Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline cspub
Free Member
Posts: 236
Posted on: December 04, 2015, 06:39:01 PM

I installed site shaper. On the menu page in dashboard, i get an error when trying to pull the menu page up.
header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/keithstractormow/public_html/wp-content/themes/s5_general_contractor/vertex/s5flex_menu/flex_main.php:86) in /home/keithstractormow/public_html/wp-includes/option.php on line 787

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/keithstractormow/public_html/wp-content/themes/s5_general_contractor/vertex/s5flex_menu/flex_main.php:86) in /home/keithstractormow/public_html/wp-includes/option.php on line 788

Also when I was changing the widgets and what they say, I seem to not have the large heading text as for about us, testimonials, etc. what do i need to do to get it back?

my site is at
https://192.254.135.248/~keithstractormow
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 01:07:12 PM

A new version of the Vertex Upgrade Patch was just released last week which may solve at least some of the issues you are having.  I recommend following the Patch Installation Tutorial to make sure you are on version 4.0 of Vertex; if the issues continue beyond that point, I will be glad to help, it's just best to check if it has already been fixed in a recent update.
Logged

Offline cspub
Free Member
Posts: 236
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 02:25:03 PM

In the dashboard it says I have version 4.0, the latest for joomla 3.x. I'm on wordpress though, not Joomla. Does this mean I need the patch?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2015, 02:27:25 PM by cspub »
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 02:31:35 PM

Yes, General Contractor is version 4; somehow I managed to mis-read which theme this post was about.  However, when I started working on the release for next month earlier today, I started getting the same error you were getting; I have now managed to find and fix the error, as well as making additional adjustments to the front-end of the Flex and Mobile menus.  The patch has been updated with all the changes, and you can update your site by just overwriting your vertex folder with the one from the patch - no need to delete anything.
Logged

Offline cspub
Free Member
Posts: 236
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 02:34:11 PM

ok i'll try that.

the other question i had was about the  large heading text as for about us, testimonials, etc. what do i need to do to get it back? i still show it for the testimonial but somehow have erased it for the other widgets. do you require the numbers to make it big?
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 02:38:30 PM

One of the other errors I found today which is fixed in the patch was one related to the widget styles, so try installing the patch first, that may fix it.
Logged

Offline cspub
Free Member
Posts: 236
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 02:49:34 PM

i've downloaded the patch to my computer. i've also read the tutorial. but a few questions.

in the patch there are other folders besides the vertex. so i upload those too or just the vertex folder within the patch zip? for example there is cache, css, images, js, etc.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 02:54:06 PM

You can upload the whole patch, but if you have already made changes to the CSS, you can just upload the vertex folder and everything (including subfolders) that it contains.
Logged

Offline cspub
Free Member
Posts: 236
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 03:06:28 PM

since i don't want to make site live until complete, i don't have the dns for this domain pointing to this server. therefore it won't let me use ftp. it won't connect.

i uploaded files originally via cpanel. issue is i have to do one file at a time or can zip and upload and replace. if i delete the current vertex folder and use the new one, will that work or are there other files in the original vertex that have to stay
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 03:10:24 PM

The patch no longer includes the vertex/footer.php file, so either just leave the existing vertex folder and overwrite (which is fine, considering how recent the release of the theme you are patching), or back up the vertex/footer.php file and restore it after patching.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 03:14:21 PM

Also, for FTP access, you should be able to connect to the server IP directly, instead of needing to use the domain name.  You don't actually need the DNS pointed as long as you know the server IP and the user/pass.
Logged

Offline cspub
Free Member
Posts: 236
Posted on: December 07, 2015, 03:38:03 PM

the patch appears to have fixed the error message. but the large type on modules isn't showing still. not sure if this matters, but it still only shows default on style on widget. it did that from beginning too.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2015, 04:55:56 PM by cspub »
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 08, 2015, 08:23:18 AM

I don't think I'll be able to figure out what's going on with the widget styles without FTP access.  I had no problem with the styles list when I was creating the demo content, so it would have to be something in your files or server settings, but I have no way of knowing without looking at the code.
Logged

Offline cspub
Free Member
Posts: 236
Posted on: December 08, 2015, 08:51:47 AM

I just sent you access in a PM.
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: December 08, 2015, 02:55:47 PM

The styles should be working for you again.  I'm not sure how, but the file that adds the styles had been reverted to an old version that uses a different method; once I updated that, everything started acting as expected.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 22 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.