Forum Support

Shape 5
May 11, 2021, 01:59:50 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting slideshow set up and replacing Title  (Read 454 times)
willte
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« on: November 29, 2013, 12:40:13 AM »

Hey Everyone,

Unfortunately I'm really struggling getting this Template to look the way I want, any help would be much appreciated. I'm a relative novice on Joomla, so I'm sure this is a big part of the problem!

First off, how do I implement the slideshow? I can't see any modules that intuitively suggest where I begin.

Secondly, how I do I get rid of the Sports Nation logo at the top and replace with my own Title?

Best Regards

Will
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2013, 07:49:01 PM »

Hello,

1) I would suggest installing the Site Shaper and referencing off all the demo content. The Slideshow you are referring to is called the S5 Image and Content Fader v3 and can be downloaded from our Free Extensions directory. All the settings used in the demo will be reflected on the Site Shaper

2) You just need to replace the s5_logo.png file on the server with your own logo file

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
willte
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2013, 01:05:30 AM »

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your response. Just a few follow on questions:

1) Cool, but I already have Joomla installed on my GoDaddy hosting account. If I use the site shaper, I understand it just installs Joomla on my computer, so is it possible to move it across?

2) I'm not going to have an img file logo for now, is there anywhere I can just enter text such that it's formatted in the style of the website?

Will
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2013, 02:22:49 AM »

Hello,

1) The Site Shaper can be installed on a live server without any issues. It is the same as installing a standard Joomla installation package. We have a video tutorial that explains how to do this here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L26TnhFb4Ag

2) You can use a module in the logo position instead and just use Custom HTML formatting for it. Then you can have the text display however you want.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
willte
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2013, 05:57:21 PM »

Thanks Mike, I have now set that up with one slight problem.

I had previously been building my website using the template. When I now go to www.myurl.com it still takes me to the website I was designing with the template.

If I go to www.myurl.com/sportsnation it takes me to the website I'm designing using the site shaper.

How do I get so that when I go to www.myurl.com I takes me to the website I'm designing with the site shaper?

I really appreciate all the help you've given me so far!
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2013, 01:58:41 AM »

Hello,

This means you installed the Site Shaper to a sub directory of your site. If you want it to appear for the main URL you would need to extract all the Site Shaper files to the "root" level of your server.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
willte
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2013, 07:49:30 PM »

Thanks for your help Mike.

I tried reinstalling the site shaper on the root folder but it seems it's clashing with the Template that I installed initially. When I type in www.myurl.com it still takes me to the Template version of my website.

Basically I've been through three steps now:

1) Installing the Template version on the root folder, after pre installing joomla software on my hosting account
2) Installing the site shaper version on the sub directory sportsnation
3) Installing the site shaper version on the root directory

So really my question is how do I undo step 1 and 2 so that when I perform 3, I get taken to the site shaper version when I type myurl.com?



Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2013, 10:33:00 PM »

Hello,

Just delete all the files in the root directory and reinstall all the files there on a fresh database. Then when you type your URL it will bring up the Joomla Installation page.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
willte
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2013, 11:42:24 PM »

Thanks Mike, that's now done!

I'm still struggling to try and change the logo. I can't find the relevant module where I can sub out the default logo and sub in my own. Please could you tell me where this is?
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2013, 12:47:20 AM »

Hello,

It's called from the s5_logo.png file in the /images folder on the server.

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.