Forum Support

 
Advanced Search


[1]

Offline hihu
Free Member
Posts: 20
Posted on: March 02, 2017, 04:58:07 AM

Hello.

I have a question regarding the setup of a multilingual website. I watched the tutorial and also some other videos on youtube. So what I did until now.

1.) Installed a new language
2.) Defined the new language as content language.
3.) Added the language switch and language filter.
4) Duplicated the content categories for each language.
5) Duplicated the Main Menu and all other menus with the batch process function in Joomla for both languages.
6) Made each menu of the 2 language to the default staring point.
7) Defined articles for each language.


What works:

1) The language filter works. Depending on the browser settings I get 2 different menues one in english and also one in german. Also the categories work and the right articles are shown.

2) The language switch does work on the website when published to language postition.


What does not work:

Maybe I forgot something but I didn't found out watching the tutorials but I have the problem with the styling.
I mean I duplicated everything in 2 different languages.

What do I do with the custom html modules. For example the "About the photographers" in the frontpage or the Image Slider. The "about" should also have two different versions (english and german) and the image slider should pull articles either in german or english depending on which language selected.

Do I need to duplicate them too? Or do I have to duplicate the whole template for each language? Sorry but I didn't get the point working through all tutorials because all focus on content language and menu but not on the actual styling using also the custom html you are using for the templates.


Basically I want that depending on which language is selected the visitor gets different content but the same layout. So when you browse with german browser setting you get german articles when you use english there should be only articles in english. I don't plan to translate them.

Thank you very much
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: March 02, 2017, 01:04:12 PM

Hello,

Quote
What do I do with the custom html modules. For example the "About the photographers" in the frontpage or the Image Slider. The "about" should also have two different versions (english and german) and the image slider should pull articles either in german or english depending on which language selected.

I have attached a screenshot of this but there is a drop down under each module. Just change to which language you want it to show up on. By default it will be set to "all" so it will show on all languages.

And yes you would need to duplicate them, one for each language and then assigned to that language.

Let me know if you need further help,
Logged

Offline hihu
Free Member
Posts: 20
Posted on: March 03, 2017, 09:13:49 AM

Thank you Jonah for you help Wink Very kind of you Smiley

Now I figured out how I have to do it.

I duplicate all custom html and all other modules, change the language and of course assign it to the specific language menu. So that works.

But I'm not sure if I did it right with the "homepage". I duplicated the menus also the home. In the tutorials I watched there was mentioned that I need the Main Menu then language specific menus. And the default page has to be from the main menu "home". The Main menu has to exist like a hidden menu and then the visitor get redirected to the language specific website.

As I copied everything should be the same but on my website now I have some kind of category blog at the home site? When I click on one masonry icon it's displayed below the pictures there and does not display the blog like on your Demo site? Also the Picture Blog does not work. Kind of strange.

www.florianhirschhuber.eu

Would be the site.
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: March 03, 2017, 01:14:08 PM

Hello,

The blog is showing on the homepage because you need to hide the component area under the Vertex > Layout admin area. You just select the menu items you dont want it to show on.

As for Masonry items they will display below and on the homepage like this. All Joomla articles will do this unless there is a menu item assigned to the article or the article is inside a category and the category assigned to a menu item.
Logged

Offline hihu
Free Member
Posts: 20
Posted on: March 06, 2017, 07:15:50 AM

Thank you Jonah for your help.

I was able to clear it out now. I created a new menu for all blog articles in english and german language and assigned the categories and articles to it.

However when I want a specific bottom menu do I have to duplicate the template? I created main menus for each language but as bottom menu only the standard menu appears. I assined the right language to each bottom menu.

Thank you
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: March 06, 2017, 12:55:00 PM

Hmm I'm not sure but if you PM me login details to your site I can take a look.
Logged

Offline hihu
Free Member
Posts: 20
Posted on: March 16, 2017, 05:25:37 AM

Sorry for the late reply. I have sent you the login details now. Maybe you find time to look into this,

Thank you very much.
Logged

Offline jonahh
Free Member
Posts: 23789 WWW
Posted on: March 17, 2017, 12:04:48 PM

Hello,

You only had 1 bottom menu module and it was set to all languages. I created a second menu and published each to a specific language. It should be working now.
Logged
[1]

Jump to:  


Powered by SMF | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Page created in 0.023 seconds with 21 queries.
Need some help getting your site up and running? Be sure to check out our tutorials area, post on the forum or hire us
Send Us An Email
Please send us your questions and we will email you back as soon as we can. Product support questions should be posted in our support forums under the Help menu. Our staff will assist you from there.