Forum Support

Shape 5
April 22, 2021, 07:44:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Shape 5 Forum
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Show Menu Item to only logged in users or by role  (Read 642 times)
khw5
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« on: November 30, 2016, 01:55:03 AM »

I am using the Ambient template and would like certain Menu Items to only appear if the site visitor is logged in (authenticated). There are plugins that can accomplish this behavior, but I can't find one that works with the Shape5 Menu System. If I switch the site to any of the built in templates, the plugins work just fine. I could also see the need to limit Menu Items based on the Role of the authenticated user.

Is there a way to make this work or is there a plugin that is compatible with your menu system?

Kevn
Logged
mikek
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28743



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2016, 08:35:48 AM »

Hello,

I am not sure exactly what you are using since you posted in the free Vertex board. Are you using the WordPress or Joomla version of Ambient?
Logged

Mike Knott
------------
Shape 5 Team

- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
khw5
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2016, 11:24:12 AM »

Hi,

Sorry about that, I'm using the Wordpress version of the theme.

Kevin
Logged
Tristan Rineer
Global Moderator
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3858

Gravatar


« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2016, 08:38:14 AM »

Unfortunately, there is currently no way to add user roles to the menu items.  It's on my list of features to add, but up to this point only one other person has asked for it, so it hasn't been high on the list.  I've updated the priority, but it still might be a while before the feature becomes available, as it is likely to take a lot of work to make the code changes necessary to add the compatibility to the Flex Menu.

If you could post links to the various plugins you've tried using, that may help me to figure out the code changes that are needed.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2016, 08:42:30 AM by Tristan Rineer » Logged

Tristan Rineer
------------
Shape 5 Team



- Need a great host for your website? We highly recommend siteground.com!


- Put your trust in the hands of our extremely qualified staff to get your job done right!


- Firebug is the most powerful web development and debugging tool, and it will save you a lot of time, frustration and forum questions:
Install Firebug
khw5
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2016, 12:53:09 PM »

That's really unfortunate. I have been a paying club member for at least 6 years. Joomla, Wordpress and even PHPBB when you supported it. This is the first time I have tried to use one of your templates and I'm running into all kinds of compatibility problems. They look nice, but don't play well with the other features I need in WordPress. I am surprised that others have not requested the feature based on the number of other plugins that are available to accomplish the task. I believe I tried at least 15, including Paid Memberships Pro - which is a very popular addon.

I'm also not sure why you would move the topic to a specific template since the problem exists in your core feature and applies to all of you templates.

Thanks anyway.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Looking for the largest variety in template designs? Look no more. Never buy 1 theme again. Signups start at just $89 for access to all of our themes.
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.