Forum Support

Shape 5
May 18, 2021, 11:36:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: SITESHAPER - WORDPRESS installation of CYAN  (Read 1355 times)
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« on: May 08, 2013, 08:59:22 PM »

Hello,

I've tested installation of cyan a number of times on local server with PHP 5.4.10  installation.

I keep getting same error installation regardless of using Firefox or Safari Browser.

Please advise.

Also only 1 bottom module is present the rest are missing with the site shaper download.
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2013, 07:00:24 AM »

I am deleting the other topic you created regarding the shaper installation and quoting it here as it is just a block of text.
Quote from: axxa4cbb4c date=1368052379
WordPress database error: [You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ':'' + addy60522 + ''\''>''); document.write(addy60522); document.write(''<\/' at line 2]
REPLACE INTO `wp_options` (`option_id`, `option_name`, `option_value`, `autoload`) VALUES (87, 'widget_text', 'a:42:{i:76...
--snip--

The error appears to be caused by the "Contact Us" text widget from the demo.  I'll have to look at the shaper a little closer to see what I can do about that bug.

The problem with missing widgets is most likely caused by the same bug; the place where the error is occurring is in the block of code that injects the text widget content into the database, which means the error is preventing the text widgets from being created (and they are over 90% of the widget-based content).

I'll take a look at the shaper data file and see what I can do, but it might be a little while before I can fix it.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2013, 08:41:24 AM »

OK... I installed wordpress  using the latest download from that organization.  And then imported Shape5's cyan template.  Having difficulty in figuring out how to position widgets. Are there any tutorials?

Thank-you for your time.

Logged
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2013, 10:21:23 AM »

Hello Tristan...

My expectations when I bought the word press template yesterday was that it was as is. 

I am not a developer, i don't know firebug and need to see how the widgets and code was created in the demo site for me to move forward.


I have a deadline to finish this wordpress site.  Could you suggest solutions as to how I can get the wordpress file that is in the demo to install on my local server.  Dropbox would be great.

Otherwise attached 1/2 images from site for which I need code and what type of widgets were created so that it would come out like it did on demo.


Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2013, 06:57:20 AM »

Please re-download the shaper and try the install again; I made an edit to the database injection script that may have fixed the bug.

Also:

I am removing the additional thread you created that is identical to your last post, and the other one that should have been just an additional post in the same thread.  Do Not continue creating duplicate posts.  Posting the same thing twice does not increase your chances of being answered - I am the only WP team member, I do all the WP programming and support.  By posting the same thing multiple times, you are just giving me extra unnecessary work and delaying me from providing the support you want.

If something is unrelated, it makes sense to create a new topic, but if you do, don't post the same thing in a second place.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2013, 06:59:29 AM by Tristan Rineer » Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2013, 07:54:39 AM »

My sincere apologies.  Your time helping me is very much appreciated. Thank-you so much.

Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2013, 07:55:30 AM »

Did the new shaper download work for you?
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2013, 08:31:49 AM »

Hello,

I just installed the siteshaper:

1. No error message

However the step below does not come up

2.  Follow through the rest of the site shaper setup and click the install sample data at the last screen and the installation is complete! (be sure to rename/remove the installation directory after finishing the install)

3. So the widgets are not there?

4. Plugin:  Shape5 Sample Data Injector - Cyan

Is there instructions on your site for this?
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2013, 08:34:14 AM »

That final step is no longer necessary in most Vertex Themes, I was able to create an override that would inject the sample data without needing user input.

Is everything appearing correctly after the fresh shaper installation?

The plugin is just a way to "reset" back to the demo settings, and should be removed to prevent accidental activation once you start making changes to your site and have content you don't want to lose.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2013, 08:35:47 AM by Tristan Rineer » Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2013, 08:39:42 AM »

Attached is an image of the frontage on my local server:

1.  The top widget that has 4 images (2 columns, 2 rows) + text not there.

2.  Sliders has no content

3. Bottowrow_3 only has quick menu ...

4.  The other widgets with

a) DEMO INFORMATION
b) EVENTS THIS MONTH
c) CONTACT US
d) BEST PHOTOS THIS MONTH
Logged
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2013, 08:40:49 AM »

Attached is an image of the frontage on my local server:

1.  The top widget that has 4 images (2 columns, 2 rows) + text not there.

2.  Sliders has no content

3. Bottowrow_3 only has quick menu ...

4.  The other widgets below are not there

a) DEMO INFORMATION
b) EVENTS THIS MONTH
c) CONTACT US
d) BEST PHOTOS THIS MONTH

Logged
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2013, 08:46:28 AM »

Its the widgets from the prior posts that are puzzling:

How do one make them?

1. Page? Post? Text Widget?

Your help would be much appreciated.

Thank-you.

Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2013, 08:57:32 AM »

Everything that appears to be missing is text widgets.  It appears that the bug in the shaper is because of some javascript that didn't get stored in the database correctly.

You said you're working on a localhost server, right?  If you were able to provide FTP and login information, I'd be able to test and tweak until the shaper works correctly, which would be much faster. 

Since you said you've got a deadline, the fastest thing to do would be for you to install Firebug and just use that to copy/paste the html from the demo into new text widgets in the locations where you need them.

For me to provide the HTML, I'd just be doing the exact same thing (using firebug), so it would be much faster if you did it, because you know exactly what you do/don't need.  This tutorial  shows how to copy HTML using Firebug, just paste it into a text widget in the correct position, and you're set.

...I hope that helps!
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
axxa4cbb4c
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 64



« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2013, 09:25:45 AM »

Great... I will use the firebug solution to copy code.  I think I understand how to position widgets.

THANK-yOU!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.