the original downloaded folder, but the fields still won't save.  I have added modules and such in Index.php in the past so I switched it out with the original to see if anything would change, but still the same. 

-Victoria
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2012, 03:05:20 PM »

This is really an issue with the hosting or Joomla server permissions but if you PM me the FTP and Joomla credentials I can take a look for you.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
homelife
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2013, 11:23:34 AM »

Hello Mike,

So I finally come back to the login issue.  Now that vertex.json is resolved and works, the login button still doesnt show anything.  I assigned a login form to the login module of simplex, also tried to assign custom url to the login from vertex framework, but neither made the button clickable.  Am I missing a step to make the login button work?

-homelife
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2013, 08:36:20 PM »

Hello.

The login button activates the S5 Box popup that loads the "login" position within that popup box. So you need to make sure the login position is published on all pages and the S5 Box is also on all pages. The S5 Box should be loaded in the debug position.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
homelife
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2013, 11:03:05 AM »

Hi Mike,

In short, I just want the sign in button to link to a different web page because the login is for a separate program on a different website.  But its not working from vertex.json even though the file saves the link correctly.

At this point I want to prioritize linking to a different website because i need to get it working asap. 

But I still want to figure out what went wrong with the s5box setup so if i need it in the future, I would know how to activate it.  When i tried to use the S5 Box it didnt work.
I placed the positions in XML,
the classes in index.php,
published s5box on all pages debug,
published login to login module on all pages.


-homelife
Logged
homelife
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 56



« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2013, 02:33:45 PM »

Ok, I resolved the linkingt by putting a little code in index.php to direct the Sign In button to a different website. 
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2013, 06:13:39 PM »

Alright,

Thanks for the update.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.