Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


[1]

Offline sarrene
Free Member
Posts: 89 WWW
Posted on: March 17, 2014, 04:20:33 PM

Hello and good afternoon.

I am trying to sort out an issue i have with the S5 Image and Content Fader  (v3) and ajax search module.

When I have the front page display enabled using the mootools/jquery, the search does not work.
http://www.darkrelic.com/

Try a search for "Neithus" on front page, then try the same search on any other page.

If i switch the effect to legacy, the search works perfectly, however, it is just a rotating image for the Image and Content Fader.

I know this is a conflict with the two, I have contacted the maker, and they refused to help stating it was using joomla's default search scripts. (I do not think that is all it is using).

Please Note: I have also tried three others as well, and all the same effect, no search could be found on the page with the Image and content fader.

I have tried the s5 (I have used that before with no problems). However, it  has issues with the menu z-index when the menu is static on the top.

Any help i can get to help and get this working would be great.

Thank you so much for your time, I greatly appreciate it! More so if we can get these two working together and place nice.

Sarrene'
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: March 18, 2014, 07:17:52 AM

Hello,

I don't see the frontpage display on your site. I would need to be able to see this live in order to debug the problem.
Logged

Offline sarrene
Free Member
Posts: 89 WWW
Posted on: March 18, 2014, 09:07:29 AM

It is very customized (nothing in js files had been touched minus the opacity settings) May have missed it.

However, more likely you went went to the site i was still debugging and testing out what was using mootools and trying to narrow down the conflict a bit more.

It will be up all day today, not removing anything. Smiley

Thank you so much for helping me with this! I appreciate it so much!

Sarrene'
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: March 18, 2014, 11:41:53 AM

Hello,

That is the image and content fader in your picture, not the frontpage display module. I see the IACF live on your site, but I don't see any issues with your search? I am searching for the word "the" and the result box comes up.
Logged

Offline sarrene
Free Member
Posts: 89 WWW
Posted on: March 18, 2014, 03:45:05 PM

From my first post:
Quote
Hello and good afternoon.

I am trying to sort out an issue i have with the S5 Image and Content Fader  (v3) and ajax search module.
Sorry, I just called it a display after my first post since that is what it does. I am sorry for the confusion.

The box comes up, but it always shows "No Results"  (or what ever one wants to change it to in the language file).

However, if you do a search on any other page, you will get results. I suggested Neithus, since that is something that is found throughout the site. (It is the name of our game world).

I do not know why or what is causing no searches to be found when the ICF is enabled using the default settings (not the legacy mode). If I put it to the legacy, it works perfectly.

Thank you again, so VERY much. I appreciate it more than I can say.

Sarrene'
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: March 19, 2014, 07:37:42 AM

Hello,

That's not really something that we can debug, we aren't the developers of this extensions so we wouldn't know how it's coded or how it's supposed to work. The extension is most likely using an external javascript file or improperly calling a library such as jquery, which happens very often with third party extensions. Our extensions work with the core javascript libraries that Joomla provides to avoid conflicts like this. You would need to check with the developer of the extension to have them debug this as I see no javascript conflicts on the page, which leads me to believe that it's an ajax submission problem with the search module.
Logged

Offline sarrene
Free Member
Posts: 89 WWW
Posted on: March 20, 2014, 05:31:33 AM

Good morning,
This is a Rocket Themes module, and funny thing is, this is the same exact  thing they said almost word for word  Grin. Odd thing is, i could not find a js conflict anywhere either. However, it is only with the ICF using the standard mootools options. If I disable the ICF or switch to legacy mode, it works great.

So something between these two do not play nicely with each other.

I would rather use the S5 live search, though it does not have the pagination that this one has. (Hence my request in the other forum). I love how this thing works, 99.9% of the time.

Peace,
Sarrene'
Logged

Offline mikek
Free Member
Posts: 28743 WWW
Posted on: March 20, 2014, 07:21:47 AM

Hello,

I am sorry but I don't know what would cause that other than a conflict from their extension. Like I said above we use the core javascript libraries, I am not sure if RT is using jquery yet on Joomla installs or not.
Logged

Offline sarrene
Free Member
Posts: 89 WWW
Posted on: March 20, 2014, 02:46:39 PM

Aye, that could make a difference for sure. Though they said they do, and i have to talk to you, they tend to say that often.

So I still would like a wishlist for a nice pagination like this one has. If s5 live search had that, I would be using that one in a heartbeat! Smiley

Thanks for looking into it. I was hoping that two heads could figure it out possibly. Ah well. It was worth a try, true?

Thank you again so much, I appreciate it a lot!
Sarrene'
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.026 seconds with 21 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.