Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline beachman
Free Member
Posts: 33
Posted on: June 11, 2013, 03:44:51 PM

Hello,

I might not understanding something right here. I am using the Sienna theme and I try to figure out with the instructions on the demo page to get my images and text in top row 1.1. like in the demo.

As I understand it I publish the S5 tab show to top row 1.1. Then you write in the demo text: ...start publishing widgets to the positions in the image slide sidebars; these widgets will become the slides. Be sure to do them in order, not Slide #1 and then Slide #4. Be sure they are in sequential order.

What do you mean exactly with that? I can?t figure out my next steps. Do I use the image slide widget, fill out the link to image and then save it at which widget position? top row 1.1?, Image slide #1? or tab show #1?  Everything I tried out so far, didn?t work so far?

Also you have this orange frame around the image in demo. When I publish to the position, I just get a white frame.

You also show a sample code in your demo. Does it mean, to get the same results like in the demo I have to type some code?

I am stuck.

Thanks
Steve
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 12, 2013, 10:21:42 AM

Hello,

I might not understanding something right here. I am using the Sienna theme and I try to figure out with the instructions on the demo page to get my images and text in top row 1.1. like in the demo.

As I understand it I publish the S5 tab show to top row 1.1. Then you write in the demo text: ...start publishing widgets to the positions in the image slide sidebars; these widgets will become the slides. Be sure to do them in order, not Slide #1 and then Slide #4. Be sure they are in sequential order.

What do you mean exactly with that? I can?t figure out my next steps. Do I use the image slide widget, fill out the link to image and then save it at which widget position? top row 1.1?, Image slide #1? or tab show #1?  Everything I tried out so far, didn?t work so far?

   As you thought, the widget goes into Top Row 1.1, but tab show and image slide are 2 different widgets, since you posted to the image slide board, I'm assuming you're wanting to use image slide. 
   
   1. Place the ImageSlide widget in Top Row 1.1
   2. Select either Image Mode or Widget Mode, and fill out the other settings as needed
   3a. If you selected image mode, fill out the image URLs
   3b. If you selected widget mode, place the desired widgets into the "ImageSlide - Slide #x" positions in order from first to last
   4. That's it.

Also you have this orange frame around the image in demo. When I publish to the position, I just get a white frame.

   The orange border in the demo is the "Style2" widget style, you just need to set that in the widget settings for the ImageSlide widget.

You also show a sample code in your demo. Does it mean, to get the same results like in the demo I have to type some code?

   The sample code will allow you to use widget mode to make slides that look similar to the demo, but you don't need to use it if you're just displaying images with no text. 
Logged

Offline beachman
Free Member
Posts: 33
Posted on: June 13, 2013, 08:00:07 AM

Dear Tristan,

thank you very much for your support. In fact I want to have the style looking like in the demo. I am working on this for almost two days now. I thought the Image & content fader would do the job, but it doesn?t. The text is not in the image like in the demo, so I am back at this Image slide thing and try to figure out how the widget mode works.

1. I put the Image Slide widget Top row 1.1. - done
2. Select widget mode - done
3. But which which widget  I can place now in the named ImageSlide # 1 to X" to get the same effect like in the demo? I want the headline in there in the image like you did in the demo and then link it to my article. Do I have to write the code somewhere or can I do everything with one or two widgets, who will do the job for me?

And one more thing. The confusion with the S5 tab in this matter comes from your own tutorial text in the Sienna demo at the Image Slide site: There it says: Simply install and publish the s5 tab show plugin to your desired sidebar position and pages. Then start publishing widgets to the positions in the image slide sidebars;

If the S5tab show plugin is named wrong there, then you guys should be more careful with writing the tutorials. It?s massive confusing. If it is right there than you also need to write better instructions, because I don?t understand how to get it fixed like in the demo. Showing the code there in the demo doesn?t explain much. Naming the S5 tab show widget but not saying what it does there either. At least not to me. I hope I am not the only one who has problems to understand it, how this can be done. And if I need to write the code myself it is okay, you just should mention that clearer and that this effect can?t be reached with widgets. Saves a lot of time.

You are all experts, but you should look more at it from the customers side. Not every customer of yours is a developer. I am willing to learn and learn every step on the way. I figure a lot of things out by myself, but if the instructions are not clear enough or not detailed enough I getting stuck and have to write a lot of posts here.

Thanks again for your support and understanding.
Steve
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 13, 2013, 10:50:54 AM

Dear Tristan,

thank you very much for your support. In fact I want to have the style looking like in the demo. I am working on this for almost two days now. I thought the Image & content fader would do the job, but it doesn?t. The text is not in the image like in the demo, so I am back at this Image slide thing and try to figure out how the widget mode works.

