Forum Support

Shape 5
August 03, 2021, 09:59:27 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Missing Shape5 Theme option from the navigation bar  (Read 1082 times)
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« on: July 18, 2015, 01:42:19 AM »

I suddenly lost the Shape5 Theme option from the left navigation menu. It used to sit between just above the Appearance option. Can you help me to solve this issue?
I updated the Vertex but it did not help!
The url is https://www.kdconstructionmiami.com/
Thanking you in advance!
Alex
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2015, 09:38:03 AM »

Did you recently install/activate any new plugins?  My only guess would be that you added something that for some reason removed the menu item when it shouldn't.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2015, 10:12:34 AM »

I read through forums and tried different solutions but nothing helped. I tried deactivating all plugins but the Shape5 Theme link has just vanished! Can you help me to bring it back?
Thanks in advance!
Alex
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2015, 06:40:24 AM »

If it wasn't caused by any extensions, then I have no idea what could have caused it.  I would have to look at the code to see what has changed.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2015, 06:41:29 AM »

OK, thank you do you need ftp or Wordpress access from me?
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2015, 06:45:01 AM »

I'll need both.  If you PM them to me right away, I'll try to take a look at your site by the end of the day.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2015, 06:49:05 AM »

OK, thank you! I just sent you a personal message with all the login info!
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2015, 10:28:31 AM »

It appears that whatever plugin you used that adds that "Grid Elements" button is most likely overriding the code that adds the theme options as a menu item.  My only suggestion would be to remove whatever plugin adds that menu item.

As per the Shape 5 Terms of Use, compatibility with Third-Party extensions cannot be guaranteed.

Once you've got the options all set up the way you want, there should be almost no reason to need access to the theme options area again, so at that point it wouldn't be a problem to re-enable the conflicting plugin.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2015, 10:49:54 AM »

OK, I removed the plugin but it didn't bring back the Shape5 Theme link!
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2015, 12:01:27 PM »

Then something else that changed recently must have caused the problem.  What was changed right before the problem started happening?  Did you edit any theme files?
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2015, 12:03:40 PM »

No! I uploaded the latest Vertex Patch. Prior to that I updated Wordpress. Thats is all!
Logged
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2015, 06:05:51 AM »

Do you think it will be possible to fix this problem?
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2015, 08:40:39 AM »

I've looked at everything I can think of to figure out the problem, and it's definitely not an issue in the code for the theme or the framework.  The only thing I can think of would be that when you updated WP, you must have updated your plugins as well, and one of those plugin updates must have added something that is blocking the menu item insertion. 

I copied your theme to one of my test sites and activated it without any issues at all; the menu item showed up as it should.  This means that there is something about your site that is causing the problem; most likely a third-party plugin.  It is definitely not a bug in Shape 5 code.  I wish I could be more help, but I can't support third-party code, and if I were to edit third-party code to fix something, it would just break again the next time you update whatever it is.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
antic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 402



« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2015, 08:43:41 AM »

Ok, are you telling me that If i delete all the non - Shape5 plugins from the website, the Shape5 theme option will appear again?
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2015, 09:25:00 AM »

That is a possibility, but that is not what I'm saying.  All I can and will say is that the problem you are having is caused by something on your server; I cannot know for certain what it is or what the solution is, only that it is not caused by Shape 5 code.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.