Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


[1]

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: September 14, 2016, 02:03:25 PM

Hey guys,

Google recently required an API key for their map API. You need to uninstall your current version and download a fresh copy of the module and install. Then head on over to the following URL to get an API key:
https://developers.google.com/maps/documentation/javascript/get-api-key#get-an-api-key

Download a fresh copy of the module:
http://www.shape5.com/component/option,com_docman/Itemid,96/task,cat_view/gid,68/
« Last Edit: September 22, 2016, 01:06:53 PM by jonahh »
Logged

Offline flaxton
Free Member
Posts: 63
Posted on: September 16, 2016, 09:53:35 AM

OK, I did download a new copy. Problem is there is no place for the API key, and it fails with a Javascript error.

Yet, I have another site with the same extension installed, and it works and shows the API key.

Both say they are S5 Mapit with Google version 1.8 in Extension manager.

I even did a "diff" on the php and xml and they appear to be identical. Yet the additional controls, including Google API Key, are missing in the latest installation?

I've attached screenshots from the module settings on both sites.

Thanks!

Fred
Logged

Offline flaxton
Free Member
Posts: 63
Posted on: September 16, 2016, 12:02:37 PM

This seems to be the same issue I ran into when using the BigBusiness template, which had Map It included:

http://www.shape5.com/component/option,com_smf/Itemid,75/topic,44192.0/

This time I'm using the Incline template which did not include the module, so step 1 was to download it and install it.

What is weird is I see the Google API code in modules/mod_s5mapit/mod_s5mapit.php:

Code:
<?php if ($s5mapitver == "ver2") {  ?>
<script type="text/javascript" src="//maps.google.com/maps/api/js?key=<?php echo $gapi_key;?>"></script><script type="text/javascript">

Even though I have version 2 selected...it is not showing the field for the Google API key.

I can't recreate the solution - any help is appreciated!

Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: September 16, 2016, 12:54:04 PM

Hmm that is odd, are you sure you downloaded "S5 Map it with Google v2 - Current" and uninstalled current version you had then installed this? I double checked the download and the XML file and PHP both have the Google API key in it.

Logged

Offline flaxton
Free Member
Posts: 63
Posted on: September 16, 2016, 01:02:03 PM

Yes, that is the one I downloaded, from this page:

http://www.shape5.com/component/option,com_docman/Itemid,96/task,cat_view/gid,68/

Again, I see the Google API in the PHP code. But it doesn't show up on the module configuration page, even though I selected version 2. Neither do other parameters, like "disable mouse control" or whatever it is termed.

See my two screenshots. One is on a site that works, one doesn't. The code appears to be identical, I ran a diff on the PHP and XML files.
Logged

Offline flaxton
Free Member
Posts: 63
Posted on: September 16, 2016, 01:03:21 PM

If you go to the respective websites in the screenshots, each Contact page has the module enabled. One works, the other throws the Javascript error, which I confirmed is the missing Google Map API, by looking at the Javascript console.
Logged

Offline Ruminator
Free Member
Posts: 120
Posted on: September 20, 2016, 05:15:07 PM

I had the same issue. With the map module on one site "Business Pro" working, with a API field in the admin area.
I tried downloading the new module and no change.
Then I "uninstalled" the old s5 Map It Module, before downloading and insalling the New module and the new module works fine, now. It has the field for the Google API and works like a charm.

Logged

Offline Ruminator
Free Member
Posts: 120
Posted on: September 20, 2016, 05:18:11 PM

So, basically, it seems that just uploading and installing the new version of the s5 Map It module, might now quite do the trick.

Uninstall the OLD version first, then upload and install the new version of the module.  Worked for me.
Logged

Offline flaxton
Free Member
Posts: 63
Posted on: September 20, 2016, 05:22:46 PM

Sure, I will try that, thanks!
Logged

Offline flaxton
Free Member
Posts: 63
Posted on: September 20, 2016, 05:45:18 PM

THAT WORKED! Thank you so much!  Grin
Logged

Offline CloudTek
Free Member
Posts: 100
Posted on: June 30, 2017, 09:03:38 PM

Uninstalled v1.8, down loaded 'S5 Map it with Google v2 - Current' installed, and it said I had v. 1.8 again.
No place to enter api key.
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: July 03, 2017, 12:04:39 PM

Its in there. Not sure whats happening but if you still need help just PM me login details and I can get it working for you.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.033 seconds with 20 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.