Forum Support

Shape 5
September 28, 2021, 03:59:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: EMusica theme - How to map/work out menu the structure  (Read 757 times)
Lukey
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« on: September 15, 2016, 04:15:01 PM »

Hi All,

I'm using the eMusica theme (couldnt find the wordpress sub-topic for it sorry mods so have put this up here. Found the Joomla one fine though) and unless I stab wildly at it I'm looking for some sort of map or guide to the various menu items and how to cgange them.

Many thanks,

Luke
Logged
Lukey
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2016, 05:27:50 PM »

Cheers for the move, I see now where the topic sub-categories are from further down on the forum's front page, not into Wordpress first as I first thought.

Looking forward to input from others to de-mystify the structure here.

Thanks,

Luke
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2016, 07:16:58 AM »

I'm not sure what you're asking.  In WP, the menu is all managed through the "Appearance -> Menus" menu item in the admin.  Was there something specific you were trying to do that you couldn't figure out?
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Lukey
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2016, 08:26:54 AM »

Hi Tristan,

I'm trying to work out the mapping if you will of what "Vertex menu v1" goes to, "Vertex S1" , "Vertex S2" etc . Is there a link to the language used with these templates please?

Thanks,

Luke
Logged
Lukey
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2016, 09:05:48 AM »

All I'm trying to work out here is as illustrated -
Create a menu item  - DONE
Create drop down options - HOW??
Set drop downs to appear in "the main bit" - which is where?

I appreciate there is a degree of training required on my part but other wordpress websites I manage are a breeze to work with compared to this template. Why can't one simply (insert meme here) overtype and replace the images in the demo template - this being the key reason I bought into Shape5.

Thanks,

Luke
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2016, 06:43:51 AM »

I'm still not sure what you're asking.  If you've worked with WP in the past, then you should already know that indenting an item (drag & drop) in the menu editor will change it to a sub-menu (dropdown).  If that's not what you're trying to do, then I must not be understanding your explanation.

As far as changing images in the content - the majority of the content is controlled using widgets (Appearance -> Widgets in the admin), and to change the images, you just need to open the settings for each widget and change the URLs for the images, or replace the sample images that are included with the shaper (in the images folder at the root of the site).
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Lukey
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 70



« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2016, 03:10:39 PM »

I'm still not sure what you're asking.  If you've worked with WP in the past, then you should already know that indenting an item (drag & drop) in the menu editor will change it to a sub-menu (dropdown).  If that's not what you're trying to do, then I must not be understanding your explanation.

Ok cool, I've got dropdown menus that expand, nice. The next thing I'd like to work out is where I edit the link that the menu goes to.  I've attached a snip of where I mean.

Thanks

Luke
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2016, 07:01:34 AM »

You can't change the link of a Page or Post item.  That's what the Custom Link item is for.  Remove the item you don't want, and replace it with the one you do want.

Nothing you have asked about so far is theme related, all of it is basic WP knowledge.  Support doesn't cover training on how to use WP; if you're having difficulty understanding how things work, I highly recommend searching for WP tutorials on Google.  For example, one of the first links I found when searching for "WordPress menu tutorial" easily answers all the questions you've had so far, in better detail than I can: https://bobwp.com/create-navigation-menus-wordpress/
Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.