Forum Support

Shape 5
April 21, 2021, 05:06:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: How to open a new simple window when reading featured articles?  (Read 1314 times)
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« on: February 02, 2015, 09:16:36 AM »

When I click the button of read more of featured articles in the frontpage, I want to open a new simple window to show the article instead of showing it in the frontpage.  The new windows should be as simple as the one showing other articles, not include other modules such as S5 flex mune, latest articles, etc. How to set it?
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2015, 06:35:32 PM »

Hello,

Make sure your articles are in a Category. Then create a Menu Item in the back end and link to it via Category Blog for those articles. This should give the articles a unique menu alias to generate on their own pages. What is most likely happening is the articles are regenerating on the home page since they don't have their own unique menu alias'.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2015, 07:53:22 PM »

I did this as you said, but it did not work, the article still show in the home page.  I also changed the category showing in frontpage from featured articles to another existed category , and the articles of the new category alias can't be shown any more when you click the button read more, even in its own category blog.

Please check it out, thank you in advance.
Logged
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2015, 02:37:50 AM »

I have resolved the problem, thank you.  But one more thing: When the articles are shown by category blog, the first readmore button is good, but since the second one, the buttons covered the titles of the articles below, you can see it in the picture attached.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2015, 03:29:46 PM »

Hello,

Please post a URL to that page.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2015, 01:46:42 AM »

The URL is
http://atagifts.com/index.php/min-fu-guo-qiang
Please check the S5_accordion_menu in the frontpage, too.  Its URL is http://atagifts.com
In the options of the accordion menu, I chose the main menu and enabled  First Level Parent Hyperlinks, but when I click the menu, it shows that 404 - Article not found.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2015, 10:11:04 PM »

Hello,

1) Removing the following from the com_content.css file should help with the spacing/display:

Code:
.page-header {
     border: medium none;
     margin: 0px 0px 10px;
     padding: 0px;
}

.item, .items-leading {
     border-bottom: 1px dotted #bababa ! important;
     margin-bottom: 10px ! important;
     padding-bottom: 15px ! important;
}

2) The issue is also apparent on your main menu item as well. The accordion menu just pulls from the main menu so if that isn't working neither will it. Check the menu item structure in the back end to ensure an article is published to that page and menu.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2015, 08:13:09 AM »

Mike,

Thank you very much. The first problem is resolved, although the button of read more is still covering the bottom line.  It will be better if the line can move down a little, just as the leading article.  but it is not a big problem.

The second problem is more urgent.  My top main menu works well, but the according menu don't work.  When the cursor hovers on the menu, it shows the correct URL in the status bar of the browser, but after you click it, it shows undefined.  Please check it again, thanks.

URL is http://www.atagifts.com/

Jim
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2015, 07:05:14 PM »

Hello,

For questions relating to the S5 Accordion Menu please post in the Extensions Forum as they will have a better grasp of the source coding used for the module. My suggestion would be to make sure to use the same menu in the S5 Accordion that you are using in the Main Menu so they can trigger off each other. You might also want to look into SEF URLs and URL Rewriting to clean up your URLs.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2015, 12:47:32 AM »

Mike,

You are right, the reason is that they can't use the same menu.  Thanks.

Jim
Logged
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2015, 01:17:31 AM »

Mike,

I have the last question.  I want to change the word we have... in the guests online to Chinese, which file I should modify? Thanks again.

Best regards
Jim
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2015, 11:29:16 PM »

Hello,

That would require using the Joomla built in Language Override feature for that specific Language. You can change it to show a different translation for any content on the site for specific languages.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2015, 04:04:42 AM »

There should be a file that contains the words WE HAVE GUEST AND MEMBER ONLINE, right?
Logged
ljmnj
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2015, 04:15:02 AM »

In another word, if I want change the words WE HAVE GUEST AND MEMBERS ONLINE shown in the module of guests online to THERE ARE GUEST AND MEMBER ONLINE, which file should I modify?
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #14 on: February 10, 2015, 06:13:11 PM »

Hello,

This is a default Joomla module but it should be within the module folder itself. Look for mod_whosonline on the server in the /modules folder and you should see some coding entries for this that you can modify.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.