Forum Support

Shape 5
March 19, 2024, 02:57:22 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Image slide has stopped rotating  (Read 807 times)
stormanf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 34



« on: April 26, 2013, 12:48:36 PM »

I have been using the s5_imageslide on my website at http://edgarcaycecanada.com for the past year, and it has worked well. Recently I optimized the website using two tools from GTmetrix.com :  "Leverage browser caching" and "Enable gzip compression". Implementing these features involved adding several lines of code to my .htaccess file for the site. Page loading has sped up considerably and everything seems to work well -- except for the image slide, which no longer rotates. I can't even change the images using the arrows provided. I changed the .htaccess file back to its original state, but this has not helped.  How can I get the images rotating again?

Here are the lines of code I added to the .htaccess file :

# The following added by CEW on April 18, 2013 - purpose is to leverage browser caching.

## EXPIRES CACHING ##

ExpiresActive On
ExpiresByType image/jpg "access plus 1 year"
ExpiresByType image/jpeg "access plus 1 year"
ExpiresByType image/gif "access plus 1 year"
ExpiresByType image/png "access plus 1 year"
ExpiresByType text/css "access plus 1 month"
ExpiresByType application/pdf "access plus 1 month"
ExpiresByType text/x-javascript "access plus 1 month"
ExpiresByType application/x-shockwave-flash "access plus 1 month"
ExpiresByType image/x-icon "access plus 1 year"
ExpiresDefault "access plus 2 days"

## EXPIRES CACHING ##

# The following added by CEW on April 18, 2013 - purpose is to add GZip compression.

# compress text, HTML, JavaScript, CSS, and XML
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/plain
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/html
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/xml
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/css
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/xml
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/xhtml+xml
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/rss+xml
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/javascript
AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/x-javascript

# remove browser bugs
BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4 gzip-only-text/html
BrowserMatch ^Mozilla/4\.0[678] no-gzip
BrowserMatch \bMSIE !no-gzip !gzip-only-text/html
Header append Vary User-Agent
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 11:10:51 AM »

Hello,

Most likely its the gzip that has caused this issue, if you can exclude files with gzip then exclude this modules js files and then it should work for you.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
stormanf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 34



« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 08:21:50 PM »

Hi Jonah,

Perhaps that's not the problem though, because shortly after I made those changes (around April 22nd), I reverted to the original .htaccess file, which did not have the GZip compression lines -- but this made no difference, the image slide still doesn't work. So I don't think that the .htaccess file is the problem now, unless my changes somehow damaged the actual javascript code.

About the same time that I changed the .htaccess file, I also upgraded from Joomla 2.5.9 to Joomla 2.5.11. Could this be the problem? Tonight I used Firebug to compare the javascript for my non-working version of the image slide with the same code from the Paradigm Shift demo model on the Shape 5 website. I note that the code is mostly identical, except for the very first line. (There are a few other differences which seem unimportant.)

Here are the two versions of that script (I've included the actual line gaps as found in the Firebug code -- curiously, these are different too):

MY VERSION:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">

window.addEvent('domready',function(){
var s5_startItem = 0;




var s5_if_thumbs_maskout = $('s5_if_thumbs_maskout').setStyle('left',(s5_startItem*60-568)+'px').set('opacity',0.8);
var fxOptions7 = {property:'left', duration:tween_time, transition:Fx.Transitions.Expo.easeIn, wait:false}
var thumbsFx = new Fx.Tween(s5_if_thumbs_maskout,fxOptions7);
var hs7 = new noobSlide({
size: 950,
box: $('s5_if_innerbox'),
items: [0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9],
autoPlay: true,
handles: $$('#s5_if_thumbs_handlesout span'),
fxOptions: fxOptions7,
addButtons: {previous: $('s5_prev'), play: $('s5_play'), stop: $('s5_stop'), next: $('s5_next')},
button_event: 'click',
interval: 10000,
onWalk: function(currentItem){
thumbsFx.start(currentItem*68-568);},s5_startItem: s5_startItem}); hs7.walk(0); });
</script>