1. I put the Image Slide widget Top row 1.1. - done
2. Select widget mode - done
3. But which which widget  I can place now in the named ImageSlide # 1 to X" to get the same effect like in the demo? I want the headline in there in the image like you did in the demo and then link it to my article. Do I have to write the code somewhere or can I do everything with one or two widgets, who will do the job for me?

And one more thing. The confusion with the S5 tab in this matter comes from your own tutorial text in the Sienna demo at the Image Slide site: There it says: Simply install and publish the s5 tab show plugin to your desired sidebar position and pages. Then start publishing widgets to the positions in the image slide sidebars;

If the S5tab show plugin is named wrong there, then you guys should be more careful with writing the tutorials. It?s massive confusing. If it is right there than you also need to write better instructions, because I don?t understand how to get it fixed like in the demo. Showing the code there in the demo doesn?t explain much. Naming the S5 tab show widget but not saying what it does there either. At least not to me. I hope I am not the only one who has problems to understand it, how this can be done. And if I need to write the code myself it is okay, you just should mention that clearer and that this effect can?t be reached with widgets. Saves a lot of time.

   Thanks for pointing out the problem with the demo content.  I don't write the content, I just copy it over from the Joomla demos and update the wording to be accurate for WordPress; sometimes I miss things.  I've fixed that wording on the Sienna demo, so hopefully nobody else will be confused by it.
   
   As for the slide content - yes, you need to use the code example from the demo and put it into a text widget in the sidebar for whichever tab you want it on. 

   Example:
   
   
Code:
<div onclick="window.document.location.href='http://www.example.com'" style="cursor:pointer; background:url(path/to/yourimage.jpg); width:583px; height:305px">
<div class="s5_image_slide_text_large">
Title text goes here
</div>
<div style="clear:both;height:0px"></div>
<div class="s5_image_slide_text_small">
Non-title slide text goes here...
</div>
</div>
   
   Hopefully that helps.
   
You are all experts, but you should look more at it from the customers side. Not every customer of yours is a developer. I am willing to learn and learn every step on the way. I figure a lot of things out by myself, but if the instructions are not clear enough or not detailed enough I getting stuck and have to write a lot of posts here.

Thanks again for your support and understanding.
Steve

   I completely understand, I'm constantly trying to improve the WordPress releases to be more friendly towards non-developers as that's what WP is more geared towards; the problem is that Joomla is more geared towards developers, and because of that, the Joomla releases are as well.  Because I create the WP releases by reprogramming the Joomla ones, it's taking a while to figure out all the custom programming I need to do in order to get releases to a level more geared towards the standard WordPress user.  I've added a lot of custom code already, but there's obviously a lot more I need to work on before I can be completely happy with every release.
   
   I can only hope that I'm able to be helpful enough on the forum until I've improved things to a point where my help is no longer needed.
Logged

Offline beachman
Free Member
Posts: 33
Posted on: June 14, 2013, 12:16:58 AM

Hi Tristan,

before you answered I was trying to figure out things myself and I got to the point where we our now together on the same page.

But one thing I still won?t understand. In your code for the text widget you have at the beginning the line:

<div onclick="window.document.location.href='http://www.example.com'

Here you have named the Url: www.example.com, in your tutorial text is with href='http://www.yourlink.com, which is a dating platform. But what really needs to be referred to here? To the demosite of the Sienna?, to my own homepage? Which reference is meant here?

Because when I looked under the roof of the demo of Sienna, there is this only a code without any reference to a website and no window.document.location. (What ever this is anyway?):

<div onclick="" style="cursor:pointer; background: url('http://shape5.com/demo/sienna//images/is_1.jpg');width:583px;height:305px"

If you explain this I might be able to continue.

Thanks and best regards
Steve

Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 15, 2013, 09:53:17 AM

Hi Tristan,

before you answered I was trying to figure out things myself and I got to the point where we our now together on the same page.

But one thing I still won?t understand. In your code for the text widget you have at the beginning the line:

<div onclick="window.document.location.href='http://www.example.com'

Here you have named the Url: www.example.com, in your tutorial text is with href='http://www.yourlink.com, which is a dating platform. But what really needs to be referred to here? To the demosite of the Sienna?, to my own homepage? Which reference is meant here?

     I didn't create the demo content, but I'm sure "yourlink.com" wouldn't have been used if it had been known that it's a dating site.  It simply means "put your link here", that's where you put the URL you want to link to, if any.

Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.024 seconds with 21 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.