Forum Support

Shape 5
September 25, 2021, 02:31:54 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Mobile Devices  (Read 1405 times)
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« on: November 16, 2015, 09:02:24 AM »

I have noticed that my pages are not displaying correctly on mobile devices http://www.stericom.com/

Is it because I have a written the text in a table with a fixed width of 660px?

Anyway I am trying to get the new site acceptable for mobile devices so any suggestions at all you can give would be really appreciated.

Thanks for your support!

J
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2015, 11:39:19 AM »

The only thing I'm seeing on your site that isn't acting responsive is the Fader, and it looks like you have a fixed width of 1000px assigned to it.  If you remove that fixed width in the widget settings, it should resize with everything else.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 06:08:33 AM »

Hi Tristan

Thanks for that. I have fixed it as you suggested. However, the internal pages still don't look good [http://www.stericom.com/coloproctology/rectoscopes/sterile-rectoscopy-kits/] - the text is going beyond the content area.

Is it possible to hide/remove a widget from the mobile version of the site?
For example I don't really think the tabshow widget on the homepage  looks good on a mobile and the sidebar on the internal pages is not necessary and just moves underneath the content area on small devices.

I have created a new menu and set it as the mobile menu. However the main menu still shows on my phone - how is this supposed to work?

Sorry to have so many questions, but I have never had to make the site mobile friendly before.

Your help is appreciated as always.



J
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 06:35:15 AM by stericomuk » Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2015, 08:55:56 AM »

If you have fixed-width content, it won't be able to re-flow to fit the screen size.

If you have installed the Vertex Upgrade Patch, you should have a "Responsive visibility classes" option on the admin side of each widget.  These classes will allow you to hide/show widgets on specific screen sizes; a full list of the options available as of the latest patch version is on the most recent demo: http://www.shape5.com/demo/wp/ambient/features/vertex-features/hide-content-and-widgets/

The mobile/responsive menu should appear when the screen width gets small enough to trigger it.  When I use mobile mode in Firefox, the mobile menu appears fine for me.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2015, 09:13:36 AM »

Thanks Tristan, I will have a look at this link later today.


If you have fixed-width content, it won't be able to re-flow to fit the screen size.

Can I ask your advice about this - is it the table being a fixed width that is a problem? I did not think ahead on this issue as it's a new one for me. Would it be possible to design different pages for the mobile site and use a totally different menu than the main menu (almost like a parallel website)? I don't think I can redesign the pages that we currently have so I have to come up with an alternative. Undecided

J
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2015, 10:18:31 AM »

Tables should never be used for content structure.  The only valid time to use tables is when you want to display an actual "table" (spreadsheet) of information.  By using a table for your entire layout, you're actually preventing the content from being able to "re-flow" for mobile.

You should be able to assign a different menu for the mobile position and just have different menu items on that menu.  If that's not happening, then it might just be an issue with the older version of the framework.  Patching the framework should fix any issues like that.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2015, 11:39:39 AM »

Thanks!
Logged
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2015, 06:28:34 PM »

Hi Tristan

I read the link you sent earlier but I am having one problem:

http://www.shape5.com/demo/wp/ambient/features/vertex-features/hide-content-and-widgets/

Hide Sections of the Theme via the Theme Configuration
This is the simplest way to hide an area of the theme is to use the theme interface to easily select areas of the theme that you want to hide on tablet sized screens (970px and less) or mobile screens (580px or less). Simply select the area that you want to hide and the Vertex framework takes care of the rest! These fields do work independent of each other, so if you want to hide something on both tablet and mobile sized screens you must select the same area on both fields.



Just under this text they show an image with an option to 'hide tablet divs' & 'hide mobile divs' - but I cannot find this in the New Vision theme. Can you help me out?

Thanks again
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2015, 08:07:38 AM »

That section is referring to changing a setting in the theme options (Shape 5 Theme on the admin menu), I was suggesting to using one of the responsive classes lower on that page, and hiding the individual widget, rather than a whole section of your site.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2015, 08:56:14 AM »

OK understood. Many thanks.
Logged
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2015, 11:07:25 AM »

Hi there.

I need to start a new topic but can't find the place to do it. I was playing around with the info slide javascript and tried to add a link to an image in a in bottom row 1.2.

It ended up corrupting the coding on the custom1 widget (image and content fader3). I have no idea how as I had not gone near that widget. The problem was that on chrome and safari the content fader image could not be seen, only the black box and text. However, it was working in firefox!

Also on all the other pages a thick blue line is at the top of the site instead of a thin line [http://www.stericom.com/coloproctology/proctoscopes/]

I got a site restore of both the database and the files but no joy. So in desperation(!) I de-activated the widget and then redid it. To my surprise it seems to have worked but there is one problem...the thick blue line is still at the top of the all pages. Can you help with this?

Thanks as always!

Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2015, 07:54:08 AM »

You have an empty text widget in Top Row 1.2, which is preventing that section of the site layout from collapsing.  Once you remove that empty widget, the blue space will collapse as intended.

To start a new thread, just go to the correct board for the theme/plugin you are referencing, and click the "New Topic" button.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2015, 09:54:44 AM »

Fantastic! thanks a mil.
Logged
snic
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 42



« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2016, 05:37:46 AM »

Hi there and a happy new year to you all Smiley

I noticed on mobile sites that I cannot expand an area of the page to make it larger whereas I can do this on most other websites. It does not respond - is there something I can do to change that?

Thanks
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2016, 08:18:05 AM »

Can you provide a link to an example of the problem you're having?  The demo resizes fine for me, so I'll need to see what is happening on your actual site.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.