Forum Support

Shape 5
March 28, 2024, 02:43:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Custom CSS  (Read 1112 times)
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« on: March 10, 2015, 09:01:57 AM »

I seem to have an issue getting the custom.css file to be recognized by the site.

I have this in the custom.css

Code:
.staffbio {
margin-left: 10% !important;
margin-right: 10% !important;
color: #F01A1E !important
}

And a span tag:
Code:
<span class="staffbio">Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur. Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.</span>

The text is red, not that I want it to be red, it was just for testing the css; but the margins will not change.

Any reason for the margins not to cooperate.

I have tried a few other margin options but none seem to 'take'.

The screen-shot attached shows the "staffbio" class on the left and an un-styled bio on the right.

Thanks
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 04:08:15 PM »

Hello,

Does it change if you don't use % margins? Have you tried .staffbio span {css here}

I would need to see a live URL to see the full source.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2015, 09:27:35 PM »

I played with %, but I didn't see any change.
www.stjohnmansfield.co
That ".co" is not a typo.
The page in question is: http://stjohnmansfield.co/index.php/pages/staff
This is the space I'm testing and adjusting the site in, before it goes live.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 03:38:22 PM by kspontelli » Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2015, 07:59:41 AM »

Hello,

You just need to add a float:left to your class ".staffbio" and then it should take on the margins.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2015, 01:21:14 PM »

Thank you! That is the missing piece.

I am having a few more issues.

I cannot get the "featured articles" to appear on the front page.

I cannot find the location on the default home page. I would like to copy that, and work with it to get it solved, but to no avail.

I know that I could look through all of the modules to see what is assigned to appear on the home page, and then assign all of those modules to 'replacement-home-page'  , and then set 'replacement-home-page' as the default. But it would be much easier to just look at (Alias: home) and see what modules are assigned. I haven't been able to locate THAT article. In short, where does the demo front page live and how do I edit it, and the modules assigned to it? (without having to visit each module separately)

Included in this issue, is the problem of locating where row-bg.jpg is assigned to the front page. While I can simply create my own image and give it that name. I would rather understand how to get an image in that spot on the front page and how to have it behave in the way it does on the demo. Firebug has not been of much help on this issue.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2015, 12:36:10 AM »

Quote
I cannot get the "featured articles" to appear on the front page.

Make sure the Component is not being hidden under the Template Manager > General Settings > Hide Component
Quote
I cannot find the location on the default home page. I would like to copy that, and work with it to get it solved, but to no avail.

This would be the menu item indicated by a "star" in the Menu Manager. Also you can control the Main Menu under the Menu Tab in the Template Manager.

Quote
I know that I could look through all of the modules to see what is assigned to appear on the home page, and then assign all of those modules to 'replacement-home-page'  , and then set 'replacement-home-page' as the default. But it would be much easier to just look at (Alias: home) and see what modules are assigned. I haven't been able to locate THAT article. In short, where does the demo front page live and how do I edit it, and the modules assigned to it? (without having to visit each module separately)

Not quite sure what you are referring to here? Perhaps check out the "Featured Articles" which are designed to appear in the Component area for "Featured Articles" on pages such as Home.

Quote
Included in this issue, is the problem of locating where row-bg.jpg is assigned to the front page. While I can simply create my own image and give it that name. I would rather understand how to get an image in that spot on the front page and how to have it behave in the way it does on the demo. Firebug has not been of much help on this issue.

Template Manager > Backgrounds Tab
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2015, 07:16:20 AM »

As far as the "home" page. Yes I see the star - (attached home1.jpg). I can see that the alias is "home" and that the ID is "101". I click on the link, and then I see this- (attached home2.jpg) Please note that when I hover over the link box, I get a "Disabled Cursor", I cannot view that link. Therefore, I do not know a way to get to THIS article.

Looking through the modules assigned to this "PAGE/ARTICLE", (attached home3.jpg, home4.jpg & if I was allowed 5 attachments, home5.jpg) show nothing that remotely looks like a featured article module.

I have everything in place except for the front page issues. There must be a simple thing that I am missing here.

( I received an error when I went to post this - 350kb attachment limit. Frustrating!)
Logged
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2015, 07:17:26 AM »

home3.jpg
Logged
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2015, 07:18:04 AM »

home4.jpg
Logged
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2015, 07:18:44 AM »

home5.jpg
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2015, 10:25:16 PM »

Hello,

If the menu item is set to "Featured Articles" as the Menu Item type then it would load the articles you have specified in the back end of Joomla at:

Content > Featured Articles
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2015, 05:58:28 AM »

And yet it does not do that. I have three articles "FEATURED" and they DO NOT show up on the feature front page. These articles were and are featured (see attached) at the time of your posting. Did you even look at the page? http://stjohnmansfield.co/

My questions are still not answered.

The front page, "Home", is set to Feature in the menu, but none of the articles I have set as featured appear there, WHY?
In Joomla's back end, I 'save as copy' the Home menu item (Home(2)) on my site. That copy show featured articles. I did nothing else but copy the menu item. You'll notice that it looks completely different than "Home", which has the modules from the demo AND NO FEATURED ARTICLES. AGAIN WHY?
« Last Edit: March 17, 2015, 06:01:59 AM by kspontelli » Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2015, 06:14:36 PM »

Hello,

If you PM me back end Super User I can take a look at your settings. The only thing I can think of that would stop Featured Articles from appearing in the component would be if you have opted to hide them via the Hide Component setting under the General Tab.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
kspontelli
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 14



« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2015, 07:03:48 AM »

If that was true, that the component was "hidden" via the General Settings, the Home2 menu item would also not show the featured articles; but Home2 DOES show the featured articles.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2015, 08:06:31 PM »

Hello,

I have received your PM and will reply back once I have more information.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.