Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline nerdz
Free Member
Posts: 78
Posted on: January 11, 2013, 05:13:26 PM

I apparently need more room for my menu than available on this template. I noticed that once you go over the width margins, the last button menu goes down a line or behind the feature slider. I do not want to make the width of the layout wider but just the row for the menu. I have already adjusted the width to 1050 (Shape5 Theme - Layout - Body Width) but going beyond that becomes a problem.

I also saw "Row Size" but this only gives you more Blocks in a row but not the area I need for my menu.

Please help...again Wink
« Last Edit: January 22, 2013, 12:38:22 AM by nerdz »
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: January 14, 2013, 08:20:11 AM

Have you already disabled the login/logout/register buttons?  Those take up a significant portion of the menu bar and if they're not needed, disabling them will give a lot more space.
Logged

Offline nerdz
Free Member
Posts: 78
Posted on: January 14, 2013, 01:02:45 PM

That was the first thing I did but I still need about 230 pixels to squeeze in another menu button. I have also adjusted the total width to 1000 pixels and going beyond that is just not going to be within the standards. I just need to adjust the width area for the menu without adjusting the overall width of the layout. I understand that the menu will be exceeding the border/margin, which is accpetable.

Kind regards
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: January 15, 2013, 09:52:00 AM

You may be able to get more space by using CSS to set the "s5_menu_wrap" div to whatever width you need.

Add this to the end of style.css and adjust as needed:
Code:
#s5_menu_wrap {
    width: 1250px;
}
Logged

Offline nerdz
Free Member
Posts: 78
Posted on: January 16, 2013, 01:32:51 PM

Thank you again Tristan. Is it possible to center the menu once this is done because this just runs on to the right.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: January 17, 2013, 09:09:30 AM

Because you are making the menu "overflow" from the area that it's contained in, you'll have to do some tweaking to get it.

Use Firebug to look at the css for the menu bar (the stuff you just added), and add a "margin-left: -125px;", then adjust that number up/down as needed to get it to feel balanced (up to go left, down to go right).
Logged

Offline nerdz
Free Member
Posts: 78
Posted on: January 22, 2013, 12:37:29 AM

Thanks again Tristan. That worked perfectly  Wink
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.073 seconds with 22 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.