Forum Support

Shape 5
September 20, 2021, 11:34:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Customer comments don't show unless mouseover - business line template  (Read 770 times)
studeno
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 45



« on: August 05, 2016, 02:54:55 PM »

I had the tab show module working fine, finished the whole site, and saw that the two module positions required in business line template - bottomrow_1 and bottomrow_2 were not showing at all. So I put an image back in bottom row 1. But the comments by customers did not show up at all unless I mouse over the button/dot to make it move to the next one. In the demo it scrolls automatically.
I did make some changes to the custom code in each module for the tab positions - don't have images of clients so took the image link out, don't have a title for the customers, so I ditched that part of the code too. But it was working.
I've seen the post where the last solution offered was not having the same number of tab positions and modules published to each. In this case I have 5 positions and 5 custom modules posted to them.
www.misterrestoration.ca

Thanks

John

Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2016, 08:35:27 AM »

Hello,

Can you try adding the following to the template's custom.css file:

.s5_tab_show_effect_fade .s5_tab_show_slide_inactive, .s5_tab_show_effect_slide_fade .s5_tab_show_slide_inactive, .s5_tab_show_tab_text_hover_enabled .s5_tab_show_button_text {
-moz-opacity:1 !important;
-khtml-opacity:1 !important;
opacity:1 !important;
}
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
studeno
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 45



« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2016, 09:33:28 PM »

Hi Mike

Thanks for the reply. Added the code to the .css file, but the quotes from customers still don't change automatically, only when I mouse over the buttons.

I've also uninstalled and re-installed the tab show module. Didn't make any difference.

Any other thoughts?

John
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2016, 07:12:36 AM »

Hello,

I checked your site today and it's loading and sliding fine for me, I am not seeing the issue anymore. I also tested that css above in Firebug before I posted it and it worked. Please try clearing your browser cache.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
studeno
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 45



« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2016, 09:04:07 AM »

Hi Mike

Thanks for taking a look at it. My first thought on your suggestion was, "really? I usually clear the cache as a first fix attempt!" So I did that (Firefox) and also tried the site in MS Edge. I'm seeing the same problem in both. On the demo site the comments scroll automatically. On my site they don't scroll unless I mouse over the "buttons" (little white dots to advance to next slide - whatever they're called!).
So I guess I need to see it working for myself to be sure visitors to the site are seeing it right too. Could it be anything to do with my particular Java/html settings on the pc I'm using? (Seems like a stretch - image and content fader works fine).
Any other thoughts?

John
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2016, 08:08:00 AM »

Hello,

I think I see the problem now. When I first looked at it, the first slide was not even showing, which is what the css above fixed. I assumed that was the only problem. I see the issue now of it not actually scrolling until you hover over it. That is a strange issue, can you please private message me super admin access and ftp access to debug it?
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
studeno
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 45



« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2016, 11:07:28 AM »

Done. Thanks, Mike.
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2016, 09:19:28 AM »

Hello,

Something on your site is interfering with Jquery, most likely a third party extension. This trigger calls the start of the tab show:

jQuery(document).ready( function() {
s5_tab_show_start();
});

That's a very basic Jquery command and it's not calling and there are no errors on the page. Something is interfering with it.

As a workaround I had to modify the module's default.php file and just call it like this instead:

s5_tab_show_start();

So it's currently working.
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
studeno
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 45



« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2016, 09:54:01 AM »

Hi Mike

So, first comment back is, "Wow! Awesome customer service from you and the company. Thanks!"

Second, I'm going to hazard a guess, just for the record and future reference, that the offending component is 'eventgallery' - which is a nice gallery component but a bit quirky. I'm not positive. Since everything is working now I don't want to uninstall it!

Thanks again

John
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.