Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


1 [2] 3 4

Offline mikenicoll
Free Member
Posts: 20162 WWW
Posted on: January 06, 2014, 05:33:19 PM

Hello,

I left both my computer and laptop with the Helion Template on the frontal view for around 4 hours today and have still not been able to replicate this crashing behavior. On my main computer I tested this with Chrome Version 31.0.1650.63m (Win7) and on my laptop I was using Firefox 26 (Win8)

One thing to note is that we haven't added any new scripts or extensions to the Template and it shares the same Framework as all our previous Vertex Themes. There is no reason it would happen on the Helion Template specifically but not all our other ones since the only thing that really differs is the CSS between them. Also the script in your screenshot that is "unresponsive" is part of the Joomla core itself and isn't provided by the Template Files.

media/jui/js/jquery.min.js:4

I have also had 4 of other other administrators run this test on their systems and none of them could replicate a crash in the browser or get any type of error log output. This leads me to believe that the issue is probably caused by:

a) A browser related setting such as in FF where the dom.max_script_run_time is set to 10 where it can be increased to reduce the amount of time it takes for the browser to consider a script "non responisve"

b) An extension or browser plugin that is causing a conflict with the sites javascript. This could be something such as a 3rd party search toolbar for example.

c) Some other security software enabled on the computer either blocking or conflicting with the scripts

Here are a few things to try:

1) Make sure your computer is up to date with the latest Updates such as Windows Updates and Browser Updates

2) Completely remove and reinstall the most recent version of the browsers to your computer with default settings and no extensions enabled

3) Try running the tests on multiple systems to see if it is related to a specific system.

4) Post a bug report on Joomla.org pointing to that JS file with some information how to replicate to see if they can also run some additional tests.

Hopefully some of that will help in resolving the crashing problem for both of you. If you get any more information that you think would be relevant in debugging this please let us know!

Regards,

-Mike





« Last Edit: January 06, 2014, 05:36:06 PM by mikenicoll »
Logged

Offline lousyfool
Free Member
Posts: 19
Posted on: January 06, 2014, 10:11:04 PM

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your reply, you guys trying to reproduce the problem is much appreciated. Though in a way it's kinda unfortunate that you don't experience the same issue, of course... Wink

Going through your list of things, here some more food for thought, and at the end there is maybe a hint towards the cause of the trouble, indeed, thanks to a point you've made.

General:
Sure, the fact that you can't reproduce it and there are no more than 3 (!) reports here and now indicates that it's an isolated problem, most likely depending on a specific environment or browser setting or plugin. But us 3 here could as well be only the tip of an iceberg... the few who are getting back to you here...

1) - 3):
I've been running my own install as well as your demo site on another Mac with "virgin" Firefox 26 and Safari 6.1.1.
Same effects: In both browsers the animations on the Helion homepage have first stalled. Then FF gave me the warning as per my recent attachment, and since clicking on "stop" I only see the OS X beach ball spinning. Safari didn't bother giving me any warning, but has as well stopped responding. Even force-quitting the browsers was a major act since the OS had gone into extreme slow motion...

Not sure if relevant, but please note that the crashes happened latest after clicking around on the homepage a bit - e.g. clicks on the accordion thingies, mouse over main menu, etc. Actually, I'm not even sure if the problems would occur if the homepage was loaded and then left alone without any activity.

However, while I'm on a local Mac/MAMP install, users Rokk and Marialee are on different web hosts and various OS's and browsers. I do not have any Windows PC here to see how it'd deal with the problem in this part of the world. But anyway, we have no control over what gear and browsers/plugins visitors of our websites will be using, and asking them to re-install their browser clean is not practical at all. So, other than for the purpose of finding the cause of the trouble, I fear your advice 1) - 3) is not helpful, especially since, again, even my clean browsers crashed, too.

On to 4), which was good because searching the Joomla forums produced something, maybe. I'm not the expert, so please forgive my amateurish attempt to explain:

You stating,
Quote
we haven't added any new scripts or extensions to the Template and it shares the same Framework as all our previous Vertex Themes
plus the fact that many people with custom JS scripts had trouble with J3.2.x seems to be pointing towards the cause, IMHO. Helion Site Launcher comes with J3.2.x, but if you haven't altered your JS scripts (or the order in which your loading them, respectively), then problems can happen, seemingly. The key seems to be in the "noconflict" script loading/handling, and with you having one as part of the template as well as Joomla having one natively, it seems to be easy for things to get messy.
Please see the following threads:
I have not tried e.g. the deletion of a "noconflict" script file yet. In the interest of others here, and probably yours as well, I thought I'll check with you first. Again, please keep in mind that I'm no expert, and have also not bothered comparing your code in previous and actual templates:

Perhaps you could verify and confirm that your scripts have been adjusted to those specific JS requirements of J3.2.x as per mention in the Joomla forums since you claim compatibility with J3.2.x? If such adjustments have not been made, it is likely no wonder if your code doesn't work well with J3.2.x...

