Forum Support

Shape 5
November 29, 2021, 05:08:47 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Product menu  (Read 554 times)
jborgman
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 37



« on: April 15, 2014, 11:06:25 AM »

Is the product menu the realtime list of VM categories? Or is it a manually created menu with items to all VM categories?
And in the first scenario, how did you do this?
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2014, 01:51:36 PM »

Hello,

It can be real time, you just would need to publish the VM category menu to the flex menu.  In our demo its just dummy links to show what can be done. 
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
jborgman
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 37



« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2014, 02:24:52 PM »

Hi Jonah,
I am not sure I understand correctly.
Do you mean the 'Category Layout' menu type from the Virtuemart menu type section?
Because when I assign that one to the menu, I do not see the categories as nice submenu items appearing.
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2014, 04:00:57 PM »

No Virtuemart has a category module that you can publish to module positions.  Im referring to this.  Not to the Virtuemart menu item that you can choose to display, category layout, etc
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
jborgman
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 37



« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2014, 02:46:37 AM »

Oh, I see (I think). Then I should publish that module to s5_menu1, and select that positionname in the flexmenu options in the menu?
Is that the way this works?
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2014, 02:43:28 PM »

s5_menu1 or whatever position you have selected in the menu item that will display the module.  On the demo  I think its s5_menu2, s5_menu3, etc.   I think s5_menu1 is used by a sample module under "s5 flex menu" area.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
elleclouds
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 36



« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2014, 08:31:36 AM »

this is very confusing... is there a way to just set up a menu regularly or is it because the flex menu feature?
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2014, 12:59:19 PM »

You can setup a menu regularly in Joomla creating menu items etc but if you want to take a module, like VM category module and stick that in the flex menu you have to do what Im saying and use the menu module positions to do this.

So I recommend this so you don't have to manually create each menu item to each VM category.  Instead the VM category module just pulls all the VM categories and displays them.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.