Forum Support

Shape 5
November 29, 2021, 05:46:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Browser freeze on resize  (Read 503 times)
firebride
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 49



« on: April 22, 2014, 03:47:01 AM »

Is this a responsive issue?

http://www.rooidamcottages.co.za/toetslopie/

I'm using FF, and when I resize my screen to see the responsive template in action, it just freezes!!! Huh

Here is my system stuff:

System Information
Setting   Value
 
PHP Built On   Linux vm01-kearney.webonline.biz 2.6.18-448.4.1.el5.lve0.8.69xen #1 SMP Wed May 8 12:50:40 EEST 2013 x86_64
Database Version   5.5.32-log
Database Collation   utf8_general_ci
PHP Version   5.3.25
Web Server   Apache/2.2.3 (CloudLinux)
WebServer to PHP Interface   apache2handler
Joomla! Version   Joomla! 3.2.3 Stable [ Ember ] 6-March-2014 14:30 GMT
Joomla! Platform Version   Joomla Platform 13.1.0 Stable [ Curiosity ] 24-Apr-2013 00:00 GMT
User Agent   Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:28.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/28.0

Logged
s1m0nde
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 07:41:05 AM »

Hi!
I have the same problem! It happens in FF and Chrome.
(The site is offline at the moment for everybody but the admin so I don?t post the link right now)
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 07:59:23 AM »

Hello,

I tested your site on two machines in several browsers and none of them froze for me. A few things I would suggest:

1. Do you have any third party extensions installed? If so, please disable them to see if makes a chance.

2. Keep in mind that most people will not be resizing the browser, generally that's just for testing the responsive layout. I know that doesn't solve the problem, but it's something to think about, and again I am not able to see this issue.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
s1m0nde
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2014, 08:20:16 AM »

I have no third party extension installed. It is 100% oasis.
Firefox said something about a problem with a script but I clicked it away too fast.  Sad


--> Found it!
A script may be busy or doesn?t answer any more. You can stop the script or continue to see if it comes to an end (Free translation)
Skript: http://die-tierheilpraxis.com/neutierheilpraxis/media/jui/js/jquery.min.js:2

Original:

Ein Skript auf dieser Seite ist eventuell besch?ftigt oder es antwortet nicht mehr. Sie k?nnen das Skript jetzt stoppen oder fortsetzen, um zu sehen, ob das Skript fertig wird.

Skript: http://die-tierheilpraxis.com/neutierheilpraxis/media/jui/js/jquery.min.js:2
« Last Edit: April 22, 2014, 08:23:54 AM by s1m0nde » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2014, 08:24:47 AM »

Hello,

What version of firefox and operating system are you running?
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
s1m0nde
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2014, 08:26:45 AM »

I?m using Windows 8.1
FF has the version 28.0
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2014, 08:36:38 AM »

Hello,

Hmmmmm....that's what I'm doing. I'll see if I can find anything and post back here.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2014, 09:09:14 AM »

Hello,

Can you try making the following change in the template's index.php file and let me know if it works for you?



At the bottom of the index.php file you will find (assuming you're running Joomla 3):


else {
      window.setTimeout(s5_adjust_tab_show,300);
   }
   jQuery(window).resize(s5_adjust_tab_show);
}
}
<?php if ($browser != "ie9") { ?>
   jQuery(document).ready( function() {
      s5_adjust_tab_show();
   });
<?php } ?>
<?php if ($browser == "ie9") { ?>
   window.setTimeout(s5_adjust_tab_show,1000);
<?php } ?>
</script>
<?php } ?>

</body>
</html>


Change that section of the code to this:


else {
      window.setTimeout(s5_adjust_tab_show,300);
   }
}
}
   jQuery(window).resize(s5_adjust_tab_show);
<?php if ($browser != "ie9") { ?>
   jQuery(document).ready( function() {
      s5_adjust_tab_show();
   });
<?php } ?>
<?php if ($browser == "ie9") { ?>
   window.setTimeout(s5_adjust_tab_show,1000);
<?php } ?>
</script>
<?php } ?>

</body>
</html>




Let me know what the results are. That's the only "issue" that I can see, although it's working fine for me with either coding method.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
dani_blues
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 11



« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2014, 01:42:57 PM »

Hy, i got the same problem and after i changed the code it works. Thanks a lot!!!
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2014, 10:57:50 AM »

Glad you got it sorted!

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.