Admittedly, it wouldn't explain why you can't reproduce the problem... unless you (a) used Joomla 3.1.6 or older, and/or (b) only loaded the homepage but didn't click anywhere (see hint above).

Anyway, thanks for continuing digging into it. I do like the Helion template very much and intend to build an e-commerce site with it... if it works, that is... Wink
Logged

Offline mikenicoll
Free Member
Posts: 20162 WWW
Posted on: January 06, 2014, 11:25:13 PM

Hello,

Thanks I will review your information with our team and see if we can use that to replicate. Also, I didn't mean we haven't updated our Templates to be 3.2.X compatible. What I meant by that was all our vertex themes use the same framework and most of them use the same extensions with different styling. So theoretically it should be happening on more than just Helion if it was a Framework issue and we would see more reports.

Either way perhaps we can use that information to determine a cause. I'll keep you both posted.

Regards,

Mike
Logged

Offline lousyfool
Free Member
Posts: 19
Posted on: January 06, 2014, 11:33:04 PM

Thanks Mike.

Quick update: I deleted the file mydomain/templates/helion/js/jquery/jquery-noconflict.js, reloaded the page, played a bit with it, then let it sit there - and since then it is all working fine. Maybe still too early to finally confirm (just over 30 mins), but yet no more crashing, so maybe this is it, indeed... FWIW in your investigations.

(For the record, I'm referring to the Site Launcher install which was then updated to J3.2.1.)
« Last Edit: January 06, 2014, 11:34:40 PM by lousyfool »
Logged

Offline lousyfool
Free Member
Posts: 19
Posted on: January 07, 2014, 12:47:29 AM

Urgh... I was too quick or too optimistic: Firefox just began misbehaving again, also with the jquery-noconflict.js file removed.

Sorry for any false hope. Booohoooooo...  Cry


Thanks Mike.

Quick update: I deleted the file mydomain/templates/helion/js/jquery/jquery-noconflict.js, reloaded the page, played a bit with it, then let it sit there - and since then it is all working fine. Maybe still too early to finally confirm (just over 30 mins), but yet no more crashing, so maybe this is it, indeed... FWIW in your investigations.

(For the record, I'm referring to the Site Launcher install which was then updated to J3.2.1.)
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: January 07, 2014, 09:08:37 AM

Hello,

I don't see how no-conflict mode could have any effect on this. All that script does is call jquery's default function:

jQuery.noConflict();

That function is a core jquery function that can be called as many times on a page as necessary. It has no effect on the page at all except that it allows multiple versions of jquery to be run on the same page and it allows jquery to run on the same page as mootools. If the the no-conflict code was out of order it would cause immediate javascript errors on the page, not something delayed, because javascript loads on page load, it's not a timed event. Please note that this doesn't have anything to do with the version of Joomla, this about jquery calls. The issues in the posts were about a newer version of jquery being introduced in 3.2 which caused immediate javascript errors on page load, not a timed issue.

The issues you are experiencing are time issues, not javascript issues. If there was an issue with the version of jquery, or a missing function, or an issue of conflicting script calls or function calls, there would be a javascript error on the page immediately after page load. It's just how javascript works; nothing is timed delayed in javascript unless you have specific window timeout calls, which we do not, and even then those are no more than a few seconds not 30 or 60 minutes later.

Can I ask if it happens for you on any other pages other than the homepage? Try an inner page with very little on it, ie: no modules. Maybe we can narrow it down that way, and then gradually add modules to the page until the problem occurs. I wish we could replicate it on our end but every attempt we've done has yielded no results showing the problem.
Logged

Offline lousyfool
Free Member
Posts: 19
Posted on: January 07, 2014, 11:49:09 AM

Told ya I'm not an expert, haha!

Thanks for the explanations. So, now we know one more thing that does NOT cause it. Hopefully spiralling down to the real reason quickly...

I've left Helion open in Firefox 26 and resting for hours on two Macs, this time the page "92 module positions". Not really a page "with very little on it", but no animations as on the homepage. These were the same machines (and browsers, of course) that had come to an almost complete standstill multiple times previously with the same site from the same source. Had done a few mouse-overs on the main menu, then let them sit there. When coming back, both were as fresh and alive as when I left them alone. No effect with this page loaded.

