Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline elliottben
Free Member
Posts: 39
Posted on: January 23, 2014, 01:02:23 PM

I'm using Yoast SEO to change my site's title tags, but no matter what they come up as 'page name' [on] 'site name'
http://triadtestsite.com/first-ohio/contact-us

I found the file where this is happening: /wp-content/themes/s5_paradigm_shift/vertex/cms_core_functions.php

But I'm not sure how to fix it. I changed themes and the titles displayed correctly, so I think this is an issue with the Shape5 theme.

Please check and let me know how to get custom page titles to show up.

Thanks
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: January 24, 2014, 09:20:28 AM

I am working on a patch that I hope to have finished this week and I will see what I can do about restoring the "default" WP head meta for it.
Logged

Offline elliottben
Free Member
Posts: 39
Posted on: January 24, 2014, 10:00:56 AM

Thanks. Please let me know if you find a solution for this.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: January 27, 2014, 08:57:35 AM

I will post to the Wordpress FAQ as soon as the patch is ready.
Logged

Offline elliottben
Free Member
Posts: 39
Posted on: February 07, 2014, 11:14:49 AM

Hi Tristan,

Have you made any progress on this? We're getting close to going live with the site and this SEO issue is one of the last items holding us back.

Thanks,
Elliott
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: February 07, 2014, 04:16:49 PM

I still haven't sorted out what needs to be changed to improve that compatibility, but the function that defines the header meta is s5_head_call() in /vertex/cms_core_functions.php.

If you figure out a good way to make it work, post it back here, and I'll include it in the next framework update.
Logged

Offline elliottben
Free Member
Posts: 39
Posted on: February 13, 2014, 04:46:23 PM

Ok. I fixed it. Here is the fix for other people who are having this issue:

- Open file /wp-content/themes/s5_paradigm_shift/index.php
- Add the line
Code:
<title><?php wp_title(''); ?></title>
directly beneath the head tag

- Open the file  /wp-content/themes/s5_paradigm_shift/vertex/cms_core_functions.php
- In the function s5_head_call comment out the part that is adding the title tag:
Code:
/*
$header_html = '<title>';
if(strlen(get_post_meta($post->ID, '_s5_outer_title', true) >= 2)){
$header_html .= get_post_meta($post->ID, '_s5_outer_title', true).' on ';}
elseif(is_home() && strlen(s5_get_option('xml_s5_blog_heading')) >= 2){
$header_html .= s5_get_option('xml_s5_blog_heading').' on ';}
else{$header_html .= the_title('',' on ',false);}
$header_html .= get_bloginfo('title');
$header_html .= '</title>';
*/

remove the period from the next line so that the variable $header_html starts fresh:
Code:
$header_html .= '<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; ';
to
Code:
$header_html = '<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; ';

Save files and you're done.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: February 14, 2014, 02:23:29 PM

Thanks!  I'll make the changes to the framework.  I'll have to alter the process so it doesn't require an edit to the index, but I think I've already got an idea. 
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.023 seconds with 22 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.