Forum Support

Shape 5
March 28, 2024, 10:42:35 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to limit the text in posts displayed on the home page on this theme?  (Read 633 times)
twarme
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 46



« on: March 10, 2016, 08:24:37 PM »

Hello All,

I 'm trying to limit the text displayed in posts displayed on the homepage. More, excerpt, and none of the other methods I've attempted have worked yet. Any suggestions? Be the smart guy; tell this newbie how it's done. Thank you! - Trey
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2016, 10:02:14 AM »

I'm not sure why the More tag isn't working, but this should do what you want -

Edit the content.php file in the theme folder and look for the following line (near line 55):

Code:
<?php if ( is_archive() || is_search() ) : // Only display excerpts for archives and search. ?>

Change it to:

Code:
<?php if ( is_archive() || is_search() || !is_singular() ) : // Display excerpts for archive, search, and any area that is not a single post or page. ?>

Hopefully that helps!
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
twarme
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 46



« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2016, 09:24:20 PM »

Thank you for your shared expertise Tristan! Huh, I changed the line of code to what you suggested, however the homepage still shows the entire text of posts. Scratching head... Any other ideas? Thank you! - Trey
« Last Edit: March 13, 2016, 12:18:34 PM by twarme » Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2016, 06:42:09 AM »

If you are referring to Masonry, the widget will use the pre-defined excerpt text if it exists.  You may have to enable the excerpt editor in the screen options dropdown located in the top right of the page/post editor.
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
twarme
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 46



« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2016, 05:44:36 AM »

If you are referring to Masonry, the widget will use the pre-defined excerpt text if it exists.  You may have to enable the excerpt editor in the screen options dropdown located in the top right of the page/post editor.

Thank you Tristan! I got it! Yes, I am referring to the Masonry widget. More worked on a couple of posts, but not others, and only presented the image for one post on the home page. I enabled excerpt and now see the excerpt text box at the bottom of the edit post screen. At first, I was bummed excerpt didn't present the image. Then I just added the html for the desired image to the excerpt. Success! Thank you for your help! - Trey
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.