Hope it helps.
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: January 07, 2014, 12:31:36 PM

Hello,

That's at least a step in the right direction. Would you mind publishing one module at a time (the ones from the homepage) on those pages on your copy of the site shaper? Hopefully by adding one at a time, maybe we can narrow it down that way.
Logged

Offline lousyfool
Free Member
Posts: 19
Posted on: January 08, 2014, 05:11:16 AM

How come I knew you'd ask that...  Cheesy

Ok, had rather expected unpublishing one by one from the homepage, but been following your suggestion. So, here's what I've done, all based on that out-of-the-box Helion Site Launcher, only updated to latest J3.2.1, run under MAMP Pro 2.2 in FF 26.0:

(1) Assigned the "S5 Vertical Accordion" (Coming Soon To Theaters) also to the menu item "92 Module Positions", then loading this page in FF on Mac #1, played around with the accordion for a bit, then let it sit there.
(2) Created a new menu item "test" with only the same single article (Module Positions and Styles), ordered to be located right next to the menu item "92 Module Positions" (as if it mattered, haha). Assigned only the "S5 Image and Content Fader" also to this menu item, then loading this page in FF on Mac #2, played around with the Fader for a bit, then let it sit there.
(3) Ditto for a new menu item "test2", except I assigned only the "S5 Tab Show" also to this menu item, then loading this page in FF on Mac #3, played around with the Tab Show for a bit, then let it sit there.

Results:
  • After a while, the S5 Image Content Fader on Mac #2 stopped working, FF turned completely unresponsive, the entire OS had gone into ultra-slow motion, even force-quitting FF took forever with lots of beach ball spinning in between clicks.
  • Vertical Accordion and Tab Show on Macs #1 and #3 continued to perform flawlessly even much beyond that point in time.

So, it appears that the S5 Image and Content Fader is the culprit. If you want me to perform more tests, please let me know. You may also email modified PHP or JS or whatever files to me at my email address here in my profile. Alternatively, I can install the site under one of my domains on a web server and give you admin and FTP access for you to modify and me to test.
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: January 08, 2014, 07:37:23 AM

Hello,

Thank you for that information. I'll review the js of the image and content fader module and get back with you with anything I find.
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: January 08, 2014, 08:40:17 AM

Hello,

Would you be willing to test the homepage of our Velocity demo as well? Both templates use the same files, the only difference is css. I'm just curious if it's on both demos or not, to help debug this further.
Logged

Offline lousyfool
Free Member
Posts: 19
Posted on: January 08, 2014, 02:39:43 PM

Ok, done that as well: Downloaded the current Velocity Site Launcher, installed it under MAMP. In an effort to compare apples and apples, I upgraded Joomla from 3.1.5 which Velocity comes with to 3.2.1 via the backend link. Like originally with Helion, no other mods or add-ons.
Loaded the homepage in FF, played a bit with the usual JS suspects, then watched a movie. Now, more than 1.5hrs later, everything is working still just as fine as when I left it.

And I'm not too surprised because I've been working with Velocity before, though under J3.1.5, not 3.2.x.

Don't shoot me, I'm just the messenger.

Now what...
Logged

Offline mikenicoll
Free Member
Posts: 20162 WWW
Posted on: January 08, 2014, 07:47:39 PM

Hello,

Can you run your test on Helion with the Image Slide and Accordion Menu extensions disabled to see if this helps? Those are the only 2 scripts active on Helion Home Page that aren't active on Velocity. Since you said its working on Velocity they are going to be using the same scripts so doing this test will help isolate if its one of those two.

-Mike
Logged

Offline lousyfool
Free Member
Posts: 19
Posted on: January 09, 2014, 09:14:46 AM

Yup, done. In the Extension Manager, I disabled both Image Slide and Accordion Menu, then the usual routine: Load the homepage in FF, a bit of mouse action with the remaining elements, then let it sit. When checking after a while, animations were slower and jerky. After another while I came back to the "Warning: Unresponsive script". So, that was it for this round of testing...  Sad
(Not sure if it helps, but please note that I had not experienced the warning in recent tests. Since the last timeI had mentioned it , FF as well as OS X would simply come to a "halt" without this warning. It popped up only now in this configuration again, and at least the OS remains responsive.)

You're the experts, but to me it looks as if the Image and Content Fader is the culprit in Helion for some reason, as strange as it may appear to you. Whatever the comparison with other templates calls for, in Helion
  • it's the two pages which it's published to that stall, and no other page,
  • and since I unpublished (not even disabled) it in another Helion install for my project, this other site runs hassle-free.

Maybe against all odds and your expectations some bug has slipped into the Image and Content Fader in Helion...
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: January 09, 2014, 01:29:02 PM

Hello,

That's just it, there is absolutely nothing different between the files in Velocity and Helion as for the image and content fader, they are identical. Only the template.css file has overrides for the css to stylize them differently, which would effect the functionality.

I have a developer who has a Mac is currently trying to replicate this on his end. I'll let you know the results.

Thanks for your patience.
Logged
1 [2] 3 4

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.036 seconds with 22 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.