Forum Support

Shape 5
November 26, 2021, 08:17:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: New component "scrambles" at the bottom of the template  (Read 692 times)
mcmaddcatt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« on: December 03, 2007, 03:24:28 PM »

Check this: http://www.budgetlax.nl/Knowledgebase

At the bottom of the screen you can see that the ads I have placed in advert1 to advert3 have white stripes in them. Also at the bottom of the component, between it and the bottom module there is a white space that should not be there.

Also in the top part of the screen, the gray background is messed up.

Any ideas?

Logged

Jos
www.BudgetLax.nl
Lacrosse Gear to fit your Budget!
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2007, 08:54:54 PM »

The component CSS is overwritting the template css.  You need to edit the Knowledgebase.css file.

Delete the below at about line 178

h3 {
border-bottom:3px double #E9E9E9;
}

I'm not sure why the gradient stops on this page, it must be something in the component overwritting the template again.  To fix this open up color5.css

At about line 46 look for the below #mainwrapper div and add the height as I have below:

#mainwrapper {
background:transparent url(../images/color5/background.jpg) repeat-x scroll 0%;
height:192px;
}

Regards,

Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mcmaddcatt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2007, 11:37:57 PM »

I tried removing the h3. Could not find the lines in knowledgebase.css. I did find css.tpl. Made the mod in that file but that did not change a thing.

So far I have not bothered with the second suggestion. Any more suggestions?

You still have admin rights to the backend.

This is what they say in the back end of the knowledge base:

Quote
You can modify all the layouts by modifing the html files in the following folder:

/home/mysite.com/www/components/com_kb/tmpl/

The files are patTemplate files and contain placeholders in - You can remove these if you do not want the particular feature to be shown

You can also translate (also look in /home/budgetlax.nl/www/components/com_kb/lang/lang.php & for more vars that can be translated),
change everything or nothing in these files{ This is how you get this component to look great on your site }

Jos
« Last Edit: December 04, 2007, 12:08:56 AM by mcmaddcatt » Logged

Jos
www.BudgetLax.nl
Lacrosse Gear to fit your Budget!
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2007, 08:05:15 PM »

Jos,

It looks like its in the tmpl folder and the file is called "css.tpl"  Open this up and you can edit the h3.

Regards,
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mcmaddcatt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2007, 01:01:37 AM »

The h3 mod makes no difference at all as I had reported before.

The other mod in the mainwrapper solves the problem with the background scrambling but introduces another problem in the sense that my whole background now seems a shade lighter and that makes the background from the logo stand out against the rest.

I have changed it all back to the original state as my designer is working on the logo.


Jos
Logged

Jos
www.BudgetLax.nl
Lacrosse Gear to fit your Budget!
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2007, 10:01:38 PM »

I made the mod to the css.tmpl file and it seemed to work. I delete the h3 line.  You will also need to edit the color5.css and at about line 1541 replace "div.module-style5 h3, div.module-style5 h3" with the below:


div.module-style5 h3, div.module-style5 h3 {
color:#FFFFFF;
font-family:Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;
font-size:1em;
font-weight:bold;
height:19px;
line-height:15px;
margin-top:0px;
padding-top:6px;
}

I do not know how this will affect the rest of the site. I would make a backup of the above snippet of CSS code before overwritting whats currently there.  If you replace and it messes up the rest of the site just insert the above code into the CSS.tmpl file and then it will only be used on the page where the knowledge base component is published.

Regards,
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mcmaddcatt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2007, 11:59:35 PM »

I made changes.

The three bottom modules no longer scramble but I still have:

1. The white space between the knowledge base and the bottom module



2. The scrambled gray gradients at the top of the screen



3. The user modules at the bottom that do not expand to the right but stay between the margins of the middle body of the template



Please advise

Jos
Logged

Jos
www.BudgetLax.nl
Lacrosse Gear to fit your Budget!
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #7 on: December 08, 2007, 11:57:26 AM »

Jos,

Insert the following lines of CSS into the CSS.tmpl file.  This CSS will fix everything except the problem with the three modules not expanding into the right column.  I have no idea how this is happening.  Somehow the Knowledge base component is taking the <div class="bottomBlock"> and putting inside the <div id="content"> on the page with the component.  The <div class="bottomBlock"> needs to be outside the <div id="content"> as it is everywhere else on the site. You could try contacting the creators of the component and let them know what is happening.  They would have better input than I, since they created the component.

maininner {
float:left;
width:100%;
}

.maininner2 {
background:#FFFFFF none repeat scroll 0%;
border-left:1px solid #75888D;
border-right:1px solid #75888D;
}

#mainwrapper {
background:transparent url(../images/color5/background.jpg) repeat-x scroll 0%;
height:195px;
}

Regards,
« Last Edit: December 08, 2007, 12:00:19 PM by jonahh » Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mcmaddcatt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #8 on: December 08, 2007, 01:25:07 PM »

Jonahh,

It does fix the problem with the scrambling background at the top but it does not deal with both problems at the bottom but I can live with that for now.

I'll see waht the supplier of the Knowledge Base can do for me.

Thanks a lot!

Jos
Logged

Jos
www.BudgetLax.nl
Lacrosse Gear to fit your Budget!
jonahh
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 23789



WWW
« Reply #9 on: December 10, 2007, 12:21:20 PM »

Jos,

In your color5.css at about line 617 overwrite ".maininner2 " with the following:

.maininner2 {
background:#FFFFFF none repeat scroll 0%;
border-left:1px solid #75888D;
border-right:1px solid #75888D;
}

In your template_css.css at about line 944 overwrite ".maininner " with the following:

.maininner {
background-color:#FFFFFF;
float:left;
width:100%;
}

This should fix "1. The white space between the knowledge base and the bottom module".  Let me know if this doesn't

Regards,
Logged

Jonah Hall
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
mcmaddcatt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2007, 12:44:18 PM »

Thanks Jonahh,

I'm sorry but it doesn't.

Patched both files. No difference at all. Therefore have not changed the files back. If you want me to restore to previous state then let me know.

Jos
Logged

Jos
www.BudgetLax.nl
Lacrosse Gear to fit your Budget!
mcmaddcatt
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 137



WWW
« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2007, 11:36:16 PM »

Jonahh has fixed my problem with the extra white space (my problem #1)

Only the three bottom modules that do not expand to the right remain. That is not a major isuue.

Wonderfull service!

Jos
Logged

Jos
www.BudgetLax.nl
Lacrosse Gear to fit your Budget!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.