Forum Support

Shape 5
April 19, 2021, 09:59:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Titles on bottom rows  (Read 735 times)
debcampos
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96



« on: November 22, 2015, 10:38:03 AM »

I am using this template on a wordpress site.

When i set up the widget to the bottom rows, I cant make the title show.

Is this something wrong with the template or is it supposed to be that way? Any way I could make it show?

I just wanted it to show the titles like "Follow us" or " Hours and Location"

Please help!



URL : http://lasvegasrelaxtherapy.com/
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2015, 01:41:43 PM »

It appears that for whatever reason, your widgets aren't detecting the style correctly.  You may need to change the widget style before the titles appear.  Once you've changed the style and saved it, changing back to default and saving again may reset it to using the correct output.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
debcampos
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96



« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2015, 05:48:38 PM »

Sorry but I had only two of those bottom 3 row widgets on fancyfont the other two have been on default from the beginning. But I did what you told me and no change whatsoever. I really need these titles to work so I'm sending you my login info.
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2015, 07:26:56 AM »

Please try installing the Vertex Upgrade Patch.  If that doesn't fix things, then I will need FTP access so I can look at the code.

Has someone tried editing framework files over the weekend?  When I tried to look at your site this morning, there was an error that appears to be coming from the code that allows widgets to be styled.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
debcampos
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96



« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2015, 04:23:26 PM »

Please try installing the Vertex Upgrade Patch.  If that doesn't fix things, then I will need FTP access so I can look at the code.

Has someone tried editing framework files over the weekend?  When I tried to look at your site this morning, there was an error that appears to be coming from the code that allows widgets to be styled.


I was able to fix the error on the website Thank you.

I will try the patch.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2015, 04:44:29 PM by debcampos » Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2015, 11:33:25 AM »

I tried temporarily putting a text widget in the row that you're having issues with, and the title showed up fine, so it appears that the problem you are having is related to the specific widgets you are using.

The only thing I can guess is that those third-party widgets store their settings in a non-standard way, which is conflicting with the code that allows the custom widget styling.  Unfortunately, there's not much I can do to change the way the code works, as it needs to change the HTML output if a widget doesn't have a title, or it will break the HTML structure of the whole site, and the way those specific widgets store their settings is preventing the code from being able to detect that the titles exist.

I'll keep trying to think of a solution while I work today; if I come up with anything, I'll either update the patch, or just post it here, depending on what needs to be done.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
debcampos
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96



« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2015, 12:16:09 PM »

I tried temporarily putting a text widget in the row that you're having issues with, and the title showed up fine, so it appears that the problem you are having is related to the specific widgets you are using.

The only thing I can guess is that those third-party widgets store their settings in a non-standard way, which is conflicting with the code that allows the custom widget styling.  Unfortunately, there's not much I can do to change the way the code works, as it needs to change the HTML output if a widget doesn't have a title, or it will break the HTML structure of the whole site, and the way those specific widgets store their settings is preventing the code from being able to detect that the titles exist.

I'll keep trying to think of a solution while I work today; if I come up with anything, I'll either update the patch, or just post it here, depending on what needs to be done.

The problem is that no widget title is working in top or bottom rows. I understand about the third party, but isnt the template supposed to support third party styling?

I am very disappointed with word press templates as it seems that you guys make the best templates for joomla when it comes to word press the the template is very faulty. Case in point is the fact that the vertex frame hasn't even been updated to the latest on the template I'm using, needless to say that i bought the club member type.

problems that I'm still having is

- background image for header never shows
- logo wont show on mobile after doing the menu widget thing you told me.
- there is now way to select which menu to show certain widget so i had to use a third party widget restrict plugin.
- even with this widget restrict plugin custom positions keep showing on all pages on mobile.
- rows sizes don't save when changed.

I think because wordpress is being more used now because of a more friendly user admin,  you guys should make sure the templates do what they are supposed to do.

« Last Edit: December 01, 2015, 12:34:29 PM by debcampos » Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2015, 01:26:47 PM »

The problem is that no widget title is working in top or bottom rows. I understand about the third party, but isnt the template supposed to support third party styling?

   As I said in my previous post:
I tried temporarily putting a text widget in the row that you're having issues with, and the title showed up fine, so it appears that the problem you are having is related to the specific widgets you are using.

   It's not a problem with the theme; any standard widgets show their titles fine in the top and bottom rows.  If it was a problem with the framework, then the demo would have the same problem, which is obviously not the case.
   
   I'm still trying to think of a good way to fix the title problem for you, but the HTML structure has a very specific way it has to work in order for all the widget styles to apply properly and any changes I could make to the framework to make those specific widgets show their titles would break every other widget on your site, making the site unusable.
   
   Widgets aren't "styling", and most third party widgets work fine; the ones you are using aren't storing their settings to the database in the way that most widgets do - this is preventing my code in the framework from being able to do what it was designed to do and detect that they have titles.

I am very disappointed with word press templates as it seems that you guys make the best templates for joomla when it comes to word press the the template is very faulty. Case in point is the fact that the vertex frame hasn't even been updated to the latest on the template I'm using, needless to say that i bought the club member type.

   The framework was just updated to a new major version earlier this week; I haven't yet had a chance to go through every single download and make sure that patching doesn't break anything.  Up to this point, I have been releasing updates to the patch multiple times per month while the v4 release was being worked on; it wouldn't have made sense to go through the full update process twice for every existing release.
   
   I will be more than happy to install the new patch for you, and am in the process of trying to create a patch installer plugin that will make patching as easy as installing and activating a plugin through WP admin, rather than the current method outlined in the Patch Installation Tutorial, which requires uploading through FTP.

problems that I'm still having is

- background image for header never shows

   I don't see any forum threads about this issue, did you create a topic/thread about it?  I can't help with things that I'm not asked about.

- logo wont show on mobile after doing the menu widget thing you told me.

    Interesting.  I was not aware of this.  It works fine on the demo, so there must be something different about how things are arranged on your site. 

- there is now way to select which menu to show certain widget so i had to use a third party widget restrict plugin.

   The demos all use Widget Context to show or hide widgets on specific pages or sections of the site.  WordPress itself does not have this option, and as Widget Context is the best plugin to use for this feature, no others were tested.

- even with this widget restrict plugin custom positions keep showing on all pages on mobile.

   As mentioned above, I have only tested Widget Context for this ability, but it works very well.  If the plugin you are using isn't working, that is not the fault of the theme or the framework.  As far as things not being hidden on mobile, that feature is built into the framework, and is outlined in detail on every demo: http://shape5.com/demo/wp/fresh-bistro/features/vertex-features/hide-content-and-widgets/

- rows sizes don't save when changed.

   This problem will most likely be solved if you allow me to patch your theme to the new version of the admin.

I think because wordpress is being more used now because of a more friendly user admin,  you guys should make sure the templates do what they are supposed to do.

   As both the programmer who does the WP coding and the person who creates all the WP demos and Shapers, I have tested every single release to make sure it did exactly what it was supposed to do.  Unfortunately, I can't test every third party plugin for compatibility, and while I understand that you are frustrated that some of the tools you are using aren't fully compatible, I am trying to help; there are just limits to what I am able to do about non-Shape5 products and code.

Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.