Forum Support

Shape 5
November 29, 2021, 05:56:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Flex Menu: how to "flyout" submenu on mobile / pad? (TOUCHSCREEN)  (Read 41463 times)
slashslash
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 4



« on: February 01, 2013, 02:03:12 AM »

My original question was unclear, so I edited it...
I mean not only mobile devs but all devices with touchscreen...


original question:

Maybe dumb question:
How can I show submenus on a phone/pad/touch-device? It always navigates on touching....??

In Desktop view, I got a Flex-Menu which drops-down submenus on hover.
--> Hover --> flyout submenu
--> Click --> navigate
==> expected behavior


On mobile I would like to change the behavior of "touching" a menu to "flyout"
--> Touch --> flyout submenu
---> Submenu ---> Touch ---> navigate

I am currently testing on an Android phone with Opera and Chrome.
Both navigate directly on touch - with no possibility to show the submenus

I would like only the last items (leaves) in the menu to navigate

Like:
--> Menu -> display submenus on touch
------------> submenu1 -> navigate on touch
------------> submenu 2-> navigate on touch

Can this be done?
Thank you
Reinhard
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 02:21:46 AM by slashslash » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2013, 08:22:24 AM »

Hello,

I am not sure what you mean. The mobile version does not use the flex menu if you have responsive enabled. If you don't have responsive enabled or you're using a non-responsive template there's not a way to change the functionality on just a mobile device.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
slashslash
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 4



« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2013, 02:26:28 AM »

I mean all devices with touchscreen - I edited my original question.

On a touchscreen - there is no Hover...  (?) - so is there a way to have any Menu-Item
DROP-Down on touch IF it is not the last (leave) in the hierarchie?
NAVIGATE if last in hierarchie

The same Menu-Item - IF on a non-touch, hover-able device - it should behave like normal:
DROP on Hover - NAVIGATE on Click

This is not related to FlexMenu, or S5 but I assume this is a problem on any touch-enabled device..
How is this handled best?
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2013, 08:26:51 AM »

Hello,

I still don't understand your question about navigating on touch. Touching will only open the menu item that you clicked and no others. We will be releasing an update to Vertex soon that allows for an onclick method on the flex menu for tablets.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
slashslash
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 4



« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2013, 02:08:00 AM »

Maybe your update will adress exactly that...

On a touch-device, if you touch a menu-item - it will navigate, like if you clicked it with a mouse!! - it will NOT behave like a HOVER with the mouse ----> so it NEVER SHOWS SUBMENUS

On a screen with mouse - if you hover it will show submenus --- > and only navigate if you Click it!

So: On a Touch - Device, a menu item (if touched) should only navigate if it is a leave. Otherwise it should REVEAL its children....

I hope this is clearer...

Thank you!
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2013, 08:21:03 AM »

Hello,

Yes, that's exactly what the onclick method will be doing. It will be out in about 2 weeks or so as a patch to Vertex.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
shecmt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 33



« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2013, 05:21:06 PM »

Hi, I noticed that the Vertex 3.1 Patch is listed now in the downloads section of the site. Is this the update that adds the "onclick" functionality? I'm currently running Vertex 3.0 on my Joomla 3.0 site, and I've already modified lots of stuff in the Bootstrap folder that I would be replacing if I install the 3.1 patch. Is there a section of code or a single file in the 3.1 patch that I can replace to get the "onclick" functionality without starting over on some of the files?
« Last Edit: February 21, 2013, 05:23:54 PM by shecmt » Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2013, 11:28:24 PM »

Hello,

The newest version of vertex provides this functionality. You would need to apply the patch as per the instructions on our Tutorials page.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
shecmt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 33



« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2013, 01:45:51 PM »

I upgraded from Vertex 3.0 to Vertex 3.1 on my Joomla 3.0 site (I'm using the Cleanout Template). With the "ONCLICK FOR TABLETS" turned on and the template set to "FLUID", the S5 Flex Menu does not reveal the dropdown items when touched on a 10" tablet. It acts as a "click" rather than as a "mouseover" that reveals the dropdown. How can I make it act as a "mouseover" when you touch the 1st level items, thereby revealing the dropdown with the children items?
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2013, 02:55:31 PM »

Hello,

It is supposed to act as a click, that's what onclick does. There is no such thing as onmouseover for touch screen devices. The onclick method will open all the subs the same way, just with a different trigger.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
alfoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 36



« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2013, 10:36:40 AM »

I have upgraded to Vertex 2.3.0 in my Joomla 2.5.7 site using Corporate response template and enabled "onclick for tables" but the menu still doesn't works correctly.
By touching the menu in a tablet the list of submenus appear but I have no option to select any of them as the menu just closes before, the only item that works are the menu options at first level.
In vertical mode the mobile menu works fine but in horizontal mode the only available menu is the standard and it doesn't stays until I select the desired option.
I have checked other templates and the one that seems to work correctly is New Vision.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2013, 11:08:43 AM »

Hello,

You would need to have active club membership in order to receive support on paid products. The new menu functions have been fully tested with our responsive templates, including Corporate Response, and work exactly as described above using the core files. There is no difference between the menus on different templates, they all use the exact same files and functions.

If your menu is closing after opening it then either the update didn't complete properly to vertex 2.3 or you have the old files cached in your browser. There is nothing in the code that will allow the menu to close automatically once onclick is triggered.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2013, 11:14:43 AM by mikek » Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
alfoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 36



« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2013, 01:36:48 PM »

Have checked 3 times that all files have been uploaded, made all changes in the PDF.

If I enable onclick the submenu options are not visible in the tablet ( Nexus 7 + Chrome), if I disable onclick the submenu options are visible but I can't select them because the menu doesn't remain open.

Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #13 on: March 11, 2013, 02:41:54 PM »

Hello,

Again, you would need to have a paid membership in order to assist with this.

BTW the Nexus 7 would most likely be showing the mobile menu, not the flex menu that this discussion is referring to. No changes have been made to the mobile menu, that has always worked with onclick.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2013, 02:45:32 PM by mikek » Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
alfoto
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 36



« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2013, 03:38:47 PM »

The mobile menu is shown in vertical orientation in a Nexus but in horizontal orientation the normal S5 menu is shown and this menu doesn't works correctly with the onclick setting.

If set only the first ( main) item of the menu is shown and no submenus are available, if not set the menu shows but too fast and then it's not possible to select any option.

Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.