Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


New Posts
FAQs for Wordpress
If you have a question about Wordpress products please read through a list of our most commonly asked questions here.
[1]

Offline twarme
Free Member
Posts: 46
Posted on: June 06, 2016, 06:53:32 AM

Hello,

I just installed an SSL certificate on my site yesterday and some of the widgets have moved positions and/or are not working correctly.

--> The masonry widget is not displaying with the same style, instead with one masonry style post and the rest listed below each other

--> the bottom widget with the newsletter signup has moved near the top of the page behind the other widgets displayed on the homepage

--> the top right sidebar widgets are displayed at the bottom left on several pages

The site url is agrismartinc.com. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated. Thank you! - Trey
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 06, 2016, 01:52:54 PM

That is very odd.  Did the problem only happen after changing the URL structure to use https?  It's very possible that something is preventing the CSS or Javascript from loading properly due to the new URL structure.

Was anything else changed around the same time? 

It looks like something is adding some extra closing <div>s to the HTML structure of Masonry, but I'm not sure what that would be.  One thing you could try is downloading the latest version of Masonry from the downloads area; I just updated the download with the latest version from my dev server - I don't think any of the recent changes I've made are related to the issue you're having, but there's always a chance that they could fix it anyway, so it's worth a try.
Logged

Offline twarme
Free Member
Posts: 46
Posted on: June 06, 2016, 05:49:53 PM

Hi Tristan! Yes, issue began after installing the SSL cert. I also added the below lines of code, per https://www.godaddy.com/help/redirect-http-to-https-automatically-8828,  to the .htaccess file to forced SSL:


RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]


I don't think I have made any other changes to the site in a day or two. I did publish a draft blog post this morning, is the only other change I made since, I can think of.

I will try the latest Masonry download and let you know. Thank you! - Trey
Logged

Offline twarme
Free Member
Posts: 46
Posted on: June 07, 2016, 11:02:21 AM

Hi,

I deleted the 2 lines of code from the .htaccess file forcing SSL. I can just manually enter https:// to open /wp-admin securely. It is a UCC SSL cert that I really wanted for the second domain hosted on the server. The Masonry widget is still not working right, and the bottom positions are displaying behind the top still.

So, just downloaded the Masonry update. Do I just upload the files to the s5_game_world theme folder?

If this does not work, looks like I'll get to test an Akeeba backup restore. Thank you! - Trey
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 07, 2016, 12:10:15 PM

Masonry is a plugin, just deactivate the old version of the plugin and delete it, then use the plugin installer to install the new version.
Logged

Offline twarme
Free Member
Posts: 46
Posted on: June 07, 2016, 12:14:22 PM

Hi,

I did not try to reinstall the new Masonry plugin, because there were other formatting issues too once the SSL cert was applied. I went ahead and removed the force SSL lines from .htaccess file, and restored from the last Akeeba backup - the formatting issues were resolved.

Interestingly enough, I applied force SSL through the Really Simple SSL plugin to the second domain on this host also using this theme and there appear to be no widget formatting or display location issues. Thank you Tristan! - Trey
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 07, 2016, 12:20:39 PM

Excellent.  It's good to hear that it's working now.  Something must have gotten corrupted when you first did the SSL update, but at least it's fixed now.
Logged

Offline twarme
Free Member
Posts: 46
Posted on: June 07, 2016, 01:31:59 PM

Huh, it turns out it is a blog post causing the formatting issue. I've had the post in the draft queue for several days as a follow-up to a prior post. Once I republished the post after the Akeeba restore, the formatting issues occur again; I unpublished the post, change it back to a draft - the formatting issues go away.  I've opened the text version of the post in NetBeans to check for open <div> or other tags, and there do not appear to be any. The post breaks the Masonry formatting and moves other widget's positions.

Ever heard of such a thing? Any ideas? Thank you! - Trey
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 07, 2016, 02:12:52 PM

I thought it was probably an issue with post content, but I'm not sure what would solve it.  You might be able to try copying the post content into a brand new post, just to make sure it's not an issue with any of the post settings.
Logged

Offline twarme
Free Member
Posts: 46
Posted on: June 07, 2016, 04:26:12 PM

Copying the post content into a new post worked! There is something to be said for making only one change at a time. I thought it was the SSL cert because that was the last major change made, however it was a pesky blog posted immediately after the SSL cert! Any idea why, or how to prevent a blog post from corrupting site formatting in the future? Thank you for your help Tristan! - Trey
Logged

Offline Tristan Rineer
Free Member
Posts: 3858
Posted on: June 08, 2016, 11:48:42 AM

I have no idea what could have caused it, but if it happens again, hopefully the same solution will work; if not, I'll be glad to try to help again.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.028 seconds with 21 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.