Forum Support

Shape 5
June 17, 2021, 12:35:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Social Icon Links  (Read 916 times)
ccvid
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 100



« on: August 30, 2014, 08:42:34 PM »

I installed the siteshaper and have been slowly conforming the website to my own design.  Somehow I can't figure out how to get the social icons working.  Siteshaper has them in the "bottom_row3_1" module position, so I'm guessing they were in the custom html module, but somehow I lost them. 

How can I get the social icon links working?
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2014, 08:54:41 PM »

Hello,

Here is the default coding for the module. Just replace the links as needed.

Code:
<ul class="address_ul">
<li><i class="ion-ios7-location"></i>123 Corporate Street<br/>
Bigtownville, CO 12345</li>
<li><i class="ion-ios7-telephone"></i>123-555-1212</li>
<li><i class="ion-ios7-email"></i>[email protected]</li>
</ul>
<a href="javascript:;" class="social_icon ion-social-facebook"></a>
<a href="javascript:;" class="social_icon ion-social-twitter"></a>
<a href="javascript:;" class="social_icon ion-social-googleplus"></a>
<a href="javascript:;" class="social_icon ion-social-rss"></a>
<a href="javascript:;" class="social_icon ion-social-pinterest"></a>
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ccvid
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 100



« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2014, 06:29:30 AM »

Thanks for the weekend reply!  I tried this code but Joomla's "Custom HTML" module keeps kicking it back out... so I don't know how to use it without installing a separate module.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2014, 02:04:28 PM »

Hello,

Change your editor to "None" in the Global Configuration, and also be sure that Super User - Text Filtering is enabled. That is the only thing that would affect the use of this code.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
sneadm
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90



« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2014, 01:57:08 PM »

Had the same problem, this fixed it.  Now can't find where to put in the link values.  Seems to be missing from the Theme specific page where it usually is.  I've looked around but can't seem to find them.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2014, 04:34:13 PM »

Hello,

Just replace the href="" with your own URL in between the quotes.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ccvid
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 100



« Reply #6 on: September 02, 2014, 09:00:34 PM »

Thanks!  The text filter made no difference for me... I defaulted to the "Editor - none" option like you suggested and the code worked wonderfully!  I also changed my default editor back to the TinyMCE and the code still works... as long as I don't go back into the module I'm guessing...
Logged
sneadm
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90



« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2014, 05:11:40 AM »

Seems like a step backwards but certainly works, thanks.  I also found a solution to the editor problem, put a
Code:
&nbsp;
between the close of the
Code:
<a>
tag and the
Code:
</a>
.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2014, 07:10:30 AM »

Hello,

That's correct, putting anything inside of the element will leave it there, a space is a good option for this. Unfortunately, this is an editor problem and won't change until the core editor is updated to the latest version.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ccvid
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 100



« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2014, 09:49:42 AM »

Will the space replace the logo in the social icon link?  For example... I put an F in the empty spot for the facebook link.  Sure enough there was a "F" in the blue box link.  But it was my F, not the Facebook logo F.

Ben
Logged
sneadm
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 90



« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2014, 10:56:12 AM »

My links look like this
Code:
<a class="social_icon ion-social-pinterest" href="http://">&nbsp;</a>
  I still get the icon showing.
Logged
ccvid
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 100



« Reply #11 on: September 03, 2014, 11:00:34 AM »

Cool!  Thanks!
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2014, 10:00:14 PM »

Let us know if you have any further questions!
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
umek
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2014, 01:07:14 AM »

How about the links for youtube and instragram

<a href=" " class="social_icon ion-social-youtube">[/url]
<a href=" " class="social_icon ion-social-instagram">[/url]

the youtube one shows a small grey logo, while instagram isn't available.

how can i override the files to get the same results?
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2014, 09:24:14 AM »

Hello,

We only stylize specific ones. If you need to add more you would have to add specific css, ie: background colors and paddings for those.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.