Forum Support

Shape 5
September 28, 2021, 02:53:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Language Switcher doesn't show languages  (Read 555 times)
ambra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« on: March 03, 2015, 10:25:29 AM »

Hello,

I've just installed a plain Incline template and can't get the multilingual to work. I followed all steps from Vertex tutorial video (http://www.shape5.com/documentation/Getting-Started/How-To-Setup-Multilanguage-Support-In-Joomla) but Language Switch module doesn't show up. So, I pretty much:

1) Installed languages on Extensions -> Language Manager -> Installed - Site
2) Installed languages on Extensions -> Language Manager -> Content (flags show up here)
3) Created Category and Sub-category for each of my languages
4) Created Articles for each of my languages
5) Created Menus for each of my languages
6) Activated System - Language Filter plugin
7) Added a Language Switcher module on "language" position

My standard language is English (US) and my English menus are the only one that show when I first load the page (and that's what I expected). My second language is Portuguese (BR) and my Portuguese menus don't show when I first load the page (this is expected too). I just can't switch to the Portuguese version because I can't see flags/languages on the Language Switcher.

When I choose my Language Switcher module to  "Use Dropdown" I can see an empty dropdown combo box with no languages or flags on it. Empty dropdown correctly show on "Language" module position.

What am I missing?

Thank you,
Francisco.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2015, 05:20:51 PM »

Hello,

That is a default module of Joomla so your best bet would be to post on joomla.org for support with their modules. The only thing other than the Tutorial that I can think of would be a setting in the module to enable Language Flags as well as ensuring you have Main Menu Language Switch enabled in the Template Manager.

Everything else should be based on the languages you have setup in the back end. Note that they are extremely case sensitive meaning fr-Fr wouldn't work the same as Fr-FR for example.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ambra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2015, 07:04:01 PM »

Hello,

Thank you for your reply! I went to joomla forums and found the answer.

For further reference to people facing the same problem, basically, Language Switcher will only show flags for those languages that have at least one Home menu item linked to them.

After defining one home menu for English and one for Portuguese, both flags were shown on the switcher.

Thanks,
Francisco.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2015, 07:46:10 PM »

Hello,

Glad you got it sorted. That part as far as I remember was covered in the Tutorial that we have.

Regards,
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ambra
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2015, 08:09:51 PM »

I think it is possible to guess it from the last sentences the commentator of your tutorial says but not from what it is shown on the video.

In your tutorial video it works because there were no other menus created and it automatically sets one of them as the home menu. But if you see the part where the menu items are created, you will notice that they are not marking the item as "default page". On other tutorials they explicitly talk about setting a menu item as "default page" for the flag to show.

Considering you have no menus created and you strictly follow what is shown in your tutorial, you will end up only with the flag of the first menu you created on the Language Switcher as the second menu item you created will not be defined as "default page" for the second language.

This is kinda tricky if you download and install a template that will already come with a home menu set for "All Languages".

I'm not trying to say your tutorial is bad but just trying to help by pointing out the part that confused me Smiley

Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 08:13:28 PM by ambra » Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2015, 08:17:24 PM »

Alright thanks for the notes.

It seemed to use an automatic "default" menu for each language menu when I set them up. But yes you are correct as every language in Joomla needs a "default" page that is loaded when that language becomes active.

Thanks,

-Mike
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
ujopajuk
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13



« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2016, 08:40:25 PM »

Hi,
I am totally agree with Ambra. Your tutorial is very fine, but you should add that point about it is important to remember the default in menus. I have that problem in a long time, and couldn't fine any solution, until now.
Thanks for your important question.

Best regards

Ujopajuk
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.