Forum Support

Shape 5
August 03, 2021, 11:36:45 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: How to use non-Google fonts such as Arial or Helvetica?  (Read 1163 times)
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« on: April 24, 2015, 07:13:38 AM »

Is it possible to use Arial or Helvetica as Site Font? I do not see these two listed in the Shape5 Theme Options!
Thanking you in advance!
Alex
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2015, 07:33:02 AM »

You should be able to just type the name of the font into the admin if you want a non-google webfont.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2015, 07:35:58 AM »

After I type Arial and click the button Save, the Site Font option reverts back to previous selection - Abel
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2015, 07:44:32 AM »

I didn't program the admin, so I'm not sure what could be causing the problem; I'll pass this thread on to someone else who may be able to provide better help.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2015, 12:47:18 PM »

I've been told to ask if you've been able to save other settings.  If not, then it's probably a permissions issue that's preventing the admin from writing to the JSON file that saves the theme options.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2015, 01:04:50 PM »

I was able to save all other settings within the Theme Options without a problem. As I said, whey I type Arial and click Save the setting is lost - actually, the previous setting is retained! Do you have some suggestion how to overcome this problem?
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2015, 01:11:28 PM »

Thanks for the information, I've passed it along.  The admin developer should hopefully be able to look at it soon, and if so, it will be included with the patch to fix the menu issues you've been having.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #7 on: April 27, 2015, 09:51:51 AM »

Do you have a workaround for missing Arial and Helvetica fonts while you are working on the upgrade patch? Thanking you in advance!
Alex!
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2015, 10:04:45 AM »

I haven't tested it, but you should be able to just add the fonts to the vertex/admin/googleFonts.php file. 
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #9 on: April 27, 2015, 10:25:58 AM »

The Arial font is already listed there - $googleFonts['Arial'] = 'Arial';
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #10 on: April 27, 2015, 10:32:01 AM »

It's listed but it's not showing up in the dropdown?  I'll have to ask the dev who worked on the admin about that; I have no idea what would be causing that problem.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2015, 10:35:00 AM »

Can you please do so, because this look like a trivial problem which holding me back from finishing up the website! My client insists on having Arial fonts, otherwise I wouldn't bother! Thanks again!
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2015, 10:37:56 AM »

I have passed on a link to this thread.  He's in a different time zone, so I have no idea how quickly we'll get a response.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2015, 01:08:17 PM »

Ok, I managed to find a bug where the admin was failing to properly generate the dropdown list for the fonts.  I've updated the Vertex Upgrade Patch with the fix.  Hopefully that helps.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2015, 07:55:26 AM »

Thanks for your help. I applied the upgrade patch and after that I was able to change the font to Arial. Great!
« Last Edit: April 28, 2015, 09:44:37 AM by antic » Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.