Forum Support

Shape 5
May 08, 2021, 05:16:33 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can not get the floating menu to show  (Read 643 times)
chriddo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 216



« on: April 15, 2015, 10:57:58 AM »

Can this template utilize the floating menu?
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2015, 05:12:49 PM »

Hello,

Yes it can you just have to enable it under the Menu Tab and set the Top Menu Position? and Float The Menu At What Height?

What issues are you having?
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
chriddo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 216



« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2015, 11:30:53 PM »

I have enabled it all as it should be (see attached) but the logotype is not showing up. Any ideas on how to solve it?

Hello,

Yes it can you just have to enable it under the Menu Tab and set the Top Menu Position? and Float The Menu At What Height?

What issues are you having?
« Last Edit: April 15, 2015, 11:36:36 PM by chriddo » Logged
chriddo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 216



« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2015, 12:17:20 AM »

I also now noticed that in the floaing menu all menu items are stacked under neath each other vertically .... not horizontally as it should be. Please look into this.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2015, 06:53:07 AM »

Hello,

This template is not stylized for a floating menu. You can enable it as Mike stated above, but any styling to make it work with a floating option would be something you would need to create. The framework simply enables the functionality of being able to set the menu to floating.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
chriddo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 216



« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2015, 07:07:04 AM »

Hello,

This template is not stylized for a floating menu. You can enable it as Mike stated above, but any styling to make it work with a floating option would be something you would need to create. The framework simply enables the functionality of being able to set the menu to floating.

I find it a bit strange that you have not fixed this as it it part of the framework you have. Is it very difficult to fix the style for this template?

I need to be able to show the logotype in the floating menu ... get that small arrow appearing for dropdowns .... and then all is OK.

Would very much appreciate you help on this.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2015, 09:26:18 AM by chriddo » Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2015, 08:06:25 PM »

Hello,

We clearly state this feature may not work with all themes depending on the styling used for the Template.

Quote
Choose to enable or disable the menu from floating at top of the browser upon scroll.  NOTE: This is a Vertex addition and is not gauranteed to work with all Vertex Themes.  Some custom CSS may need to be adjusted per theme. This feature is not supported by IE7/8.

You can try the below coding to see if this helps but beyond that you would need to get some custom styling and overrides for it to work with this Template.

Code:
#s5_menu_wrap.s5_wrap_fmfullwidth {
     z-index: 4;
}

#s5_menu_wrap.s5_wrap_fmfullwidth #s5_menu_inner, #s5_menu_wrap {
    float: none;
}

Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
chriddo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 216



« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2015, 04:48:21 AM »

Thank you for your assistance so far. There was actually no significant change to the menu using your new CSS code. The MAJOR issue still missing, is that the logotype is not showing up as well as that the small drop down arrows are missing when not hovered over. Otherwise all is as it should be.

The flexible advanced floating menu that Shape5 has is really(!) good and one of my top 3 features with you. To find out that it is not implemented in all templates although it exists in the framework ... is disappointing for me. Especially now that I found such a good template - Luxon - for my purpose.

Please reconsider to fix these small "bugs" and hopefully you will get even more customers having the approach that the adv. floating menu is something that can be used whenever with you templates.

Longing forward to hearing your comments on this.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2015, 07:38:39 AM »

Hello,

This is not considered a bug as you state. The template is not stylized, nor is designed aesthetically to have a floating menu. As stated above we offer the functionality in the framework if you want to enable the floating menu and then you can stylize it using the tools in Vertex or your own custom css, we do not provide the styling for that though; this is styling you would need to create.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
chriddo
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 216



« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2015, 07:46:48 AM »

Thanks, then I know Shape5's stand point.

Should anyone following this thread want to assist me in this matter ... I am truly grateful.
Logged
mikenicoll
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 20162



WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2015, 10:23:12 PM »

Hello,

If you don't find anyone via this thread you can post in our Hire a Coder section of the site to have someone stylize this for you.
Logged

Mike Nicoll
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.