Forum Support

Shape 5
September 28, 2021, 01:22:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: mod s5 weather for J1.5  (Read 2321 times)
silhouette
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



WWW
« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2009, 07:03:38 PM »

OK, for the 95% of the world population who don't live in the USA *wink* this will work (or at least it does for me). Warning: Save all files you are about to edit to a back-up file

1. Drill down to your location on Yahoo Maps http://weather.yahoo.com/
2. Look at the address bar (I live in Melbourne, Australia so it looked like this: http://ther.yahoo.com/Melbourne-Australia/ASXX0075/forecast.html?unit=c)
3. Copy the region/area code (for me it was: ASXX0075)
4. Now open up the weather.class.php file (../modules/mod_s5_weather) and search for the the word: 'location' (there are two instances) and replace with the code that you have just copied from Yahoo, save and close.
5. Open up mod_s5_weather.php file and look for the line: echo "<strong>".$ret[0]['location']."</strong>

";

replace with this: echo "<strong>".'My City Weather'."</strong>

";
or whatever title you want. Save and close. (The reason for this edit is if you enable the title in the Module Admin it leave a big space after it before the actual weather function starts, so use this and don't enable the title in the Admin area and this will look better...or do it your own way!)
6. In the Admin area of the weather module simply paste the Yahoo region code into the zip code box (eg mine is: ASXX0075)
7. Enable the module as per normal in the Admin area

That's it!

While you have the files open you might as well fix the spelling mistakes:
1. mod_S5_weather.xml - change Celcius to Celsius (one instance)
2. mod_S5_weather.php - change preasure to pressure (two instances)
3. weather.class.php - change preasure to pressure (one instance)

And thanks to Shape5, nice Template.

David
« Last Edit: January 31, 2009, 08:31:57 PM by silhouette » Logged
fuslm
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 4



« Reply #16 on: February 01, 2009, 03:09:48 PM »

Many thanks for this David - absolutely spot on. Cheers Martin. Grin
Logged
phoenixx
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 19



« Reply #17 on: February 01, 2009, 08:33:37 PM »

Many thanks indeed David! Worked perfectly!!
Logged
sirfan
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85



« Reply #18 on: July 25, 2009, 05:50:31 PM »

Hi Gals and Guys,
I have found a trick to make this great mod work with Doha, Qatar where there absolutely no zip codes what so ever!

Here is what you should do too: Visit http://weather.yahoo.com/forecast and find your city and state or country first, then find the orange colored RSS feed subscription icon on this result page and click on it. Once you arrive on feed page, look into the URL field up in the browser, it may look similar to mine, "http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=QAXX0003&u=f".
Copy only the value between the equal to symbols(QAXX0003&u) and place it in the mod where the zipcode goes.

That's it, it should work now!

Cheers,
S. Irfan
Logged
jmayor
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



« Reply #19 on: August 07, 2009, 06:07:10 PM »

Hi David:

I have configured the weather module following your instructions but it still doesnt work.

I have updated to Joomla 1.5.14 and I don't know if this is the reason. The domain where I installed the template is www.consultoriaturistica.com. The wheather module is on the right position (El Tiempo)

Could you help me, please, to make it work correctly?

Regards from Spain

Jorge
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #20 on: August 10, 2009, 12:04:58 PM »

No the update is not the reason, it does not touch the module's files.  I went to your site but its just a blue screen with only a few links, I dont see a joomla site.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
barnesc
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2011, 02:09:33 AM »

For Australian Users, lookup ZIP code from this site

http://beta.weather.com/weather/today/ASXX0112

There are two problems with the template:

1. You get an extra two commas

2. Australia is represented as AS by the weather providers!
Logged
emajluap
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2012, 07:57:15 PM »

This doesn't work at all. Mactan, philippines is my area. Any solutions?
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.