Forum Support

Shape 5
January 23, 2022, 06:49:44 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Make My Home Page and RSS Icons  (Read 879 times)
jjsmulo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103



« on: January 17, 2009, 06:44:51 PM »

I figured out that if I set up a Contact page the 'email' icon up top will go to my Contact page.

But I can't figure out how to get the Make My Home Page Icon not say "Shape 5 - City Portal" when I click on it to put into bookmarks.

I also can't figure out how to get the RSS icon to work.

Help would be much appreciated.
Logged
dangel
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 06:55:11 PM »

I have similar problems.  I haven't looked how to switch the Make My Homepage to a different text, yet.

My RSS feed comes back as
Quote
and results in a 404 page error.
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 07:46:53 PM »

You'll find these configurations within the index.php file. Do a search for 's5_homepage' and in this group is where you can edit the 'Email, My Home Page and RSS feed information.

Ed H.
Logged
jjsmulo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103



« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2009, 07:58:31 PM »

Thank you for the help.

I'm guessing that the code I'm supposed to change for the home page is:

Code:
<div id="s5_homepage"></div>
<div class="s5_padding" onclick="javascript:bookmarksite('Shape 5 - City Portal', '<?php echo $LiveSiteUrl;?>')" >Make My Homepage</div>

I tried changing 'Shape 5 - City Portal' to 'Test Site' and I get error messages that it didn't save or fatal error. Am I in the wrong place?

Thanks again for your help.
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2009, 08:09:59 PM »

I just changed the following code to my specific website... no errors!

ORIGINAL CODE:
Code:
<div class="s5_padding" onclick="javascript:bookmarksite('Shape 5 - City Portal', '<?php echo $mosConfig_live_site;?>')" >Make My Homepage</div>


MY REVISED CODE:
Code:
<dass="s5_padding" onclick="javascript:bookmarksite('the Fewer the Less', '<?php echo $mosConfig_live_site;?>')" >Mark This Homepage</div>
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 08:16:41 PM by kalasoft » Logged
jjsmulo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103



« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2009, 09:11:01 PM »

That's strange, our code is different. Did you go to the index.php in the City Portal template or elsewhere?
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2009, 09:56:35 PM »

No, the code is the same, I just excluded the

Code:
<div id="s5_homepage"></div>

from what I posted.

Ed H.
Logged
jjsmulo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103



« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2009, 12:47:47 PM »

What about the difference between:

Code:
('Shape 5 - City Portal', '<?php echo $LiveSiteUrl;?>')

and

Code:
('Shape 5 - City Portal', '<?php echo $mosConfig_live_site;?>')

Do I need to change "$LiveSiteUrl" to $mosConfig_live_site? I'm not sure why those parts were different.
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2009, 04:55:51 PM »

What version of Joomla are you working behind? The code I referenced was from the Joomla 1.0x template. I know there are some global code differences between the two versions and that could be the difference. I'll look into the Joomla 1.5 template to see if this is the case.
Logged
jjsmulo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 103



« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2009, 09:19:44 PM »

I'm using 1.5.8. I'm still not sure what I can do to get this to save. Thanks.
Logged
kalasoft
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 63



WWW
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2009, 08:02:18 AM »

I installed this template onto a Joomla 1.5 install and changed the following code to my specific site without a problem.

Code:
<div class="s5_padding" onclick="javascript:bookmarksite('the Fewer the Less', '<?php echo $LiveSiteUrl;?>')" >Mark My Homepage</div>

You might want to un-install/re-install this template on your end and also ensure that the file '/templates/city_portal/params.ini' and '/templates/city_portal/index.php' is writable.
Logged
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2009, 11:02:51 AM »

I'm using 1.5.8. I'm still not sure what I can do to get this to save. Thanks.

Permissions on your server may prohibit you from saving the index.php from your Joomla admin.  Try using and FTP client or the Joomlexplorer component to edit the index.php file and save it.
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.