Forum Support

Shape 5
June 17, 2021, 11:14:12 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: CSS Compression  (Read 668 times)
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« on: March 08, 2015, 01:21:30 PM »

When I compress CSS on this template everything messes up and goes to just one column.  http://goo.gl/ttJrro
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 11:38:28 PM »

Hello,

That URL does not lead to a page.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2015, 07:13:45 AM »

Sorry, just getting back to this project.  It is http://thefarmershouse.org
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2015, 03:51:40 PM »

Hello,

Please patch your site with the latest vertex patch from our site and try enabling the compression again. If you have any 3rd party extensions you will want to disable these when testing compression. Certain extensions may not function when compressed.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2015, 12:32:03 PM »

Ok, can you direct me to the where I would download the patch?  Thanks!
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2015, 07:05:33 PM »

Sure it is here along with patching tutorials:

http://www.shape5.com/component/option,com_docman/Itemid,96/task,cat_view/gid,190/
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2015, 10:50:16 AM »

I tried on my local server first and to apply the patch.  I went into template and click on About and it shows I am on Vertex 3.6  When I try to view the front end of the site it appends the url and adds the following /index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=67.  I've cleared the cache on both browser and Joomla.  I don't want to try this on live server until I know there won't be any problems.  Can you provide details on how to fix this?

Thanks!
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2015, 10:51:26 PM »

Hello,

I am not sure what you mean in your last post. The /index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=67 part is for URLs that do not have SEF URL's enabled in the htaccess and global configuration of the site. This is most likely due to your local servers configuration but wouldn't have anything to do with patching Vertex.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2015, 11:13:56 AM »

Ok, I was able to get that issue worked out I think.  I am now having another issue:  Template XML file not found
Logged
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2015, 11:38:06 AM »

I think I have fixed this issue.  I copied and pasted the Specific.xml file from original install to this vertex update install as I noticed that was different between the two.  Is that ok or did will this cause issues for me?


UPDATE:  Nevermind, that only made the backend template look right but my frontend is messed up for sure.   I cannot tell if this was from the update of vertex since I never could see that I only saw the message about xml not found.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 11:42:10 AM by abrill » Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2015, 08:44:55 PM »

Hello,

This means you did not patch the site correctly or removed a file. I would try re-downloading the patch and following the install Tutorial here:

http://www.shape5.com/documentation/Vertex-Framework/Joomla-Specific/How-To-Patch-Vertex-In-Joomla-and-Changelog

If its easier you can also remove the Template and reinstall it via the Extension Manager which should come with 3.6 by default.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2015, 10:07:31 AM »

Thank you for your support.  We were finally able to update to Vertex 3.7 however we are still have the issue with enabling CSS compression.  It messes up the styling.  See image.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2015, 06:22:12 PM »

Hello,

I took a look at that URL but am not seeing the issue illustrated in the screenshot. Have you fixed this or can you enable the issue so I can see it?
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
abrill
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 41



« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2015, 12:54:22 PM »

Can I send you a private message so you can log onto the site to change this setting when you are available to look at the issue?  Because the site is a working site, I don't want to change the CSS compression setting and leave it for x amount of time because it looks very bad.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2015, 09:15:14 PM »

Hello,

Sure I can take a look. Also note that if you have any 3rd party extensions or plugins enabled that aren't part of the Template you will need to disable these before I can test the compression.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.