THE SHAPE 5 DEMO VERSION:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">

function s5_load_image_slide(){
var s5_startItem = 0;
var s5_if_thumbs_maskout = $('s5_if_thumbs_maskout').setStyle('left',(s5_startItem*68-568)+'px').setOpacity(0.8);
var fxOptions7 = {duration:tween_time, transition:Fx.Transitions.Expo.easeIn, wait:false}

var thumbsFx = new Fx.Style(s5_if_thumbs_maskout,'left',fxOptions7);
var hs7 = new noobSlide({
size: 950,
box: $('s5_if_innerbox'),
items: [0,1,2],
autoPlay: true,
handles: $ES('span','s5_if_thumbs_handlesout'),
fxOptions: fxOptions7,
buttons: {previous: $('s5_prev'), play: $('s5_play'), stop: $('s5_stop'), next: $('s5_next')},
button_event: 'click',
interval: 8000,
onWalk: function(currentItem){
thumbsFx.start(currentItem*68-568);},s5_startItem: s5_startItem}); hs7.walk(0); }

window.setTimeout(s5_load_image_slide,400);

</script>

I could modify the code on mine if you think that might be the problem...but I don't know where to find that Javascript file...

Thanks for your help,
Charlie
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 08:46:54 PM by Charles Walker » Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 05:48:30 PM »

Yes you could try that, actually I would but be sure to add the code that was added below it too which activates the function:

window.setTimeout(s5_load_image_slide,400);
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
stormanf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 34



« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2013, 07:59:04 AM »

Okay Jonah, I'll try adding that line of code...but in what directory do I find the Javascript file? And what's it named? I viewed it on the web page using Firebug, but I have no idea where it was called from!
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2013, 01:27:06 PM »

Its in the php file for the image slide module
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
stormanf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 34



« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2013, 04:31:12 PM »

Thanks for the filename, Jonah. I have added the line of code which you suggested to the file, but the image slide module still doesn't work. I have therefore attached the mod_s5_imageslide.php file, and am open to any other suggestions!

Is it possible to reinstall the imageslide module? I'm out of ideas!

Charlie
Logged
stormanf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 34



« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2013, 06:42:03 PM »

Okay. I deleted the S5_imageslide module and downloaded the version mod_s5_imageslide.zip and installed it. I took the module off the home page and have put it on http://edgarcaycecanada.com/home-mainmenu/webmaster-s-pages/s5-sliding-images.html  ? However, when I went to that page, it was blank, and no source code would display.

So I turned on "Development" Error Reporting in the Global Configuration panel and got the following errors:


Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jomdefender/jomdefender.php on line 16

Strict Standards: Declaration of JParameter::loadSetupFile() should be compatible with that of JRegistry::loadSetupFile() in /home/eccanada/public_html/libraries/joomla/html/parameter.php on line 0

Strict Standards: Non-static method plgSystemJomDefender::timer_start() should not be called statically in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jomdefender/jomdefender.php on line 841

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jomdefender/jomdefender.php on line 94

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jomdefender/jomdefender.php on line 95

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jomdefender/jomdefender.php on line 96

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jomdefender/jomdefender.php on line 97

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jcemediabox/jcemediabox.php on line 331

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/eccanada/public_html/plugins/system/jcemediabox/jcemediabox.php on line 136

Notice: Undefined variable: mainframe in /home/eccanada/public_html/modules/mod_s5_imageslide/tmpl/default.php on line 59

Fatal error: Call to a member function addCustomHeadTag() on a non-object in /home/eccanada/public_html/modules/mod_s5_imageslide/tmpl/default.php on line 59


Looks like I'm stuck...!
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2013, 12:14:27 PM »

The URL you gave in this last post is requiring a login for that page?
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
stormanf
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 34



« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2013, 01:02:16 PM »

Hi Jonah, Sorry about the URL. This one should work -- but it will only give you a blank page:
http://edgarcaycecanada.com/Extensions/s5-image-slide.html
(If I turn on Development Error Reporting, the page will display the error report I sent in my last note to you.)

I'm wondering if I can successfully reinstall the S5 Image Slide module? As I mentioned, I have already deleted the installed version and then downloaded and installed a new verson. (First I installed the "v2-current" version, but though enabled, it would not show up in the Module Manager -- so I then installed the "v2 - Joomla 1.5.X" version; it shows up all right, but causes the page to crash.

Are all the Image Slide files located in the modules/mod_s5_imageslide folder? Or are files called from elsewhere?
I do have cPanel backup files for the Joomla site, although I would lose some recent data if I reinstalled the entire site.

Just as a reminder, I also recently upgraded from Joomla 2.5.9 to 2.5.11.
« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 01:05:45 PM by Charles Walker » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.