Forum Support

Shape 5
May 15, 2021, 09:29:11 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: installation  (Read 386 times)
4wheels
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« on: December 07, 2012, 09:32:01 PM »

I installed and followed the install video . got to final install, viewed site, everything looked good.   Logged out and came back later, when I hit view site I get Breez template.   There is no New Vision template in Joomla template manager,  any ideas?
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2012, 07:54:57 AM »

Hello,

Logging out of the site would not have changed your template, there's no way for it to effect that. Something would have had to of uninstalled it. If it's not there you can simply re-install the template again and set it as default.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
4wheels
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2012, 11:33:02 AM »

I have reinstalled and  made New Vision the default.    When I do anything,  as in go to module manager it freezes computer.  I have to shut down the  browser.   When I go back to Joomla admin, no template.   I followed video, have done a reinstall a number of times.   The folder and files are there in Cpanel.   When I try to install again and point to folder  it goes to http://capturedintime.ca/new%20vision/ shows the template but there is no style in template manager.    The only way to do a install again is to delete the new vision folder and start fresh.   I am no expert, but I have installed other templates (they are working fine) on Joomla and didn't seem to have these problems.    What are my options to get any of these Shape 5 templates working? 
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2012, 07:28:24 PM »

Hello,

There is nothing in the template that would cause your computer or browser to freeze. The template is merely css and js files, nothing that would cause a freeze of your computer. When you enter the module manager there are no template files called, that is only calling core Joomla files.

If you need to reinstall you would uninstall it through the extensions manager of Joomla. Simply deleting the files won't delete the template from the database. And then reinstall as as per the tutorial video for installing a stand alone template. If the template does not show in the style manager after completing that installation then there is either something wrong with your Joomla installation of a permissions problem on your server.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
4wheels
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2012, 09:12:16 PM »

I think the point I am trying to make is the New Vision in not in Joomla.    When I go to extension manager there is no New Vision,  I cannot uninstall something that is not there..      I have followed the video instructions to the letter.   I get thru the whole install, change New Vision to the default template go to change anything and computer freezes.    When I log on again, no New Vision template.    I have reinstalled Joomla and reinstall New Vision.  No success .       I bought the template service to make things easier for me as I am not an expert in HTML & CSS.         I think I need support.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2012, 08:33:42 AM »

Hello,

Did you install this from a site shaper or did you install the template into a pre-existing template? There is nothing in the template that would cause it to disappear or remove itself from the extensions manager. If it is completely missing from there then there is an issue with your Joomla installation, not a template issue.

If you haven't installed via the site shaper I would suggest installing it that way so that everything is set correctly by default. There will be no need to set the template to default with a site shaper because it is already set to default.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
4wheels
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2012, 09:38:10 PM »

 Sad :(I have uninstall, installed over and over again.   I deleted Joomla.   The same problem happens.   I work on New Vision template for a bit.  leave it, then log on again, and it is gone.      I don't know what the issue is, I 'm not the pro.    I am not asking for support I am asking for a refund.   I have no doubt your templates are good, but for some reason your template and my host/joomla don't play well in the sandbox together.    I have moved on to another template provider, because I was wasting a whole lo of time.   My time is also valuable, then have support saying template is good, it must be on my end and let me hang to solve it myself..       I installed another company's  template and I have had no issues.    Go figure.    Again I am asking for a refund and hope we can part on good terms.   I thank you for your efforts in this matter.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2012, 08:36:26 AM »

Hello,

Because we offer non-tangible products we do not offer refunds under any circumstances. This is stated in our terms of agreement that you agreed to at signup. Our products will work any host, and the issues are you stating that are not related to our templates nor have they ever been reported by any Shape5 member before. Based on the information you have given, this is not a template related issue. You are stating issues that related to Joomla itself. ie: the module manager freezing, or the template being removed, are not things that the template installation effects; these are all functions of Joomla itself.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2012, 08:51:01 AM by mikek » Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
4wheels
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2012, 12:16:52 PM »

First off I am not stating it is an template or a Joomla problem.    I don't know.   If I knew the problem I would fix it.     I guess I assumed I could get support help  if there was a problem or conflict with template or Joomla.   I was wrong.     To me it should be as simple as download template, install, and rework to my liking.      Although you are giving the copy and paste "pat" answer, I think there is and was a conflict and the trend I see in this forum, when I tried to find the answer myself, is to give answers that state it is not a template issue.     In your terms of agreement you may need to put an amendment stating experienced users only.       If it is my Joomla causing the issues, how to you explain another provider's template working with no issues.       I await your answer
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2012, 12:38:41 PM »

Hello,

Nothing I have stated here has been any form of copy/paste answer. I have addressed each of your concerns. We have users from all levels of experience that use our products with no issues, advanced knowledge of Joomla is not a requirement for our products. Our support is for our core products, the issues you are having do not related to our products.

As I have stated the template itself cannot effect in any way the module manager or cause itself to remove from your site. There is nothing in any template, from any provider that can cause those things to happen. Template files are mainly css and images that stylize a site's frontend, and do not effect backend processes. These files are never called on the module manager or any part of the backend of Joomla, and thus there is no way for the template to cause your browser or computer to freeze in those area because the files are not even called. There is also nothing in any template that causes itself to remove itself from your site, that is not possible for a template to do this. How it's working while another template is installed isn't the point, the point is no template would ever effect those areas of your site despite who developed them.
« Last Edit: December 14, 2012, 12:42:30 PM by mikek » Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
4wheels
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2012, 04:00:49 PM »

thank you so much for your help.    .     I had a problem and Shape 5 provided marginal help.   A simple solution would have been,  give you my login to see the what the heck the problem is,  instead of saying template good, template cause no problem,template is css.      Your statement about "How it's working while another template is installed isn't the point, the point is no template would ever effect those areas of your site despite who developed them.     Your point is pointless to me.    Something did not work.  The fact that another template is installed and working is a point.   

I ask you again for a refund.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2012, 06:53:43 PM »

Hello,

Firstly, I apologize for any difficulties you have had with the template installation process. I do find it a bit odd that once you template was installed that it was just "removed" from the Joomla installation. If you send me the FTP + Joomla + CPanel credentials I can load a fresh site shaper of your choice to a sub - directory of the site for you.

If the template gets removed for whatever reason once a new database has been created properly then this would indicate a problem with the server. At that point you would contact you hosting company to see what the reason is for this and they can provide a server side fix that can address this.

As Mikek stated earlier in this thread we cannot issue a refund due a faulty server configuration but if you PM me the credentials I can look into this and see why it might be happening. We haven't had any other reports of a template getting deleted without any user interaction in the past for any of our templates.

If you need further assistance I am here to help.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
4wheels
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #12 on: December 25, 2012, 09:39:23 PM »

thanks for your offer Mike.   Unfortunately your offer to look into the problem via PM is a little too late.   I had to move on as I was not getting the customer service I thought Shape 5  would give.    I had tried what was offered to no success, and was frustrated with the support I was offered.       If you stand by your no refund policy, I will accept that.     It is very unfortunate I brought a product/service that I will not use because of the service I received.   Thank you, but I will not take you up on your offer.   It seems your no return policy outweighs  your customer service.    You can close this request for service as customer service is not needed for a template I will not use.   
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.