Forum Support

Shape 5
March 28, 2024, 05:29:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Main Menu Active colour change  (Read 503 times)
johnmalcol
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



« on: August 05, 2014, 01:50:30 PM »

Hi All,

I have used firebug and can change the active menu colour to the colour I want.

However it refers to a #6 css but there is no file in css for #6.

I custom.css to change the header colour but not its to close the the Main Menu active page colour. ie when on home page the Home page menu button fades to same as Background header colour and can hardly be seen.

How do I change the active menu colour?

Thanks
John
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 04:49:45 PM »

Hello,

Did you try something like this in the custom.css file?

Code:
#s5_nav li.active a {
  color: #ff0000 !important;}

Regards,
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
johnmalcol
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2014, 07:28:30 AM »

I have and that's why I am stumped.

I had this in my custom.css in the Templates directory /templates/ezwebhosting/css

#s5_nav li.active a {
    color: #352A67 !important;}

See attached for my issue.

Thanks
John
Logged
johnmalcol
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 10



« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2014, 10:16:03 AM »

Hi all,

I found that the active Top Menu - Active colour comes from the Template settings - Template Specific:

Hightlight Colour 2 - box with color code.

How can I override this for just the Active Top Menu?

Thanks
John
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2014, 09:01:51 PM »

Hello,

There is a call in the index.php that applies that color selection to multiple elements including the active top menu color.

Code:
#s5_nav li.active a, .module_round_box .s5_h3_first, .module_round_box-darkgray2 .s5_mod_h3_outer h3 .s5_h3_first, .module_round_box-darkgray .s5_mod_h3_outer h3 .s5_h3_first, .s5_pricetable_column.recommended .button, a {
    color: #db25db;
}

However, I would double check that you used a !important call properly as this should override the above rule since it doesn't have a !important value attached to it.

Code:
#s5_nav li.active a {
color: #ff0000 !important;}

Should always outweigh the index.php value so I would double check that the coding was added properly and the cache was cleared as well after making the changes. I tested the coding I gave you on my copy and it was working as an override properly.

If you still have issues you can remove the active menu call from the index.php line I referenced above and manually add it into the CSS file with a color code.

Regards,
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.