Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline consulting
Free Member
Posts: 25
Posted on: November 18, 2014, 01:24:09 PM

Hi

The Demo on Soul Search: How to configure widget styles has an option to place the widget on a specific page (see attached WidgetConfigure2.jpg)

I only have options to place widgets on all or front page. The specific page is not available. (see attached WidgetConfigure1.jpg)

Is there a setting I must change?

I found one post on S_5 extended widget, which did not solve my problem

Would appreciate your assistance
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: November 18, 2014, 01:58:15 PM

You may need to enable "Target by URL" under "Settings->Widget Context".  Once that is enabled, to target a specific page, you just put the page slug in the Target by URL area.
Logged

Offline consulting
Free Member
Posts: 25
Posted on: November 19, 2014, 01:36:29 AM


Thank you

Hi

The Demo on Soul Search: How to configure widget styles has an option to place the widget on a specific page (see attached WidgetConfigure2.jpg)

I only have options to place widgets on all or front page. The specific page is not available. (see attached WidgetConfigure1.jpg)

Is there a setting I must change?

I found one post on S_5 extended widget, which did not solve my problem

Would appreciate your assistance

Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: November 19, 2014, 07:14:58 AM

Are you saying you didn't figure it out, or you did?  Your reply is only a quote of what you already said; if you don't provide information about why you're posting again, I won't be able to help.
Logged

Offline consulting
Free Member
Posts: 25
Posted on: November 19, 2014, 04:00:52 PM

My apologies. I meant to say thank you for the quick response.

Context Widget seems to be problematical when trying to show a widget on a specific page. I have gone through most of the WordPress blogs and nobody seems have a definite answer.

I have tried other widget page control plugins, and there are some great ones (Conditional Widget), but they don't seem compatible with some of the core Shape5 plugins.

So I am back to square one.  Trying to figure out how I should formulate the URL. Tried / before and after, tried the wild cards, no luck

Hopefully someone from The Shape5 community can help.

Thank you
Logged

Offline consulting
Free Member
Posts: 25
Posted on: November 20, 2014, 01:03:38 AM

Hi
Just adding to my previous query.  The plugins I have tried that conflicts with S5_Tabshow are:-
Conditional Widgets and Display Widgets  (Both very good.  It lists all you pages and categories.  Similar to Joomla in placing a module on a specific page and position)

Also found that Shortcodes Ultimate conflicts with S5_template plug ins.  Pity, great product as well.

Looking forward to some advise

Rocky
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: November 20, 2014, 07:35:36 AM

I have never had any issues with getting Widget Context to properly show or hide widgets on a specific page.  If you install the Shaper in another location temporarily and go through some of hte widgets, you should be able to see how it is used for the demo content. 

I always use the wildcard method.  I also have the "post-name" permalink structure.  For example, if I want the Accordion Menu widget to only show on the page that talks about it, I use *accordion-menu* as the URL target in the Widget Context settings.

I'm not exactly sure why the other widget hiding plugins don't work correctly with TabShow, but it is most likely because TabShow (and any other S5 widget that has sidebar positions) adds its own sidebars at a different time in the site load process (it has to, or the positions would be above the main site positions), and because of the timing, some of the Widget Context style plugins can't properly detect the plugin-created positions.

What exactly seems to be the problem with Shortcodes Ultimate?  The framework has quite a few shortcodes of its own that I've added, but there shouldn't be any conflicts unless it's trying to add shortcodes with the same name, and even then, it should just override the existing ones.  You can find the complete list of shortcodes for this theme on this page of the demo.

As it says on the demo:
Code:
There are many shortcodes available for use in this theme, and more will be added to the framework over time. Use [describe_shortcodes] for a full list, and [describe_shortcodes help] to show the list with additional help with the more complicated ones.
Logged

Offline consulting
Free Member
Posts: 25
Posted on: November 20, 2014, 09:02:36 AM

Hi Tristan

Thanks for the reply.

I have managed to solve the show widget on specific page.  Your suggestion  made me realize that the Permalink setting determines the format used in the URL.  Unfortunately this is not clear in any of the widget documentation. My setting was on default, so "/?page_id=2222" did the trick.

I will try to eliminate which short code conflicts with the S5_Tab show

You are right, there should not be a conflict.  Short codes Ultimate uses a user defined prefix in its short code to prevent any conflict.

Not sure if I should post this a a new topic, bu I get a fatal error when trying to activate NextGen Gallery within the S5_Template environment.  Even after de-activating all of the S5 and other plug-ins.  Have you come accross this before.

Thank you for your assistance.  WordPress is a different mindset to Joomla

Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: November 21, 2014, 07:51:56 AM

Not sure if I should post this a a new topic, bu I get a fatal error when trying to activate NextGen Gallery within the S5_Template environment.  Even after de-activating all of the S5 and other plug-ins.  Have you come accross this before.

   I have not heard anything about that before.  What is the error that you're getting?  Does it actually tell?  If not, try setting WP_DEBUG to true in your wp-config.php file, that should show the errors that would normally be hidden.  Most sites have at least 1-5 warnings or errors that can be ignored, but being able to see the errors you do have should help give an idea what's happening with the plugin.

Thank you for your assistance.  WordPress is a different mindset to Joomla

   It really is.  There are a lot of similarities with Shape5 stuff because I have to "convert" the Joomla releases to run on WordPress, but I've done my best to get things closer to working the way WP users expect.
Logged

Offline consulting
Free Member
Posts: 25
Posted on: November 21, 2014, 08:33:26 AM

Thank you

I enjoy the Shape5 templates.  Slowly getting to know WP.  I think it is earier for end-users to modify.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.028 seconds with 23 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.