Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline mgpodcast
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: February 25, 2013, 06:03:07 PM

Exactly as the title says, i've just gotten the Hexicon Gamer theme, so glad that it finally came out for Wordpress as well! Thank you for those who coded it, such an awesome theme.

But i'm having a problem, i cant easily edit these content area's because i cant see what exactly i'm typing, i'm getting by because I'm able to type without looking, but it's still nice to have the ability to check and ensure you have everything typed in correctly, i've included a picture that has an arrow pointing to the strange shaded out area i'm speaking of.

Is there a way to remove these annoying box's, or are we SOL? Any help is greatly appreciated



Logged

Offline mgpodcast
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: February 26, 2013, 01:14:02 PM

Let me know if anymore information is needed, it almost looks like the administration back end is not accepting whatever code is suppose to be there that allows me to hover over the tiles to get a better description of what the items do, rather it's just putting that info up and in doing so, I can't edit the information behind the popup display of information.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: February 26, 2013, 04:09:24 PM

That issue means that for some reason the javascript needed by the admin to function properly is not being loaded.  I would suggest trying to re-upload the theme through FTP.

I believe someone else had an issue similar to yours on another theme, but I will have to do some searching; I'm pretty sure it was fixed by uploading through FTP as I suggested above.

Also: make sure your FTP client (I recommend FileZilla) is set to transfer using "binary" mode only; "auto" and "ASCII" can occasionally cause corruption in uploaded files because of the method used.
Logged

Offline mgpodcast
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: February 26, 2013, 04:35:49 PM

That issue means that for some reason the javascript needed by the admin to function properly is not being loaded.  I would suggest trying to re-upload the theme through FTP.

I believe someone else had an issue similar to yours on another theme, but I will have to do some searching; I'm pretty sure it was fixed by uploading through FTP as I suggested above.

Also: make sure your FTP client (I recommend FileZilla) is set to transfer using "binary" mode only; "auto" and "ASCII" can occasionally cause corruption in uploaded files because of the method used.

I have done so, and i still get the gray boxes...i on the other hand do not get them with the s5 box options.  if you can tell me what file to edit i can just edit out the java script boxes, there is really no need for them.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: February 27, 2013, 11:52:09 AM

The javascript is necessary for the theme admin to function correctly; it's not just there for the tooltips, it also allows the options to be saved, and the sections to display in tabs instead of a single page.

I'm still trying to find the other post by someone who had the same issue as you...  their screenshot was almost identical.  I just can't remember the words they used to describe it, so searching is taking a while.  I do seem to remember that it was fixed easily enough.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: February 27, 2013, 12:15:14 PM

I can't seem to find the other post, so if you can PM me login & FTP access information, I'll take a look at it and see what I can figure out.
Logged

Offline Dave M
Free Member
Posts: 296 WWW
Posted on: March 05, 2013, 01:03:59 PM

Hi mgpodcast im sorry to say i tried to fix your problem and failed it seems that my ISP blocks the servers your site it running on most likely due to the amount of spam that comes from them i know it seems horrible to say but my ISP cant be wrong.

I did however manage to get a look using a proxy server the only reason i can see that would cause the error is due to slow loading of the javascript/css files due to a slow host ive asked several people from my personal site to try and access your site out of 10 people all over the globe only one could access it i would suggest you change host  as a site thats not accesable to the world it not really a site, take for example Steam if you could not access them but everyone else could you would be ticked off right ?.

That's about as much info as i can give on the subject if you find a decent host not in Lithuania let me know i can most likely sort the problem out within 10 minutes.

In the mean time i will work the the WP developer in getting his admin updated we have made lots of changes and he is the last one the see the amazing changes.

Thanks
Dave
Logged

Offline mgpodcast
Free Member
Posts: 4
Posted on: March 17, 2013, 02:24:44 AM

Hey guys, just wanted to update everyone on whats been going on with the site. Seems there was some kind of issue with our hosting provider, not really sure what that was all about, we've been using 1freehosting for a long time now, but regardless! We switched over to a godaddy hosting account and hey! No more grey box's! Now we are just trying to set the site up and such, i'd like to thank both of you for your help, and hopefully this will be something others in the future can look on and see that the free solution, isnt always the best hah!

Again, thank you for the help you both provided, and I look forward to years and years of enjoyment from this awesome theme!
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.023 seconds with 22 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.